We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and brilliant staff”
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #100 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel and brilliant staff”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Zetter hotel at the beginning of April, 3 of us stayed in 2 rooms. The front of house staff especially the South African guy (sorry I can't remember his name) were fantastic. Even though we know London fairly well, he was like our personal guide recommending things in the area, restaurants, giving directions and telling us what buses to use. The Central line was closed the weekend we were there which was a bit of a pain. We flew into Gatwick and the direct train to Farringdon was really handy. It is a 5 minute walk then to the hotel.
Breakfast was included in our rate as we booked directly with the hotel and it was lovely. We didn't eat in the restaurant at any other time but the menu was nice and from what I could see it was busy all day. The bar was small but again, staff friendly and nice wine. We went to over to the townhouse for cocktails one night - funkier vibe than the hotel but to be honest I preferred the staff in the hotel..
Rooms were good, small but everything you need. Very clean. Good shower and REN toiletries which are lovely. Tea and coffee available on each floor. We will definitely be back, and would recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
So glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments about our Receptionist. We have passed these on and he was delighted. It was good to see that you managed to sample our Cocktails at The Zetter Townhouse, Clerkenwell and that you enjoyed your room, the Ren products and our Complimentary Tea & Coffee making facilities. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    280
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
395
56
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We chose room 319 on the third floor of the Zetter Hotel, which overlooked the Zetter Townhouse.
The room was smaller than we imagined from the hotel's Website. We had twin beds a seating area and a shower room for our weekend stay in London.
The beds were high-up and rather narrow but were very comfortable, given a good night's sleep.
The shower room was adequate with all that you could need for your stay.

However, there were a few niggles from my perspective. The shower room door did not lock. But, if you weren't in the bedroom, you must be in the toilet/shower room, so no problems with entering unannounced whilst on the toilet!
The air-conditioning would not drop below 19ºC - too hot really and the fans were too "noisy" to sleep with whilst on. You couldn't sleep with the full-length windows (protected with a railing to form a kind of balcony) because the noise of Clerkenwell would have been too loud. With all the windows closed, it was nice and quiet.
Some lights did not work (or in three days of trying, we couldn't get them to work) - the ones above the beds and the strip light above the full-length mirror in the hallway.
The "wardrobe" was laughable. There were two of us and we had to use the three coat hooks in the hall to hang pour cloths there because the "wardrobe" was good for a couple or shirts or a suit or a couple of dresses and that would be it.
The staff were really first class and very helpful.
Breakfast was served in the adjoining bistro and was excellent, as was the bar and service.
If I stayed again, I would stay in the best rooms at the top of the hotel.
Having said that, if I was staying by myself, it would have been absolutely no problem. Room 319 was effectively a single room in my view.

My daughter and her new husband stayed in the Zetter Townhouse across the yard and had the first floor suite, which was amazing (see photos).

Room Tip: Pay for the very best rooms with a terrace on the roof (as used in the Hotel Photo); they are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for staying and for your review.

We are so happy that our team took good care of you and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering in Bistrot Bruno Loubet.

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your room and apologise for the air con problems as well as the lighting problems you have mentioned you encountered. Please be assured that we have addressed these issues with our team, which are not the norm.

We are happy to see that your Daughter and her new husband enjoyed their Apartment in The Zetter Townhouse, Clerkenwell.

We do hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

When I first booked my room at the Zetter Townhouse I thought I was going to be staying at another generic 'boutique' hotel: i.e. a tiny room with funky decor passed off as stylish and hip. However, the moment I got redirected from the main hotel lobby to the small set of non-descript Georgian buildings in the square to the back, I knew I was in for something special. The rooms are decked out in a style of that period that tastefully straddles the line between authenticity and irony. The service is quite good and so is the food. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for choosing The Zetter Townhouse, Clerkenwell. Delighted that you enjoyed the experience. The Zetter Townhouse is a magical place and we hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We're just back from staying three nights at this beautiful hotel. I hesitate to call it a hotel because it like staying in an eccentric aunt's home, and that was the design concept - so very clever. The aunt was called Wilhelmina. It's a treasure trove of ornaments, books, a stuffed boxing kangaroo, comfy chairs, paintings etc.. However the greatest thing about the hotel is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. They do not have a reception desk - the girl who booked us in was very helpful and everyone else from the bar tenders to the chambermaids. We have never stayed anywhere in London before that was so relaxing, and it is in an interesting area to explore. Our bedroom looked over the square and had a powerful shower and a very comfortable bed. Ren products in the bathroom. We had breakfast in both the Townhouse and The Zetter. Extensive menu - French toast highly recommended. Our evening meal in the Bistrot Bruno Loubet was excellent too. Beautifully cooked with fresh ingredients.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LezahSwayHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
So glad you loved your experience in our Great Aunt, Wilhelmina's home.

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking your time to review your experience. Wilhelmina was delighted to read that our team took such good care of you and that you enjoyed breakfast at both The Zetter Townhouse and across in Bistrot Bruno Loubet.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have stayed in many different hotels in London over the years from chain to boutique and there are only a few we would return to and the Zetter is now one of them. We had a warm welcome from reception staff (Mark & Kevin) who were really helpful when trying to sort out a taxi and route to Waterloo station the next day (complicated by the London Marathon road closures). We had requested a room overlooking the square and were given one of the larger corner rooms but when we said we were concerned about potential noise from the lift and guests using the coffee facilities, we were quickly changed to another room. It was smaller but that didn't matter to us - it was still comfortable and well designed, and we could open the sash window to let in fresh air, and not rely on air con which personally I'm not keen on! Reception booked us a table for drinks at the quirky and stylish Townhouse (think pastiche Georgian library) before we went out for dinner. Very enjoyable. We haven't stayed in the area before so it was a pleasant surprise to be near a lovely courtyard garden which is part of the Order of St John museum and worth a look, particularly as it is free. The Workshop cafe on Clerkenwell Road, just up from the Zetter serves some of the best coffee in town so also worth a visit if you like industrial chic interiors rather than cosy vintage... Overall the Zetter is a lovely hotel if you prefer something a little different and a bit more personal - and the service is great.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem bigger and those overlooking the square are probably quieter, although at the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind review. We are delighted to read that Mark and Kevin took such good care of you. It is good to see that you managed to enjoy our Cocktail Lounge at The Zetter Townhouse, Clerkenwell. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

An absolute delight! Room 503 Roof-top deluxe is stunning with good size terrace enjoying panoramic roof-top views. We stayed 3 nights with friends and family and so enjoyed the intimacy of a delightful lunch reception in the fun and quirky Townhouse. and afterwards retiring to our terrace to watch the city magically light up! Staff are magnificent and did their utmost to meet our needs and make us all feel relaxed and at home . Thank you to all - the stay here truly MADE the whole occasion for us!

Room Tip: Splash out - Room 503! Faces sunny south over City views but esp St.Pauls from the bed! Please No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddingtonGap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
So happy you chose us for your special occasion and that you loved the experience. Room 503 is magical and we are delighted to read that you also managed to enjoy The Zetter Townhouse. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Zetter Townhouse and the entire experience is breathtaking. This is not a cheap accommodation option by any means but the old saying "you get what you pay for" applies. The staff are friendly and helpful and when you enter the hotel its like stepping back in time. The finishing touches and attention to detail set this apart from any hotel I have ever stayed in before. Its also a fantastic place to explore London from. Lots of pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you very much for staying and for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#149 of 1,067 in London
533 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#263 of 1,067 in London
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,067 in London
1,869 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,067 in London
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing