We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, for an Ikea room”
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #107 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Simply put, I felt the c.£190 we paid for an overnight stay on a Saturday night (exclusive of breakfast) offered poor value for money vis-a-vis other nearby hotels I have stayed in. Standard grumbles: bed too small, too noisy, temperatures turned up to 'roasting' etc. Most of these points I could have forgiven at a lower price point. In the spirit of objectivity, the staff were friendly and the bottled tap water by my bed was provided gratis.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SussexSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
There are newer reviews for The Zetter Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

One of the best if not the best hotel i have stayed in. Very friendly staff, beautifully finnished with really nice touches through out. My only negative comment would be the rooms are perhaps a touch small for some people, ours was a standard room so larger ones are availiable . Would stay there again without a doubt.
Great restaurants nearby too on Exmouth market!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonJb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

I stayed here for one night.

Reception: Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room: It was spotless, comfortable and I had plenty of space.

Bathroom: Spotless also. A nice touch was the shaving and dental packs left for those of us who forget both on occasion. They cost 2 pounds each but from a convenience perspective, they are potentially well worth it.

Location: It is quite near the Farrington tube stop and from that point of view is "Centrally located".

Overall it is a nice boutique hotel. If you want to avoid the chains, and stay in a unique environment in central London. then I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My husband and I stayed here in September 07 for 2 night as we were in London to watch Prince.

First of all - getting to this hotel by public transport made us feel a little uneasy. It was a 5 minute walk from Farringdon tube station and because it was the weekend this part of London was deserted and we felt vunerable walking to and from the hotel - especially at night when we were going out for the evening (we assumed it may be different when people are at work during the week). This was compounded by the fact that there were several shady looking characters hanging around the tube station and surrounding streets.

The hotel itself is very nice. It has a fantastic chic boutique design with loads of retro features, and the balcony which the rooms are situated off is a great sight. However, the room itself was really small. No room at all to hang clothes - maybe one or two items, nowhere to put hair brush, makeup, shoes. It was literally the bed and maybe one or two feet either side of that and a bathroom. Also, although this hotel is newish, it is starting to look worn due to the carpet choices they have made and the flooring in the bathroom.

One evening we ate at the hotel restaurant, which was lovely food. We had a fantastic meal. It had a really cool young vibe and we had breakfast there too which was also really nice.

All in all, if you need to stay in this part of London and dont mind a small room, then go for it - it is clean, stylish and serves great food.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_wheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed here on a short 3 day break in London. We stayed in a St John's Room and it was a good size, plenty of room, even with a cot for our 10 month old daughter. Staff were all very friendly and very accommodating, they even stored our daughter's meals in their fridge and heated them up for us at the start of each day. We had booked the room on a weekend deal including breakfast and the breakfast was well worth it, all cooked to perfection. We have stayed in a number of small boutique hotels inn London and although a little less central this was by far the best all round hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank percy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Stayed two nights in this funky Clerkenwell Hotel. Two gripes. The first night was fairly sleepless due a low rumbling noise coming from the ceiling which was too noisy for sleep, yet too quiet to force you to get up from your bed and set the complaining engine in motion.

Next morning we were moved to a room with a silent ceiling, but there was now offer of compensation, not even a free glass of water!

Second gripe is that the beds are small as mentioned by other reviewers.

Apart from that, the stay was great!

Hey! Zetter! Get that noisy ceiling fixed!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank GrahamLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

This is a good choice if you're in Clerkenwell on business. It's a small/boutique hotel, very centrally located, decent breakfast and good evening drink spot. We stayed here a handful of times on frequent trips to London and the staff is courteous, helpful and friendly. The rooms are SMALL, even by London standards. Not much room to hang your clothes - so if you're a man traveling with a hanging bag or more than 1 or 2 suits, beware. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, decent bathrooms - all just a bit past their peak as far as the mod trends. But overall, good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NYCSFCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#140 of 1,072 in London
556 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#252 of 1,072 in London
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,072 in London
1,968 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#41 of 1,072 in London
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#94 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £135 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to Club Zetter Wine Bar & Kitchen and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing