We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #111 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had the room that features in the photo - an apartment at the top of the building with a lovely deck area. In fact, a large lovely deck area, with loungers & seating. We loved it. The room was very good, bathroom reasonable in size. The only things to make it more perfect - somewhere to hang used towels & stuff (not much in the bathroom), and better luggage stowage (isn't this a problem in most rooms - or is it just me with difficult pieces?). We loved the breakfasts, and we loved the care of the staff. The front desk could not have been more helpful or responsive - especially when arranging a taxi. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: If affordable, go the apartments on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_hogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Ian- Your review was a delight to read, thank you! The rooftop apartment is a personal favourite of mine and I hope you got to make the most of the deck with this rare July sunshine! I am pleased to read that the team were accommodating with all requests and I hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    275
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
79
388
55
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is lovely. The stand out feature is the staff. I wrote them a thank you card because I was so impressed. They manage to be personable but professional and make you feel very relaxed. Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Iain, I am so pleased that our team made your stay with us so memorable and relaxing. Thank you for taking the extra time to leave a thank you card, I know that the team will be delighted with this acknowledgment of their efforts. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a great stay for my wife's birthday, enjoying great cocktails in the bar - with an excellent selection of taxidermy. Loved the late checkout and very friendly and helpful staff. Really felt like welcomed guests rather than customers. Highly recommended - its in a good spot too, near Faringdon station, so very easy to get into town.

Room Tip: Superior Double was excellent - good king sized bed and lovely bathroom (rm 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesPaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Director of Rooms at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your top rated review- it is always so nice to hear that our guests have left happy, particularly when they choose to stay with us for a special occasion. I will ensure your praise for the reception staff is passed on and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed for one night at the Zetter Townhouse on business, and what an exceptional place to stay. As I wandered up to the hotel from a busy day on a very hot London evening, the area was buzzing with people drinking outside the bars, eating and wandering around - feels like a village. Then the Townhouse set back from the road on the cobbles, a compelling building with a beautiful facade. Inside is small, cosy, eclectic and welcoming. Sofas and comfie chairs are in order, with people chattering in a relaxing environment. The bedroom is lovely, different, a bit quirky in that very trendy way with everything you need. Room service was quick and good, breakfasts were lovely - informal seating, high quality continental with excellent service.

Room Tip: I loved being at the front of the building with views across the square. It was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank durhamiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for such a delightful read- you have truly captured the essence of the Townhouse and I am pleased that all aspects of your stay met your expectations. I do hope that we can welcome you back next time that you are in the area, both for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The room was beautiful (we had an the Townhouse apartment) but the servcie wasn't that great and it was very expensive. Also, as the cocktail bar is on the ground floor, whilst they did manage to get tables for us when we wanted a drink, you do feel a bit as those you are imposing and are given time-limits on the table as it is already reserved for a party later. We had also thought we would get a deal on breakfast as had booked on their website but there was a lot of confusion when we asked about it and were eventually told that should have booked when booking (which hadn't been clear). So, good location but for the money something was missing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBermondsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Laura, Thank you for your review and while I am pleased that you found the Townhouse Apartment to your liking, I am disappointed to read you found the service let us down. I have taken your comments into consideration and am currently discussing with the team how we can improve our communication with guests prior to arrival regarding their booking of both the cocktail lounge and breakfast. I hope that this will improve your rating to a 5 next time you choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Zetter is the consummate boutique hotel. Quiet, discreet, and beautifully designed, it spares no small detail. The best-priced rooms are not large but who wants to stay in when you're in such a great area. Clerkenwell is peppered with great little restaurants and bars, starting no further than in the hotel itself, and in the square right next to it. Perfectly located, it was easy to walk everywhere from the hotel, and the staff arranged for a car service to take us to the airport upon departure. I also loved the Ren products in the bathrooms!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay at The Zetter. We agree with you that Clerkenwell is an excellent location, both in terms of the ease of getting around London, and the restaurants, bars and attractions it has to offer. I am pleased to hear that our team ensured you were looked after all the way to the airport and we hope you will visit us again soon and continue to explore the sights and sounds of London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I chose the Zetter for a recent 8 day stay in London for purely practical reasons: it seemed well located for my business and personal meetings; surrounded by restaurants and cafés; walking distance to transport links; plentiful cabs at the front door and it’s slightly out of the mainstream so it’s also quieter. I wasn't disappointed on any count.
And when I arrived there was more that made it even better. My room, while London small, seemed to be well designed so as not to feel cramped (even when filled with all my shopping!). I was particularly impressed with the bathroom design: it has to be the one of the most stylish and efficient hotel bathrooms conceived in a small space.
Luxury in-room touches also helped – crisp fresh bed linen, hot water bottle, books, extra blanket, enough towels and bathrobes. Perfect. Thank-you also for providing the teeny tiny fridge to store my food purchases in.
The adjacent Townhouse is a great addition to the facilities: a truly eccentric British cocktail lounge and perfect for relaxing at the end of the day with friends, while the bar attached to the Bistro in the main hotel is a good venue for business meetings. Surrounding the hotel are any number of great eating and drinking options plus Waitrose, Tesco and Sainsbury for anything else you may need all within easy walking distance.
Staff are efficient, helpful and friendly. Thanks in particular to Marc for your assistance on check-out – your no nonsense resolution was much appreciated
The Zetter really worked for me and I’ll be sure to be back.

Room Tip: If you are on an extended stay ask for a side or rear facing room. Its likely to be quieter than fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
What a lovely review! I am delighted that our location worked well for both your professional and personal requirements, and that you appreciated the in-room touches that we hope provide that little something extra. It is great that you got to enjoy the lounge at the Zetter Townhouse and our Atrium bar also, and that the teams looked after you throughout your stay. To hear when a particular team member has made a lasting impression is always refreshing and I shall ensure that Marc is recognised for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#133 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#268 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#69 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#454 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing