We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not great value for money”
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #101 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not great value for money”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I would rate this as a good three star, the room was small, and the air con was poor. Tea and coffee is down the hall and the mini bar is a vending machine next to the tea and coffee. The restaurant was ok, but didn't have many vegetarian options. The guy on check in was pleasant and helpful, but the other staff were stand offish. The main road it is on is good for buses into the centre and Farringdon station is about a 10/15 min walk away. The bar area is nice, the prices are average hotel prices. I just felt it didn't offer good value for money.

Room Tip: Don't book the smallest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley_Ely, Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

I was most saddened to see that the hotel and service fell below your expectation during your recent stay; especially as we are ordinarily proud of the feedback we receive about both aspects.

On behalf of the team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment caused. Thank you for the specific detail on where we might improve our food offering and service.

I do hope that this will not deter you from returning, perhaps to a different category of room or indeed our Townhouse across the square. With a view to reassuring you of our commitment to you as our guest, I invite you to make contact with me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    280
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
394
56
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed the weekend here due to attending a wedding at St.Pauls.
Denied an upgrade as "it was our first stay with them". Unusual reasoning in my opinion, when the hotel know you've forked out a small fortune for a whole weekend with them.

For £150 a night, room was tiny (the size of a typical bathroom) although well designed and ergonomically pleasing with nice views over the square.

Breakfast was outstanding all weekend, poached eggs Benedict with a twist of bacon versus the usual smoked salmon.

Be wary, as Members of staff on two occasions completely ignored the "leave me alone" sign on my door, perhaps more training needs to be given.

Bar was nice, great overall feel, would have marked it 5* if it wasn't for the little misdemeanours.

In two minds whether I would return, particularly not for more than 1 night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaintGilesTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley_Ely, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your review and whilst pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our food and drink offering, I am disappointed to read that there were a couple of aspects that you felt let us down. I can assure you that all these issues have been addressed with the team and I do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the hope that we can provide you with a 5* star stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We booked a guest room at The Zetter at short notice a night before arrival and it was everything and more than we had hoped! Our room 302 (and the hotel in general) made good use of clever lighting especially in the bathroom which was super with a very large shower, big enough for two. We loved the decor too with oversized print on the wall and shagpile carpet. Crisp white linen and two plump pillows each made for a good night's sleep along with the folding shutters at the window meant we were not woken up by the morning sun. We would definitely stay again and we can't say that about every hotel we've stayed in. The restaurant The Modern Pantry literally round the corner is also worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a guest room which are the smallest of the rooms however we found it ample in size with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allimac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley_Ely, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
What a lovely review to read and I am delighted that we lived up to, and exceeded, your expectations! I agree wholeheartedly with your comment about our folding shutters (excellent for a lie in!) and am pleased that the Zetter has made it onto your list of hotels to return to. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Zetter for a weekend recently - I also spent a week at the hotel some time ago but neglected to write a review. The pluses about this hotel are simple: terrific service and great food at the hotel restaurant and various others in the area - you are literally in the food epicenter of London. However my travel companion Ms. Ntsolengoe was less than enamored with our tiny bed (a full at best). If you are traveling as a couple and like a little space make sure to look into this!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ntsoelengoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley_Ely, General Manager at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback with your thoughts following your stay with us and I am extremely pleased to hear that as a returning guest, you enjoyed many aspects of our offering as well as the surrounding area. I do hope that we will continue to welcome you both back to the Zetter on many future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I traveled to London in August for a short weekend visit and stayed at the Zetter for two nights. It's a lovely and modern hotel in the Clerkenwell area of the city. It's within walking distance to a number of fantastic restaurants (including the one in the hotel) like St. John and Modern Pantry and located in a quiet residential area. The location is not ideal if you are looking to tour around Central London (theater district, etc.). However, if you like to stay off the beaten path, this is a nice location.

The hotel room is very clean and nicely appointed. I wouldn't considerate it "luxury" - but it was comfortable and very nice. The rooms are on the small side, but we sort of expected that from a boutique hotel. The staff is very helpful and enthusiastic.

It was a lovely stay overall. We can't say that it blew our socks off, but it met our expectations of a small boutique hotel and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: If you can splurge for a bigger room with the terrace, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallStreet10005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
I am so delighted to read that you choose to stay with us when visiting from New York and you took the opportunity to sample Bistrot Bruno Loubet, as well as the large selection of excellent restaurants that Farringdon has to offer. We are lucky to have so many convenient transport links into Central London and I do hope that you took advantage of these when you did want to explore. I hope you decide to stay with us again soon as we would be only too delighted to look after your husband when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner just got back from a wonderful 1 night stay at the Zetter.

We stayed in a guest room and thought there was great use of space. We loved the bathroom especially the power shower. We didn't use the mini bar but it was a nice touch and if we were staying longer then we would have perhaps used this as well as some of the other services like the laundry and the city tours.

The area was nice and not too far from Farringdon station. The staff were extremely helpful.

We had the conti breakfast delivered to the room. It was fantastic! There was hot drinks, juice, pastries, toast, fruit, yoghurt and more available. We also used the tea and coffee making station on our floor which we felt was more convenient than a kettle in the room. The vending machine was unusual and was very tempting!

We have now named ourselves the Jet-Zetters (perhaps we have a strange sense of humour!) We will come back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review ‘Jet-Zetters’, (we are loving the name, very catchy!) I am delighted to hear that your experience with us was a memorable one and that our staff were able to assist with any requests that you had. I do hope that next time you choose to stay with us that you get the chance to sample our mini bar offering, or maybe just another conti breakfast and more tempting treats from our vending machine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I left with mixed feelings about my stay here. Although the area has become more interesting than it was 10 years ago, I still find it a very bland part of London. The staff at the Zetter were helpful and professional and I enjoyed the food in the adjacent restaurant. My room was very small and felt a bit depressing, particularly after I came from a really elegant, large and light-filled apartment in Amsterdam that cost around the same amount. I think with hotels that go for retro designs, they often look good for the first few years after their initial outfit and then fade very quickly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Many thanks for your review Steven and taking the time to feedback to us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in Bistrot Bruno Loubet, and that our staff looked after you well. I am of course disappointed to read that you felt let down by our rooms. We have some very positive comments about our rooms but of course I appreciate that this does come down to personal taste. Next time you book, request a room at the Zetter Townhouse (opposite) as this offers a completely different design of room which may be more suitable. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#153 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#265 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#114 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#89 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing