We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Ranked #691 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have stayed at numerous novotel, ibis and an ibis budget previously all as a family on trips, we are fans on the Accor formula. As ever the rooms are very good for the budget, clean & comfortable. However the front and reception is a building site I am amazed that the hotel was not shut for the work to be done. Photos to follow. My kids were actually a little nervous about staying there which is a first. The room next to mine was being used as an office or similar for the staff because all I could every 10 mins or so was the latched door closing and slamming onto the latch. Clearly we didn't even stay for breakfast as much as I enjoy sitting in a cold building site. stay clear until the work is done.

Room Tip: Wait until the work is done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and the matter will be dealt with accordingly. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologizes.
and feel free to contact me on 0207 474 9106 or e mail me on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you're on a budget, this place is great. The staff are friendly, the room was very clean, the breakfast was decent and even though its quite far out from central London, there's is a station nearby.
We had problem with our room with the plugs not working but this was soon rectified by the staff.
Only slight annoyance is the shower, which opens into the room and there's no privacy to be had - it would have been nice to have an actually shower room.

All in all, for the price you couldn't really ask for more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that our team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. In the meantime, we will look into things you highlighted. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

An average adn affordable stay close to London city airport. This lies in zone 3 and is around 400 metres from the nearest underground. Be aware that there are no stores, restaurant etc closeby except a Costa Coffee. The hotel provides pizza delivery and take home food service which was quite average.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveen123pks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The kind of hotel where you have to pay for a shower gel...
And the bathroom was all over the room (several annexes)... AWFUL!!!
We only had 1 towel (and almost begged for another one).

Benefits: close to the Airport, nice tv.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horatiu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and the matter will be dealt with accordingly.
Please feel free to contact me on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel is all about location so close to LCY.

The hotel itself was ok-ish though for whatever reason "Prison Break" came to mind again when walking through the corridors and on entering the room. ;-))

Around 30 quid I would come back. For anything north of that price certainly not.

Room Tip: There are no GOOD rooms at this chain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into things, and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget London City Airport some time in the future. Do feel free to contact me on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Room was clean, but sparse. Double bed and bunk bed (over the double bed). Sink in the room and no toiletries apart fro a piece of soap. Paid £60 for the room and £5 for breakfast. 10 min walk from City Airport so very convenient. Arrived late at night and left early in the morning and it worked well on those terms. Overall, good value and convenient for the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiemannZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Budget London City Airport. I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that we treat all comments with the utmost seriousness. we will look into the points your highligted. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here November 22nd - 24th 2013. Room was clean and tidy, location was good (it was only a 5 minute walk to the Pontoon Dock station on the DLR), there was a petrol station and cash machine near by and a Nisa shop nearby too, price was good considering how late I left it to book in. However I did have a couple of concerns about the place:
- When me and my friend arrived, we were paying separately and so asked if we could pay cash. We were informed that to pay the amount in full in cash there would be a £70 fee!! Yes, you read that right, £70!! We were told however that we could pay half and half or all on card without a fee.
- On the Saturday, we left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door as we didn't want the cleaners to come into the room. This was however ignored.
- On the same Saturday that the DND sign was ignored, I had stuffed all my items into my rucksack but not sealed it. When I returned to the room, my items had been pulled out of my bag and were laid out on the bed with my underwear on top of the pile of clothes. As I was staying with a friend, this was extremely embarrassing, not to mention very, very weird!! Especially when there was rubbish still lying around the room which had not been tidied away.
- The "free Wifi" that was supposedly available didn't work either.
I have to admit that although a very good price and location and a comfortable bed to sleep in, I have been put off booking in at an Ibis Budget again due to the fact that I didn't feel my items were secure in my room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank SMoorcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that we will look into the points your raised. In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget London City Airport.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#723 of 1,078 in London
142 reviews
Viking Hotel
#763 of 1,078 in London
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Woolwich
#468 of 1,078 in London
396 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
#358 of 1,078 in London
879 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#350 of 1,078 in London
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget London City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget London City Airport

Address: North Woolwich Road | Silverstown, London E16 2EE, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Green Hotel in London
Price Range: £34 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget London City Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Hotel London City Airport is a low-cost hotel a short walk from London City Airport terminal. This London hotel well located at London Docklands with good transport links for central London. The hotel has 81 guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room comes with en-suite shower and a flat screen TV. A continental breakfast buffet is served every morning. The hotel offers on-site free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your Hotel ibis budget London City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing