We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but clean and functional.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Ranked #682 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic but clean and functional.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is very similar to other Ibis Budget properties which I have stayed at in various different countries. Although basic, it was functional and very clean. We stayed for one night after attending a gig and used public transport to get to and from Islington, which was pretty straight forward.

There isn't much around the hotel by the way of restaurants, however the Westfield centre at Stratford has plenty of restaurants and can easily be reached via the DLR/tube.

The continental breakfast was again fairly basic but served its purpose, as there are few places around to get breakfast so eating in the hotel in the morning allows you to get off to a quick start in the morning.

The DLR station is around a ten minute walk away along a pleasant path lined with trees and plants, the area seemed safe to us even late at night as we were returning from the gig.

The noise from the planes wasn't a problem with the window closed, however as it was a very warm night we left the window open and as a result we were woken up early by the flights which were taking off which were very noisy.

Overall, whilst this hotel is by no means luxurious or somewhere to be considered as a romantic retreat, it served its function as the cheapest hotel in the city and it was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 586Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Budget London City Airport. Our team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay. In the meantime, please be assured that we have noted the issues highlighted which will be addressed.
See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    287
    257
    110
    92
See reviews for
168
249
111
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel itself is close to a rail station which is handy but that's about all its got going for itself. Staff were not very friendly on check in and room was not very clean (hairs on floor, grummy mirrors) the worst part was the smell. Room & sheets smelled heavily of smoke and cheap washing powder. Was charged a £10 deposit to use a hair dryer that came from the dark ages and overheated in my hand!!! Would not have bothered at all if the attitude of the guy at the desk had been different. He was rude to the point of embarrassing. Will never stay in an Ibis budget again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Backpackerbabe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into things, and all the issues you highlighted will be dealt with accordingly. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget London City Airport some time in the future. Do feel free to contact me on 02074749106 or e mail me on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

On-site, secure parking. The low-end Ibis standard being "Budget". No tea/coffee in rooms. Quiet room. No heating which was unusual for Ibis (so far). Used no other facilities, though there are few available anyway. The Docklands Light Rail is about 1/4 mile away, as is the bus stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger-acpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback. I can assure you that we will look into the point about coffee facilities you highlighted. In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget London City Airport.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Location OK for Docklands (walking distance from London City Airport and to Docklands Light Railway stations however a very poor accommodation. No welcome drink for a Platinum Accor member, noisy, small rooms and expensive food/drinks from the shelves. Poor beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank PeNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
I am so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Please feel free to email me on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My BA flight was cancelled and I was put up in this hotel.

The staff are very polite but they are understaffed as I had to wait a while to check in.
The staff are not fully aware of amenities - e.g. knowledge about getting to the airport
The rooms are rundown, cheap carpets, in need of paint.
The rooms are nois, it sounded like there was a party/nightclub somewhere near.
The bathrooms are tiny.
There is no room service.
I presume its the cheapest hotel around.
The food does not look great (I just ate a plate of chips).

The best thing about the hotel is its location. It is manageable for one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Please feel free to email me on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#687 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#275 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#577 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#558 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget London City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget London City Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Address: North Woolwich Road | Silverstown, London E16 2EE, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in London
#38 Green Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget London City Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Hotel London City Airport is a low-cost hotel a short walk from London City Airport terminal. This London hotel well located at London Docklands with good transport links for central London. The hotel has 81 guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room comes with en-suite shower and a flat screen TV. A continental breakfast buffet is served every morning. The hotel offers on-site free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your Hotel ibis budget London City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing