We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommendable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
108 Streathbourne Road
Ranked #63 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“highly recommendable”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

my husband and i arrived from austria for a weekend trip to london - and couldnt have found a better bed and breakfast! located close to balham tube in a quiet area - but still only 20 minutes away from the city centre by underground - in a lovely typical londonish house we found ourselves welcomed by lovely mary and david who did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
our double bedded room was beautiful, very clean, very spacious and the attached private bath very spacious too with a nice bath tub. when you woke up in the morning the view from the bed was splendid - green trees in the garden and lovely flowers on the balcony outside the window e.g. just to mention two things.
we could choose which breakfast to have and we decided on english breakfast, we could even choose the time to have breakfast - which was great. the breakfast included cereals, toast, juice, coffee or tea, sausages, bacon, eggs and tomatoes - all nicely served in a lovely living room with view into the garden.
mary and david also gave us advice on what to do and where to have dinner - what else can we say: its a home away from home. we can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyalexbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
88
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Mary and David's B&B in December 2013. To begin with, the neighborhood was very pleasant - not too busy and close to good restaurants, supermarkets, and drugstores. It is also close to two tube stops, a bus stop, and a train station. Our bedroom was super cozy and had everything we needed - electric blankets, a comfortable bed, space for unpacking our luggage, a private bathroom, and large windows that allowed us to appreciate the beautiful winter view. Breakfast was another special aspect of this B&B: delicious! Mary and David personally prepare it every morning and serve it in a lovely dining room that faces their garden. Every time we needed Mary and David were ready to help us – from booking our transfer to the airport to lending us jackets and scarves when our luggage was held in our connection flight. They gave us wonderful suggestions to attractions and restaurants. I can truly say our experience in London was especially positive because of this B&B and their owners. It felt like home!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had the best of times in their beautiful genuine English home. Mary and David were the best hosts we could have ever had. We have recommended them to our friends and most important we will never forget the feeling of getting home knowing they were there for us. They advised us on everything we needed and more. They are sweet and kind. Bed was excellent and breakfast superb! We hope to visit them again in the future.

Room Tip: Double bed room was perfect, even with an electric blanket for cold nights!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Austria, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The warm welcome by Mary and David at this B&B was more than compensation for the drive from the airport in unpleasant weather. The room was cosy, clean and warm with plenty of books, the beds nice and comfortable, the bathroom spacious with bath and shower attachment and the breakfast wonderful. David and Mary were also full of useful advice about how to get to places and what was on in the west end. The area is wonderfully quiet, so you can be sure of a good night's sleep, while it is no great distance to the underground and overground railway and thence on to the centre of the city. There are also a few interesting-sounding restaurants nearby, one of which - at our hosts' suggestion - we tried out on our first night and really enjoyed (Nepalese). All in all, we really enjoyed our brief stay here and in fact stayed one day longer than planned.

Room Tip: The room at the very top is a bit of a climb, but we at least did not find this a problem, Older tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightone50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

All that I enjoy from a really good B and B is here . Hosts Mary and David provide a genuine and warm welcome to their lovely English home on a leafy side street by the common . Breakfast was excellent and free range eggs beautifully cooked . Rooms are spacious with all you need plus books and magazines , it's all tasteful and put together with both care and style . Highly recommended in every way

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SkyRocketin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We spent four days with the Hodges at their home and the experience was simply perfect. Away from busy streets, this B&B gave us the chance the experience London while having quietness and peaceful rest. Their house is not only very beautiful, but also clean and comfortable. Bed is especially good! Mary’s breakfasts are genuine and delicious, perfect to start exploring London with strength.

It is located within walking distance of two Underground stations (one of them also with train) that allowed us to reach Central London in about 15-20 minutes.

Moreover, Mary and David are splendid, charming and helpful hosts, who make you feel at home and always help with tips, direction and information.

It was a real pleasure to stay with them, and we will do so whenever we go back to London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Mary and David were wonderful hosts and very helpful with local information and hints to make our stay more pleasant. The bed was very comfortable, neighborhood is quiet and the overall cleanliness of the house was excellent.

Mary's breakfasts were excellent and always served in a delightful manner. David would often get up early and bring a fresh copy of the Times to read at breakfast.
They gave us helpful travel advice, sightseeing advice and even lined up a taxi for us on departure. They made our stay so much more enjoyable than a stay in a hotel. Their B&B is convenient to the Underground, over-ground trains and buses.

David coached us on the train to Victoria Station and the 319 bus route which are much less crowded and much more scenic than the underground.

Dan & Paulette

Room Tip: We stayed in the front double room upstairs and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Balham
Travelodge London Balham
#339 of 1,069 in London
540 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#560 of 1,069 in London
153 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#105 of 1,069 in London
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leigham Court Hotel
#536 of 1,069 in London
280 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
FlexiStay Aparthotel Tooting London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 108 Streathbourne Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 108 Streathbourne Road

Property: 108 Streathbourne Road
Address: 108 Streathbourne Road | Balham, London SW17 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
108 Streathbourne Road Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing