We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Ranked #221 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hotel clean, room clean. Food good. Only thing to complain about is the car parking. You have to pop a ticket on your car after 9.30am, so if you like to get up late on your stay (which we do when were child free) you cant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole9914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am really happy to see that your stay with us was a positive one and that you found your stay very good.
At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on. Unfortunately the car park is run by Excel, therefore we are not in control of the rates/times.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    525
    154
    41
    40
See reviews for
554
379
81
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've stopped at several Premier Inn, and this one a few times whilst visiting Excel. It's well run, rooms are clean and comfortable, food is good and best of all the staff are very helpful and friendly.
An easy full marks from me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bythor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am really happy to see that your stay with us was a positive one and that you found us the best premier inn.
At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
193 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Having transferred here from the Stratford location, we noticed right away that this hotel was older. The hallways smelled of damp and the bathrooms were in need of some TLC. The breakfast staff was very attentive and the food was fresh and served piping hot. The beds were comfortable. Overall we were satisfied but would probably not stay this far out of central London again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am really happy to see that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed weekend before Christmas. Spotlessly clean, great restaurant, great value and every member of staff could not have been more friendly, polite, welcoming and helpful. Would recommend to anybody wanting great value in London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJWE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am really happy to see that your stay with us was a positive one and that you found the hotel a great base for London.
At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms cold and draughty. Burnt hand on kettle as had to hold button in to get it to boil. Uncomfortable beds one member if staff was lovely the rest rude and unhelpful. The adjoining restaurant the food was either burnt in edible or off!!! When I complained I had the chef come out stare at me and make some sarcastic comment but no apology to make things worse the waitress pointed us out that we were the ones who sent the food back !!
Dartford premier inn is a palace compared to excel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa-marie6975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn, I am very disappointed that your stay with us was not a positive one. At Premier Inn, we strive to deliver the highest standards of service and product, I apologise that this was not the case on this occasion.
Please call us on 08715278650/ 07936564941 and we will do our best to resolve this.
Thank you once again for providing us with your feedback and we will use this information to improve our service/standards.
We hope that this incident has not put you off using Premier Inn and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I stay in Premier Inns for at least one night each week so I've stayed in loads and loads. This one is a really good one.

Location is great for the ExCel (it's literally next door) and for central London and surrounding area. The DLR stops at Royal Albert right next to the hotel and it's a 38min journey to Oxford Street. Zone 1-3 travel card is £8. Parking is on-site but chargeable from 9am - 5.30pm and costs £10 for over 6 hours if I remember correctly. Plenty of parking available.

This hotel is modern and clean. Receptionists were all very pleasant and helpful. I was even able to check-in early after a meeting of mine rescheduled - thanks!

There is a restaurant on-site. I opted for the £23 meal deal which got me a lovely 3-course dinner and a breakfast in the morning. The restaurant staff were fantastic. Extremely hard-working and pleasant to all guests. The meal was actually excellent. All food was freshly cooked, served quickly and tasted surprisingly good. I was served by Tandre and the service was fantastic.

Again, I visit a lot of Premier Inns and understand that it's a budget chain of hotels/restaurants but the service, cleanliness and food at this one has to be up there with the very best.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again when I need to be in and around London.

The only slight downsides were that the Air Conditioner/Heating in my room (328) didn't work very well at heating the room. It was a little chillier than I would have liked.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am really happy to see that your stay with us was a positive one and that you found alot of aspects of our hotel genuinely excellent.
At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Immaculate room and bathroom, clean, modern! The hotel is right outside a station at prince regent where if you cant see the hotel then you're blind, just a walk over the path. Service was quick aloud you to get on with your stay. Excellent!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am really happy to see that your stay with us was a positive one and that you found the hotel room immaculate.
At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#269 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#452 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#546 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Address: London Docklands 2 Festoon Way | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in London
#97 Romantic Hotel in London
#102 Family Hotel in London
#158 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London Docklands, our Premier Inn will be sure to suit all your needs whether they are business or pleasure. Take a trip to the O2, which is only 20 minutes away. Or explore out to central London. The choice is truly yours, with the DLR (Prince Regent station) only a short walk away. Our dedicated and friendly staff will do their very best to meet your every need. With a Thyme restaurant on site you can be sure you won't go to bed hungry. A great nights sleep and a comfy kingsize bed will be just what you need after a long day at work or sight seeing. Premier Inn, a good night sleep guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing