We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Efficient Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location - Efficient Hotel”
Reviewed 14 October 2008

I stayed at the Premier Inn Docklands with a friend for an Expo at the Excel Arena. The hotel is situated 5 mins walk from Prince Regent DLR station and is sign posted so you cant miss it. The hotel was very clean and the staff were efficient the room cost £60 per night for a double which is not bad considering the hotels in the area are usually in high demand when there is a big event on nearby. I cannot fault the hotel it was how I expected it to be. Can't comment on the food or drink as we ate elsewhere but the restaurant was busy!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sofa bed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    544
    163
    44
    40
See reviews for
572
400
84
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2008

I booked this hotel becaue it was close to the 02 Arena,which it was. 2 stops on the train, the only problem i had with the hotel was the "lonely" walk from the train station to the hotel for 2 females at midnight. You had to walk across 2 carparks takes about 5 mins. Luckily another couple got off at our stop too!!! We went to the CELINE DION concert on may 8th.But if i had known about this before i would have stayed more in London city!!!!

BUT the hotel was excellent,rooms lovely and clean. Breakfast was delicous, fresh and not "greasy/oily"!!!!! One lady diner had 2 cooked breakfasts and weetabix,so she enjoyed it!!!!!

  • Liked — Very clean,staff very polite and helpful
  • Disliked — Walk from train station on a nite to hotel!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedcarSunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset girl
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We arrived here after a sleepness night at another 'budget' hotel. The staff were welcoming, found us a quiet room. The room was excellent, beautifully clean, clearly the satff take pride in their work. Reception staff polite and helpful. Breakfast fantastic, plentiful and of good quality. We booked for an evening meal which was acceptable but average.

It is situated close to the DLR but it isnt that noisy; not compared to a standard railway. It is close to City Airport, but if you ask to be situated at the front or the side of the hotel then the noise isnt that much of a problem. Compared to where we had just stayed believe me it was bliss! The airport shuts at night.

It is very close to Prince Regent DLR. We had several late evening trips and arrived back after midnight. The DLR was very busy even at this time of night and we never felt concerned for our safety. The walk from the station takes about 10 minutes.

The £12 car parking is irritating, but to be fair they do warn you about this, and they warn you about the noise from the airport

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rosycider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2007

Stayed here twice during December whilst at concerts at the O2 Arena. The hotel is a standard Premier Inn, very clean and new, no issues there. Bar and restaurant are fine and food/beer is good.
It's actually quite handy for the O2, a couple of minutes to Prince Regent DLR Station and a few stops to the North Greenwich Underground Station. On the way out after a concert the O2 is a nightmare but if staying here you'll find you're going in the opposite direction from the majority of concert goers and, trains permitting, you'll be in the bar quite quickly.
Downside...this hotel is not in a nice area. Traveling to it you'll see the side of London that the tourist guides don't show. The outlook from it is a bit grim.
Whilst staying there at least one car was broken into whilst in the car park and various ne'r do wells spotted roaming the area.
If you're traveling on public transport your experience should be, as mine was, fine but I wouldn't park my car there or go wandering locally.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bordon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2007

My wife and I were at a conference in Excel Centre and needed economic accomodation. We chose this hotel although we had never used a budget hotel before. What a delight this hotel is. The reception staff are smiley and helpful. The house-keeping staff supplied us with 6 extra pillows[ my wife broke her ribs 1 week earlier] AND found a rubber bath mat even though we were told they didn't have any. I suspect they went out and bought one for us as it came brand new in it's original wrapper. What service. The bar and restaurant staff were also fantastic. By the end of the 5days they had become "friends". I can honestly say I have never been treated so well ......even in the Ritz, which we stayed in last year. We ordered lunch one day and hadn't been aware of it taking a while to get to us [i'm sure it was no more than 20mins or so] but once it arrived, it was followed by the chef to offer his apologies??!!?! Never happened to me before. I would recommend this hotel NOT just for a budget stay but for any stay in London. Central London is only 20 to 30 mins away by d.l.r. and underground. Loved it.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — one side of the hotel faces London City airport [noisy]
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Have to agree with comments of some others.

The hotel itself is ok - rooms are clean and presentable. Llocation is good, especially if you are attending an event at Excel. If not, that is where your problems start!

Parking - £12 a day regardless if you are a resident and whether an event is on - and you WILL get clamped if you try it on!

Evening meal - you must book in advance, otherwise no chance (food ok!). There is limited scope for food locally. Captive audience so stuffed if you do not consider in advance.

Docklands Light Rail nearby (indeed some good views from upper floors!!), although a bit of a walk to nearest station.

Other local hotels nearby, such as Ibis, may provide an alternative, although have not stayed there (yet).

Be warned!

  • Liked — Location to Excel exhibition centre
  • Disliked — Location to Excel exhibition centre!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Burgsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

I stayed here for one night on august 17th as I was going to see Prince at the O2 and this Hotel was ideal as it's situated close by. I found the reception staff to be extremely helpful & courteous and the room standard was excellent-exceptionally clean and quite spacious. I'm a stickler for a clean bathroom and I have no complaints with this one-and an added bonus of a Lux shower gel dispenser was a nice touch. I would say the only downside is the parking cost-£12 during th day, luckily I arrived after 5:30pm so I did not not have to pay and set off again at 9am the following day.
I would most certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable base from which to explore the Nation's capitol.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank superlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#261 of 1,067 in London
1,800 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
#452 of 1,067 in London
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#576 of 1,067 in London
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Address: London Docklands 2 Festoon Way | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in London
#97 Romantic Hotel in London
#102 Family Hotel in London
#158 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London Docklands, our Premier Inn will be sure to suit all your needs whether they are business or pleasure. Take a trip to the O2, which is only 20 minutes away. Or explore out to central London. The choice is truly yours, with the DLR (Prince Regent station) only a short walk away. Our dedicated and friendly staff will do their very best to meet your every need. With a Thyme restaurant on site you can be sure you won't go to bed hungry. A great nights sleep and a comfy kingsize bed will be just what you need after a long day at work or sight seeing. Premier Inn, a good night sleep guaranteed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing