We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like a VERY hard bed then this is the budget hotel for you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Ranked #220 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like a VERY hard bed then this is the budget hotel for you”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you like a VERY hard bed then this is the budget hotel for you. I had almost no sleep staying here and within 15 minutes of checking out my payment was refunded under their 'Good Night Sleep Guarantee' which was great but to be honest I'd rather have paid and had the good night sleep.
Otherwise this offered the usual standard you would expect from a Premier Inn, which is general quite good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffle1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    574
    170
    44
    42
See reviews for
613
422
89
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Clean, the shower was amazing with endless hot water. The added bonus of a bath was a lovely surprise. The staff were all very friendly. Superb food at breakfast. Plenty of choice and cooked fresh. Excellent location allowing a lovely walk through Docklands and Excel to the cable cars. Great price. The car park should have been free for the whole stay not just during certain hours. Unlimited WiFi would have been better than just 30 minutes. An information pack or poster on nearest DLR would have helped! As would some knowledge of whats in the Excel centre as we only found out when sheltering from the rain!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am happy to see your stay with us was a good one and that you enjoyed a nice relaxing bath. At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent three nights in London, two at the Travelodge Docklands and one at this Premier Inn, and the latter was much, much better.

The hotel is modern and clean, the girl on reception was very friendly. We arrived around 1pm - two hours before you are supposed to be able to check in, but she was happy to give us the room early which saved us having to drag our bags around London all day.

The room itself was nice, with air conditioning fitted which was a blessed relief after two sweaty nights at the Travelodge, the bed was comfortable and it had a good sized bath.

I paid a little more than I'd normally be happy with (just over £100) but it was a fairly late booking as we decided to extend our stay an extra night.

The only downside is the hotel is right beside the flightpath for City Airport and the Docklands Railway ran almost right outside the window! Having said that with the window closed I was barely aware of either, and the air con meant there was no need to open it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortinadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am happy to see your stay with us was a good one and that the air conditioning in your room made your stay even more fantastic. At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very well located for Excel and London City airport. Very clean and efficiently run. I love the good night's sleep policy, it's reassuring. I stayed with colleagues for nearly 2 weeks whilst setting up and working at an exhibition and couldn't fault anything, especially the restaurant. Very helpful staff in the restaurant, bar and on reception. Good value overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am happy to see your stay with us was a good one. At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. That is why we provide a goodnight guarantee because we are confident we will deliver on this. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on. Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A good hotel if requiring accommodation near the London City Airport. Our room for 3 was clean and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and very helpful and seemed very keen to have our feedback. Our 2 meals, dinner and breakfast were surprisingly good. It's also an easy and inexpensive trip to the Airport either by train or taxi although we chose the latter. It was a little noisy at first with a group of young people staying on our floor but that ceased early enough not to worry us. Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am happy to see your stay with us was a good one and i am happy to see you found us value for money. At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a great location for getting to the o2. Especially if you stop off at the Royal Victoria like an take the Emirates cable car to your event! The room was clean and comfortable. Considering you are right near the DLR, it was barely noticeable, as were the planes. I would consider staying here again, unless I find a swankier hotel for a good price ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am happy to see your stay with us was a good one and i definately agree with you, the cable car experience is fantastic! At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Rubber eggs, dried out bacon and sausage, uncooked tomatoes, no cheese or meat in their "Continental Breakfast", expensive parking. Hotel side good, but very expensive for a budget hotel. Overall Eeek

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn. I am very disappointed that our breakfast did not meet your requirements. I am surprised at this because usually we have great feedback regarding our breakfast, therefore I will launch a full enquiry into this and see where it all went wrong. At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on. I am saddened the breakfast being poor has caused you to rate us an overall 1 star but I hope we can resolve this for you. Please call us at the hotel on 08715278650.
Thank you once again for taking the time to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
#417 of 1,069 in London
789 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#259 of 1,069 in London
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#276 of 1,069 in London
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Address: London Docklands 2 Festoon Way | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in London
#97 Romantic Hotel in London
#102 Family Hotel in London
#158 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London Docklands, our Premier Inn will be sure to suit all your needs whether they are business or pleasure. Take a trip to the O2, which is only 20 minutes away. Or explore out to central London. The choice is truly yours, with the DLR (Prince Regent station) only a short walk away. Our dedicated and friendly staff will do their very best to meet your every need. With a Thyme restaurant on site you can be sure you won't go to bed hungry. A great nights sleep and a comfy kingsize bed will be just what you need after a long day at work or sight seeing. Premier Inn, a good night sleep guaranteed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing