We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Ranked #213 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect deal”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I booked a room for my parents there and come for the check in. The receptionnist was really nice and frienly, smart lobby and fast service.
The room was really big for London, clean and comfortable. Nice view and quiet location.
I will definitely book again here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurore E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    714
    205
    71
    34
See reviews for
265
911
118
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in april.
Conveniently located despite the fact that it is not in the centre of the city. Just ten minutes walking to the tube.
Rooms are new and clean. Some with the good view on the channel. Good breakfast.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you need to stay in the Canary Wharf section of London, the Marriott is a good choice. Canary Wharf has gone through rapid development in the past few decades, from a barren docklands, to a vibrant and handsome second center for London business. There are very few hotels in this area, and the Marriott is both relatively reasonable and a very acceptable accommodation.
I need to emphasize that Canary Wharf is not a good location if tourism is the main purpose of your stay in London. While there are some good transportation choices (DLR, Underground, ferry), it’s relatively far from central London (it is, however, very close to the Olympic Village). Therefore, its primary function is as a business hotel.
With this in mind, how does the Marriott fare as a hotel? Overall, it’s a middling hotel for a Marriott – comfortable, but unexceptional. Having recently stayed at a comparable Marriott in Sydney, it comes up short. The staff is OK, but not overly friendly. The exception to this was at the one restaurant – a fairly pricey steakhouse, where the staff was very pleasant and chatty. We had access to the Executive Lounge. It was poorly equipped – no Internet station. The front desk would let you use their machine to print, but it was a very primitive setup for a major business hotel (the fax/copier machine was from the Dark Ages). The food was very limited. The staff was pleasant and tried to be helpful. The health club was OK, but small, with no sanitary wipes for cleaning the machines. The water cooler was always empty, and I never saw any staff members even near the facility.
As for the room, it was comfortable. The only major problem was that it didn’t face the canal side (with a nice view), but faced over an ugly roof with a bad view of ugly buildings. It also faced the DLR, which noisily ran late into the night. The room was nicely equipped, with lots of draw space, tea and coffee, and good sized flat screen TV (with an annoying menu system). The work desk is a good size, but the Internet is very expensive. The bed was on the hard side (typical of British hotels), but with excellent bedding. The foam pillows that we requested were waiting for us. The heating system was old and difficult to adjust properly. The bathroom was well designed with a good ventilation system (no foggy mirrors but not drafty), great towels, a decent shower, and a clothesline (thank you, Marriott!). The housekeeping staff was very efficient and remembered our requests.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stay at Canary Wharf as our daughter lives close by. Previous visit we stayed at the Four Seasons but really prefer the Marriott. Checked in and doorman was a little offish. No valet parking. Asked if we might leave the car for a moment to check in. This wasn't possible. No alternative space offered, just carpark across the road. So doorman could have been friendlier and more welcoming.

Very efficient and friendly young receptionist from Germany more than made up for doorman. Did her best to get our two rooms close together. The rooms are lovely. Spacious, spotless and very very comfortable. Sad though that there is only one bathrobe and one pair of slippers. Why not two? Are we supposed to take turns? Nothing beats a Marriott bed.
We requested rooms overlooking the water and the DLR. There is a very feint rumble of a train but we find that quite nice. Otherwise, no noise whatsoever.

Was nice to have a turndown service even though we hadn't requested this.

Came back from dinner and wanted a nightcap. Barman was very pushy. Just wanted 2 G & Ts and a glass of red wine. Had to say no on three occasions to alternatives we were offered. 'Don't you want a cocktail', 'regular gin or specialty gin' etc etc. Could have done without that.

Great nights sleep. Breakfast at 9 a.m. Lovely room and the fruit/yoghurt/cheese selection was very good. The hot food let breakfast down badly. Scrambled eggs were simply awful. Bacon hard and chewy, no choice of bread or waffles left (even though it was reasonably early). Wouldn't bother with hot food - good thing it was included in room charge as I wouldn't have wanted to pay £25 for the full works!

All in all a really lovely hotel and we would certainly stay again. I agree with many others that in this day and age, wi-fi should be just a complimentary service. Sadly out daughter is leaving the area but we'll go back to Marriott County Hall again. Missing the bed already.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed one night which we booked five days ahead. We were impressed by the efficient welcoming staff, our bags were taken at the door and left in our room without any fuss whilst we parked. We were quickly checked in and got the room we had requested. The room has all the facilities you would expect of a hotel of this standard, the only thing I would have wished was for free wifi, which I am surprised was not available (visit the Cat & Canary opposite)
The hotel is ideally located for in the docklands for places to eat and drink, and both the Grapes and the Narrow are in the area. The West India Quay DLR station is right next door and the Canary Wharf Jubillee Underground station is 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We managed to get a fabulous deal via the Ebookers' sale - what a treat! Our early arrival in the morning didn't cause them any problems. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were given the option of two rooms as we hadn't specified at the time of booking. We opted for the 'city view' on the 7th floor rather than the 'water view' on the 6th nearer to the DLR Station. We could've been in a detached house as there was no noise from anywhere thoughout the entire weekend!

The room was spacious with a king-sized bed with a choice of pillows, large flat-screen TV, full-sized ironing board and mugs!! Never having stayed in a Marriott Hotel before the extra-nice touches of take-away mugs, umbrella, dressing gown, slippers and full shower/bath/hair miniatures were a real bonus. My only criticism can be for housekeeping as the mugs hadn't been washed properly so very nearly perfection.

Although we had to queue for breakfast, as it was extremely busy and everyone must have decided to go at the same time, it was very enjoyable. A good selection of cereals and continental selection with muffins and pastries as well as a full cooked breakfast if desired.

We checked out (again appreciated the 12 noon check-out) and left our car in the car park adjacent to the cinema to spend the day in London. Before departing we went back to the hotel to validate the ticket against our booking and received a discount.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel and decided that we should have stayed for two nights instead of the one!

We didn't use any of the leisure or bar facilities so cannot comment on these.

Thank you Marriott and thank you Ebookers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNottingham_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel offers everything one would expect from a top-class international hotel such as pleasant service, cleanliness, etc. For business travellers (financiers and bankers visiting banks in Canary Wharf), this is an ideal location. Nice bars and eateries right next to the hotel. The breakfast selection is quite excellent and service is commendable. Since the top floors are operated as executive apartments, the general upkeep of the property is very good. However, since Canary Wharf is somewhat removed from central London, tourists would be better off picking a more central location. However, if tourists would like a nice hotel in a quieter location at night, then there is the Dockland Light Rail station right next to the hotel, which links to the tube station at Bank.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRUS_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
#144 of 1,067 in London
877 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#72 of 1,067 in London
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#107 of 1,067 in London
172 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel West India Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Property: London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Address: 22 Hertsmere Road | Canary Wharf, London E14 4ED, England (Formerly London Marriott West India Quay)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in London
#115 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Family Hotel in London
#160 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel West India Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Canary Wharf district, the London Marriott Hotel West India Quay offers luxurious accommodations and access to the city's most popular attractions. Indulge in a deluxe steakhouse experience at Manhattan Grill or maintain your workout routine with our state-of-the-art fitness center & sauna. We boast a prime location just 11 minutes from London City Airport and 10 minutes from Europe's largest indoor shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel West India Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott West India Quay Hotel London
Marriott London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing