We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place if you are on business trip to London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Ranked #193 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent place if you are on business trip to London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Located right next to the banks in Canary Wharf. Very easy to get by tube to all parts of London. Kinda confusing to find the hotel from the tube as the Marriott sign is only on the small and short part of the hotel - putting it on top of the tall executive tower will be nice!

Had to ask twice for AC adaptor and bath robe. Concierge (the lovely Parisian) helped a lot with navigating the city.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the executive part of the hotel: better views, bigger rooms. If they have room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand D, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel West India Quay, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Alex F,
Thank you from London Marriott West India Quay team. We noted your comments concerning walking directions from Canary Wharf underground station. My colleague from concierge was more than pleased to help and receive your acknowledgment.
Restaurant Tip: visit Manhattan Grill for the tastiest steaks in Canary Wharf

Sincerely,
Bertrand Dijoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    701
    191
    67
    32
See reviews for
254
886
113
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights whilst in London for the recent Stone Roses' gigs. My wife is 5 months pregnant and has been suffering a bit this pregnancy. The staff went over and beyond what you would expect for a 5 star hotel. We don't stay in places like this very often (if ever!), so for us it was a real luxurious hotel. We spent a little extra for the executive suite upgrade and it was so worth it. The executive lounge facilities were fantastic, loads to eat and drink.

On arrival at our room, once they heard it was also our anniversary through general conversation, they sent up strawberries and cream/chocolate sauce, 2 bottles of bud for me and 2 soft drinks for my wife. Lovely touch. They also sent up extra chocolates later on too!

Really, I couldn't recommend enough.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crafty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here for my daughter's birthday treat with her friend so 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Booked a 1 bed apartment and was given a 2 bed. Room was one of the best Marriott rooms we have ever had. Very clean and so spacious especially with a separate room for the girls. Staff were excellent, always smiling and friendly. Breakfast service was amazing and only equivalent to the great Marriott county hall. Overall would recommend this hotel to anyone with a family. Also location outside central London with only 15 min tube ride is a bonus for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PABTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

I always view Marriott hotels as safe bets when I don't know where else to stay. In many ways this hotel was status quo - clean and comfortable but generally nothing super special. For a hotel restaurant, the food is actually pretty good. The hotel is mainly for business travelers as it is close to a lot of major firms in Canary Wharf. Also close to some nice restaurants and pubs. One big downside was that I kept getting woken up by people in the next room and I am typically a very sound sleeper. There was a door to the adjoining room. Not sure if that reduced the sound protection between rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereRWeGoingNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand D, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel West India Quay, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear WhereRWeGoingNext,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret you were not "wow'd" during your visit, however it is pleasing to know you enjoyed Manhattan Grill restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Bertrand Dijoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed here with my Mum when we went to see the Strictly Come Dancing Live Tour at the O2 in February 2013. We booked in as it was a great location to get the O2 easily but it was better than we ever thought it would be. The bar was lovely, the barman that was on when we went was really chatty and offered to let me try a few guns when I said I was a gin lover. The whole hotel was lovely and clean and had an air of luxury even though it was reasonably priced! Great room size and very comfy beds! Will definitely stay here again next time I need to stay in London!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HollyPollyDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

First of all, if you are navigating to the Maririott West India Quay postcode E14 4ED, leave your sat nav in the boot, as the post code will only get you into the area, so be prepared to ask the natives. Once you find the hotel there is convenient secure multistorey car park (discounted to hotel guests)
First impression, very impressive glass fronted building let down by a slightly uglier brick roadside frontage, as we approached the entrance it almost looked as if a Novotel had been grafted onto the side of a majestic glass palace in some kind sick architectural experiment. We were greeted at the door by a very polite gentleman in top hat and tails who made you feel very special and arranged for our bags to be taken whilst he pointed us in the direction of the reception. We were greeted promptly by a well staffed reception, being as we had arrived slightly earlier than the 3pm check in time for this midweek stay, and being a special occasion and our first experience stopping at this particular hotel i asked the gentleman on reception if it would be possible to take a room in the magnificent glass fronted tower, he checked his computer and informed me that it would not be possible as all these rooms were taken but he would upgrade us to an 'executive suite', most grateful for his generosity we completed the mandatory check in form and set off for our 'executive suite' on the sixth floor feeling great and with grand illusions of what a 5* executive suite would look like.
Disappointment - The room was a box with a great view of a roof top bank of air conditioning units, if i had been into refrigeration and cooling systems i am sure i would have been very impressed and excited, the room has a flat screen television, although you may need a degree in remote control button pressing to get through the in house service menu. The beds are amazing, i must say once i had drawn the black out curtains and forgotten about all those air conditioning units working hard outside my window, i really had one of the best nights sleep i have ever had in a hotel, the pillows are so soft and in abundance so if you head rolls off one it will find it way onto another. As for the 'Executive' part of the room, i'm afraid i never saw it, unless they meant the desk and chair shoved up the corner? The shower was the worst i have ever seen, it was only due to gravity that the water dribbled out of it, apart from that the bathroom was well fitted and good quality.
All in all i really struggle to give this 5 star beautifully situated hotel a 3 star average trip advisor rating, before i booked i had read some great reviews and had very high expectations, maybe my stay was tainted before i even had chance to enjoy this hotel by the feeling of being fobbed off at check in, it left a bad taste and i feel it undoubtedly spoilt my experience.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the Upgrade ploy. Try and book a room in the Glass tower side of the hotel when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand D, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel West India Quay, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Richard G.,
We really appreciated your positive comments and will reflect on your other points in order to improve our service in the future.
You will be glad to hear we are reviewing our shower heads so on your return you will notice a big difference.
At the end of the day it was great to read you had one of the best nights sleep ever.

Sincerely,
Bertrand Dijoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Had a great night at this hotel. Lucky enough to have tickets for Barbara Streisand at the O2 and this Hotel is perfectly situation to get too and from the Arena. Just one stop on the Jubilee line.

I could not faulty the service and the staff were very friendly. Even the maintenance engineers were polite when I bumped into them in the corridor.

Breakfast was enjoyably relaxed and catered for all tastes.

I would definitely stay here again.

Hilary Soper

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#80 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,129 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
#128 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel West India Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Property: London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Address: 22 Hertsmere Road | Canary Wharf, London E14 4ED, England (Formerly London Marriott West India Quay)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in London
#115 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Family Hotel in London
#147 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel West India Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Canary Wharf district, the London Marriott Hotel West India Quay offers luxurious accommodations and access to the city's most popular attractions. Indulge in a deluxe steakhouse experience at Manhattan Grill or maintain your workout routine with our state-of-the-art fitness center & sauna. We boast a prime location just 11 minutes from London City Airport and 10 minutes from Europe's largest indoor shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your London Marriott Hotel West India Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott West India Quay Hotel London
Marriott London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing