We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
54
7
1
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
7
1
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal palacehome away from homeheated blanketstheir beautiful homelike coming hometop floorother guestsplace to stayexcellent breakfaston arrivalhostshaighsbedroomcomfort
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I've stayed at this B&B on 4 different occasions. My cousin and I wanted to learn about the culture since our ancestors were from England. We did not want to stay in a commercial hotel, but wanted the experience of a regular neighborhood and family experience.

That's is exactly what we got at Fox Hill. We were welcomed like old friends. Both Tim and Sue were completely open with us, there is nothing they don't know about visiting London. We weren't treated like paying customers, but more like friends and both Sue and Tim were very helpful and patient with us asking them dozens of questions about English culture, food, traditions, etc.

If you are looking to experience how regular people live in England I would highly recommend Fox HiIl. I also enjoyed it because it is not a "cookie cutter" type of hotel that you can go to anytime that you are in a hurry and just need a place to sleep. It was an enjoyable experience, interesting art and textiles, beautiful garden, the family, the animals and excellent conversation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schin638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We were disappointed in this B&B. The house and rooms were very cluttered and not particularly clean--two cats and a huge dog leave a lot of dander and hair. The location is out of the way, and the rates are very expensive given how far it is from central London. Breakfast was absolutely dreadful--the toast was burnt and the bacon very salty and of poor quality (not to mention the small quantities). For all the boasting about their fresh eggs, we were served only one each. We expected more from a B&B that charges 100 GBP per night.

At first, we felt that despite the glaring shortcomings, the owners seemed very nice and helpful. However, that all changed when it came time to pay. We had forgotten that the hotel only accepted cash, and when we offered to pay by credit card, the proprietress instantly became cross. She chastised us as if we were children; it was as if she thought we didn't have money to pay her! In the end, she got her money, but not our repeat business.

Your 100 quid is better off spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Peripatetic_Flaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnophelesLondon, Owner at Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Unfortunately the problem here seemed to be about our not being able to accept credit cards - we do always try to make sure that everyone knows this as we are a very small establishment and do not offer those facilities. Given that it is mentioned on our website and usually when bookings are made, it can be awkward if customers for one reason or another forget. Tim who does the breakfasts always asks how many eggs are desired and bacon does tend to be salty. Transport to the West End and City of London is excellent and frequent, especially with our new connection to the tube system with the Overground (aka the Ginger Line). Guests have commented on how they have enjoyed coming back to a quiet environment after a busy day in the city and always remark on how well they sleep. We do work hard to ensure that our guests are comfortable and happy and are just sad that this couple were not able to mention anything about their unhappiness at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Very pleasant hosts, clean high quality bed linen, quiet location, lovely garden, easy car parking in street outside. That's the good news. Now the bad: no hospitality tray, no drinking glasses, no wash hand basin in bedroom (our bathroom and WC were on a different floor from the bedroom - the latter cluttered with the owners' shaving equipment, toiletries etc), door of WC had no lock/indicator bolt, dust covered parphernalia on top of wardrobe, room cluttered with owners' possessions, no free space in wardrobes or chests of drawers, no TV, no lounge, credit/debit cards not accepted, cooked breakfast consisted of one egg and half a rasher of bacon, rooms not serviced (bins not emptied, beds not made etc). Alastair Sawday listed - doesn't say much positive about the standard of inspection they use. The room rate is the same as in many decent London hotels and represents poor value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EAWDidsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

I stayed two or three nights in 2001 and was warmly welcomed; the place is lovely and I'd recommend it to anyone. I took the single room on the top floor. Sue makes beautiful quilts, and every bedroom has at least one hand-made bed quilt. -- Rachel Holmen, Berkeley, CA, USA

  • Stayed: April 2003, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RaeHolmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

Had a bit of trouble finding this B & B as there is no sign outside. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, however the landlord did make us a cup of tea that we had to drink in the kitchen. We ordered our breakfast for 9 0 clock the next morning but there seems to be no proper dining area as we had to sit in the kitchen and watch our breakfast being cooked. The English breakfast just consisted of one egg and one rasher of Bacon, however toast and Marmalade was available.

At about 9.20 when we were still eating our breakfast the landlady came and asked how much longer we were going to be as the cleaner wanted to get into our room. Felt that she was rushing us out.,so had to hurry our breakfast not good value for £140.00. No invoice or receipt was given when the Bill was paid. Would not stay again as we have stayed in West end hotels for the same money, with more faciilities however the room we stayed in was very clean , the beds were comfortable and the house was interesting with its art work.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musicaltheatregoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews