We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming”
Review of 26 Hillgate Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
26 Hillgate Place
Ranked #319 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

On a three day trip to the capital, the SO and I referred to Alistair Sawday's inestimable guide book and chose this B&B for our two nights. We called from the train to ask if we could call in at 0930 and drop our bags. Not a problem. After a long day in a very wet London we arrived back cold and damp to a cosy warm room with a huge wood-floored bathroom. Big fluffy towels and a lovely warm shower later we were ready to venture out on to the town for supper. Hilary's two dachshunds are delightful and kept us entertained. Breakfast was perfect scrambled eggs and toast etc just the job before a trip down Portobello Road. It's a lovely home and Hilary and Maryo charming and caring hosts.

Room Tip: If you can ask for the smaller upstairs room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasper T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Our first B&B in the UK was a shock. The photos are very deceiving. The bathroom had dirty wash tossed in the corner. The kitchen had bags of garbage lining the length of the kitchen. The fruit bowl in the bedroom had shrivelled up fruit. The full breakfast was non-existent. A few packets of Tesco cereal and yoghurt that the previous guests had requested was all that was available. The bread was home made, however, toast left over from the previous night was left in the toast rack and put reheated in the morning. The Indian room we were in was cluttered with furniture so no room for suitcases. There are cobwebs hanging off the wall and the carpet it putrid. The room is a fire hazard as bars on the window and the only exit door is locked. There is no terrace and the courtyard is overgrown and not accessible. The one sofa in the eating area is covered in cushions, dolls and bears to the extent that there is no room left to sit. House is in a great location close to station, but owner does not know how to run a B&B and is relying solely on the location and misleading information to get bookings.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Good and bad things to know before make a booking to this place.
Excellent location. 2min walking from the tube station. Red, yellow and green line, all in the same stop. Fabulous to visit london.
A mess of owner. She loses the control of the reservations, she can reserve the same room twice. She doesn't have breakfast and she has to go out to buy it the same morning. She gets sleep and no breakfast that morning. With one room, you share her bathroom with her. No space for the guest. All her products, towels are round the bathroom.
Room is full of furniture and thousands of objects, so no space for luggage.3 wardrobres in the room, 2locked, an 1 opened with dust inside and you have mid space for your things. The other mid space is full of her things. No clean service in 4days. garbage in the room no throwed it in 4 days. we asked to change the linen bed the first day. Somebody had slept the day before because we found hair inside. she felt embarrassed and got angry with us, although she apologized before. The clean linen bed had the paper from the dyeing from april (we were in august).
The owner has good feelings but she is not able to keep the business.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crisgadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

As a lone woman traveller of a certain age this was the perfect place to stay. If you like a comfortable homely feel with a very friendly welcome and loads of character then this is it. Hilary is attentive and willing to help with any request as well as being generous with her home and facilities (use of kitchen/laundry) if required. You must like dogs (though Hilary is very mindful of those who dont) and artful clutter. The room I had was large (though very full of furniture and artifacts which I love but others might not),clean and well stocked and made me feel immediately at home-TV/ wifi all perfect, bed large and comfortable. Hilary is a true Nottinghill local and full of information which she will provide herself or which is availabe in the prolific books and pamphlets around the home. Breakfasts are quite adequate with lots of cereal choice/fruit etc. The Location is magnificent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This B&B is, like others have said, in a fantastic location. The tube stop is literally 3 minutes away.
The space is very tight, and Hillary (the owner) seemed very distracted. However, she is very eager to please and let us use the kitchen at any time. Breakfast was also great, french press coffee, eggs made to order, and a large variety of cereals. I think it was a good value, and would stay there again.
Note: she has two small dogs that are cute, but came down stairs regularly and were underfoot during breakfast.

Room Tip: The red room was very small, but the price difference makes it a very good choice for economic trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwedishBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Terrific location!!! The perfect solution for notting hill, very close to the tube stop and Portobello road.
Hilary makes you feel home and Muna & Hummer are so cute!
I really enjoy my stay and will definetly wish to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lafriggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The only reason to choose for this B&B is the location,which is excellent close to the tube, buses and walking distance of the popular neighborhoods.
Little care was taking durin our stay, with sour milk in the fridge and a fruit bowl with fungus.
An ugly water kettle and no place to store suitcases. We had little room in the closets that was mostly populated with the owner's clothing. The B&B pretends to be charming, but it is far from it.
There are much better places for the same money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#617 of 1,069 in London
203 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
51 Kensington Court Limited
51 Kensington Court Limited
#732 of 1,069 in London
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#219 of 1,069 in London
624 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#357 of 1,069 in London
183 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Best Western Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 26 Hillgate Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 26 Hillgate Place

Property: 26 Hillgate Place
Address: Notting Hill 26 Hillgate Place, London W8 7ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pretty 1840s terraced townhouse in the heart of Hillgate Village, a quiet enclave only three minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Notting Hill Gate and the tube, with Central, Circle and District lines, and many bus routes. Chic and bohemian Notting Hill and Portobello Road are to the north and sophisticated Kensington to the south. In the house paintings abound everywhere, many by one of the owners who is an artist. There are two bedrooms, one cream and white having splashes of colour from Indian hangings, with queen size bed and spacious en-suite bathroom with claw foot bath and separate walk in shower: the other bright and vibrant from many textiles in shades of red, with super king size bed and sharing a large bathroom with the owners. Dutch or continental breakfast is served in the dining room which opens onto a small but lush and private courtyard garden. A jewel in the middle of London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
26 Hillgate Place Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing