We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real treasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barclay House London B&B
Ranked #56 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real treasure”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you are looking for a good alternative to all this exchangeable hotels you will find here a real treasure. We booked 2 rooms for 4 persons and both rooms were mighty fine.
High end room amenities, you will find everything exactly as described on their homepage. We would recommend the Barclay House without any restricitions.
Sabine

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
These were enthusiastic 'foodies' who planned months ahead to reserve at our local Michelin-starred pub as well as The River Cafe, which is not far away. So glad that you enjoyed our five-star styled approach! Many thanks for the accolades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    56
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
112
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

What a lovely place! Right in the center of everything. You just had to step out and walk a few minutes and you have shops, cafes and what have you. Rooms are clean and tidy. And the best idea is the little kitchenette right outside our rooms that was stocked with everything you could possibly need. Host was most helpful in offering suggestions for eating out and shopping. The croissants are delicious

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankZ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Happy guests is what we are all about here at nr 21. Thanks for taking precious time to write a unique review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in this B&B for 4 nights on our recent visit to London. The location was perfect, it was easy to find and only a 2 minute walk to the tube station which took us to wherever we wanted to be in central London easily. There is also a great range of shops, cafes and restaurants nearby in Fulham. The room itself was a good size, well designed, comfortable and clean. The small kitchen area outside the room was convenient and it was nice to be able to grab some juice and a pastry for breakfast. Would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for taking time to write a nice review; to clarify, our beds offer top-of-the-range mattresses, with extra mattress toppers and custom-made upholstered headboards as well as freshly starched and pressed 600-count linens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Looking for a convenient option to visit the recent tennis championships at the Queen's Club, we struck lucky with the discovery of Barclay House. A short tube ride to Barron's Court and we were at the main gate of the Queen's Club, so ideal. Alternatively, we were well positioned for the main attractions in central London. The area of Fulham Broadway has many quality options for cafes, restaurants, and gastro pubs and Barclay House is a five minute stroll from the underground station.
Our room was not the largest one available but was otherwise excellent and perfectly adequate if not carrying too much luggage. The room was spotlessly clean and very well designed and the small kitchenette outside the rooms had everything required for a casual breakfast and afternoon tea or coffee( Nespresso machine). Freshly prepared croissants, pain au raisin arrived each morning to start the day. Charlotte, the owner, was always on hand to offer excellent suggestions on eating options, both locally and in central London and help with any other queries, so we had our own first class concierge. Since our return we have recommended Barclay House to many friends and will definitely return at the next opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kennethyoung960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
5-star guests who have travelled the world are always a pleasure to meet; amazing stories to share. Many thanks for your fabulous insider tips on places we'll be visiting later this year. Next time we hope that you'll have time for an evening drink on the roof terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Lovely place: the single room might look a bit like a railway sleeper in layout but it is is fact very sensibly designed. Wonderful bed; have never slept so well in London. I like being able to make good coffee and grab juice and a croissant from the mini kitchen without having to wait for someone else to do it. Best of all Barclay Road is quiet but only a minute or two from the tube and buses; this really saves tired legs at the end of the day.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chapelgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Business guests want quick access and best quality in pleasant surroundings; a challenge to find in London, especially for single travellers at this keen price point. So glad that we could provide exactly what you needed, with a touch of luxury too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A great way to start our trip to London! The B&B was lovely and easy to find. Nice very quick walk to the tube station. Convenient food options of a wide variety all around within a very quick walk. Charlotte was quick to suggest some places to eat which ended up being some of the best food we had over our entire trip in England. Charlotte was also quick to offer some helpful tips that helped us better navigate the city, it was helpful to have an local viewpoint. We stayed in two different rooms during our 4 day stay and both were beautiful, clean and well stocked. Internet was provided and it was great to have that convenience and its speed was fast. There were also power converters in the rooms which was helpful as we came from the US. The bathrooms were beautiful, luxurious and contemporary, the heated towel racks were a cherry on top of a great bathroom. The fresh pastries and croissants, as well as espresso and tea in the kitchen was a wonderful perk as well. Depending on how heavy the Underground traffic was it took around 20-30 minutes to get into most of the touristy parts of London including walking to the station. Overall a great experience, was very pleased with the location, surroundings, and room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
This review says it all; super happy guests make our day! Thank you for pointing out all the many 'little' things that we provide that make a 'big' difference for our guests; in-room power/electrical converters, the best maps, the highest speed WiFi, and in-person advice every morning to steer you in the right direction. We appreciated being appreciated.
We'll be expanding our website soon with more travel tips, videos of major sites and theatre previews, as well as pre-planning options to help guests get even more out of their short days in London. Stay tuned to barclay house london
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for my first experience in London especially as a solo traveler. The location and access to the tube can't be beat. The rooms are comfortable and the bath rooms are ultra-modern. Best of all the innkeepers are helpful and informative. I received accurate transportation and travel advice on all of my many requests. I would not hesitate to stay here again and I thought the rates were quite reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large enough and even the smallest single is quite comfortable for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBayGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
What a pleasure it was to assist this enthusiastic guest who ventured as far as the seaside White Cliffs, by train--50 minutes away--, and as close as the very sought-after Cigars Unlimited specialist shop, around the corner, to savour Cuban creations in the clear air of our local park at the end of the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#36 of 558 in London
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Villes Bed & Breakfast
The Villes Bed & Breakfast
#189 of 558 in London
37 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#28 of 558 in London
139 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#22 of 558 in London
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House London B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House London B&B

Property: Barclay House London B&B
Address: 21 Barclay Road, London SW6 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of Britain's Best 50 B&Bs by The Times. Our guests want 5-star style at a reasonable price in expensive London; Pls note: we totally renovated in mid-2011--reviews before that relate to rooms no longer available. We offer two design-led, five-star styled guest rooms each with its own bathroom inside the room, ie 'en suite'. Guest rooms exude award-winning British design, super comfort and convenience: Phillipe Starke bathrooms, RLangford beds with hotel-style high headboards, secure highest-speed WiFi, excellent lighting, large desks by ChannelsDesign, LED flattest screen tvs, guest breakfast bar; all in one area of an 1872 Victorian terraced house with all modern amenities Barclay Road is a peaceful, tree-lined road off the fashionable Fulham Road. Friendly neighborhood (Fulham) in central, southwest London, north of the River Thames, ie on the side where most of the attractions are. 2-Min walk to tube/buses. Fulham Broadway tube (District Line/green). 14/414 Bus up Fulham Road to Harrods and 3 of London's major museums. Careful attention to your needs -- free, secure highest-speed WiFi, luggage racks, salon grade 2200 watt hair dryers, bathrobes, slippers, self-serve 'breakfast on the go', best maps and advice to make the most of your stay. Designed with the needs of experienced travellers in mind; well organised rooms with large desks and contemporary wardrobes, firm beds, granite/mirrored bathrooms with powerful HansGrohe Airpulse rain showers--plenty of hot water (not always so at London B&Bs), and triple-glazed windows with plantation shutters and lockable sash stops to allow for air circulation. Your hosts live on the property and are available to assist you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing