We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but awful quality of sleep, too much noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ranked #343 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
milano
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fun but awful quality of sleep, too much noise”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Sleek, hip, fun, unconventional, easy going, stylish, etc. You could say a lot positive about the Ace. And it fits perfectly to the vibrant surroundings (Shoreditch). However, one usually seeks more than just fun in a hotel. Getting some decent sleep is almost impossible when your room is on the first floor overlooking busy Shoreditch High St.! We were so tired during the day because we could almost not sleep at night due to all the noise and light coming from outside. We had a lot of expectations after visiting the original Ace in Portland (Oregon), but unfortunately we felt pretty disappointed about our Ace London experience. Prices are not cheap at all and sound-proofing should be a priority for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hey Giorgionet,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. I am of course sad to read that you had a disturbed nights sleep.

The glazing of the windows is a challenge that we are looking to improve, we are located in a vibrant and exciting part of the city and the windows are double glazed but we totally take on board that the windows need to be looked at.

Thank you again for you taking the time to let us know about this issue and I can assure you that we will be looking to find a solution.

We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    335
    143
    54
    47
See reviews for
143
286
55
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before Christmas.
For us it was a delightful double confirmation:
a year ago we spent the night in Shoreditch has confirmed that this wonderful area and slept 3 years ago 7 nights ACE Hotel in NYC where we fell in love .....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi, Thanks for staying with us in Ace London. Its so nice to hear that you fell in love in the Ace NY. Make sure you come back to see us.

The Staff at Ace London xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Had one if the basic doubles and although we didn't have a turntable. The room had this lovely aura about it. The bathroom was beautiful with soft fluffy towels, great toiletries and a very powerful shower.
The rooms are certainly not noisy at night and did feature air con.
The staff were all friendly and willing to attend to any requests.
Every detail seemed to have been thought about except for one thing; NO FREE WATER in the rooms! This must be the first time I haven't had a free bottle of water in a hotel for about five years, and as you can see, I stay in a lot of hotels!
Anyway, silly little gripe over, this a great hotel in a great, hip location that, in my opinion was reasonably priced for the quality.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chubbychubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi, Many thanks for the 4 star review. Thank you for the compliment and feedback. We hope to see you again! xoxo

The Staff at Ace London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

When I review hotels on TripAdvisor I never rate a five-star hotel against a 3-star. I compare hotels based on similar experiences in the same category. I stayed here during a business trip with a large group and it was absolutely my worst experience while in the UK.

We hired someone who lived in London to find us a hotel that met the budget of our group of government and non-profit executives. From the very beginning the hotel misled us, did not fully reveal the extent of the renovations, and only showed the best rooms to our consultant. Some rooms did not have real windows but instead had opaque glass that made you feel like you were staying in an interior cabin on a cruise ship. It was claustrophobic! And when we asked about it they were unapologetic!

The desk staff were not locals so they were not helpful when it came to restaurant suggestions, directions, or transit information and they never seemed enthusiastic. They were never rude but I wouldn't call them friendly and in a city as large as London I really count on the hotel staff to give me some assistance, especially when I am travelling with a large group.

As for the booking staff, I have never dealt with people who were so unhelpful, unsympathetic to our situation, and at times, disrespectful.

There were a few good things: the location was fun, easy to walk to interesting restaurants (that we found on our own!) and nightlife. As it turns out, transit access was also excellent from this location but again, we discovered this on our own with the help of the transit staff and some friendly locals, not the hotel staff. The breakfast was generous with a fantastic selection, the room was clean, the view from the restaurant and rooftop patio was amazing. But given how poorly we were treated I would not recommend this hotel to others. I would instead look for another option in this interesting area. Renovations are never fun but that excuse for bad attitude. Better service and more honesty would have made this a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyboxTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Skybox TO,

Thank you for your recent review of the Ace London, It was interesting to read your comments in relation to your stay at the hotel as it was during the previous incarnation of the hotel.

A lot of the points that you have raised are valid and a lot of the reason why staff went through extensive local knowledge to ensure that they have a good working knowledge of the area and make great and interesting recommendations about restaurants or galleries in Shoreditch and the surrounding areas.

The refurbishment programme has been extensive and the hotel has been transformed into a place very much in tune with the Shoreditch area. The hotel is unrecognisable from the property that you stayed in back in June

We do hope that you come back and visit us in the future to see the changes that have taken place in the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Left just a few days ago. Preface by saying we had a very bumpy arrival-- first delayed then cancelled fight, followed by long wait ending in standby. My daughter and I were already wrung out. I had cancelled by mail, thinking I had already lost one nights fee and odds were low. Imagine my delight when Ben said from the airport our room would be ready! 9 am-ish. Blackout curtains, window bench comfy bed let us both nap. Hip yes, but much more important, thoughtful design...hooks, baskets, great bathrobes and shower products. Room service , coffee really, came right on time.we loved the staff and all amenities, and by the way also had favorite dinner I have probably ever had at the Hawksmoor. Thanks Ben!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicaflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hey, Sorry to hear about your flight problems but happy to hear Ben made you feel at home and that the room was comfy. Hope to see you again! xoxo

The Staff at Ace London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful beds, friendly and helpful staff, a hotel with style.

But I would prefer to be able to open a window, even if it would only be a small one, and there should be some more hooks in the room. In the bathroom there was only one hook although the room was ment for four persons.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Family F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hey Malmo, Thanks for staying with us at Ace London. We really appreciate feedback and love the fact you love the staff and hotel. We hope to see you again.

The Ace Staff London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you are looking for Hilton luxury this is not the place for you. But this should be pretty obvious from the outset and if you like the look of the hotel go for it. We stayed for two nights over New Year. We booked through an agent and on arrival the hotel had no booking for us in their system. This was quickly resolved between our agent and the hotel and I felt the staff handled it well. I have read other reviews noting that staff are inexperienced and young. Yes the staff are relaively young, but this is Shoreditch! There were one or two occassions where we noticed the inexperience of some staff members, which you wouldn't get in one of the more established hotel chains in the city, but this is a new hotel and there are going to be some tiny things. This did not take away from the friendliness of every single member of staff which for us is way more important than not offering to take our bags to the room. We were given a duluxe double which is the exact room on the photographs online. The room was large with a lovelt bathroom and extra comforable bed. A lot of quirky features which we didn't really make the most of. The hotel is in an excellent location less than 5 minutes walk from Shoreditch High St station and less than 10 minutes from brick lane. In summary we would 100% stay here again mainly due to the staff and location, if you can get a good deal then go for it. We wouldn't have been able to afford to stay here booking direct, but still reasonably priced for London.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Chad b, thanks for the 5 star rating! We really enjoyed reading your review and the fact you love the area. Shoreditch location is pretty special and creative.

We hope you come back to stay with us again xoxox

The Ace Staff London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#106 of 1,068 in London
4,579 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#132 of 1,068 in London
420 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#135 of 1,068 in London
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#320 of 1,068 in London
557 reviews
Shoreditch
Boundary Rooms & Suites
Boundary Rooms & Suites
#621 of 1,068 in London
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel London Shoreditch

Property: Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Address: 100 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JQ, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in London
#245 Luxury Hotel in London
#302 Family Hotel in London
#331 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ace Hotel London Shoreditch 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, a 5 star property in the historic Shoreditch neighbourhood, a hub for galleries, theaters and fashion, home of the Brick Lane market and a canvas for street artists from around the world.It’s a neighborhood with a long history of culture and industry — the first district where plays were performed in London, banned at that time in the center city, and later a center of in textile and furniture manufacture.Today’s Shoreditch is a leader in the arts, design, cuisine, culture and technology — an outpost in the global community of ideas. The design at Ace Hotel London hints at a wide range of influences from UK punk to the bold graphic style of the early 20th century Vorticist movement, to the clean Modernism of the Bauhaus.All rooms have vintage furniture, original artwork, in-room safe and flatscreen TV with Ace video-on-demand and Revo radios with Ace-curated radio stations, plus a well-stocked mini-bar and complimentary WiFI. Some rooms have turntables and a selection of vinyl and acoustic guitars.Easy access to Moorgate, Finsbury Square and Liverpool Street. Destination restaurant Hoi Polloi is by David Waddington and Pablo Flack who are restaurateurs behind Bistrotheque and Shrimpy’s. Gym is open 24 hours; the Hotel also features a Basement Bar with live gigs and DJ sets, a lobby bar, The Bulldog Edition - a coffee shop in partnership with Square Mile Coffee Roasters, an exhibition gallery, on-site juice bar, a flower shop, and 24 hours room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ace Hotel London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing