We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Hotel with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ranked #330 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hip Hotel with Great Service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Yes, the Ace Hotel is extra hipster and cool, but everyone who works there was so attentive, kind and eager to help. Loved the look and feel of the hotel and our room was quite comfortable. Loved the Shoreditch area and getting around London wasn't too difficult. I traveled with my husband and we are in our early 30's and felt like it was the perfect area for our demographic. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we return to London in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALiR1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hey,

Thank you for such a lovely review in regards to our staff. We do really care about of guests and we want them to feel looked after and most of all feel at home.

We do hope you return!

The Ace Team

xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    333
    137
    52
    42
See reviews for
140
278
50
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had stayed at the Ace Hotel in New York and were curious about this new addition to the Ace palette. It's a very hip, trendy hotel, but you don't have to be hip, trendy or young to stay here (we aren't). The bar and reception area is very lively and full of people from all over -- not just the hotel. There's live entertainment down below that we didn't take advantage of but it looked well-attended. Restaurants in the neighborhood are good and there are lots to choose from. There's still a bit of reconstruction going on but nothing too annoying; the staff is very helpful and energetic. The hotel is close to all kinds of good transportation, like Shoreditch High Street Station and Liverpool Street Station. This neighborhood is going through a lot of positive changes. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToujoursProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hey,

Many Thanks for the 4 starts we really appreciate any feedback from out guests. Its a shame you did not get to see the downstairs space but it just means you need to come back.

Love the Ace Team xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked this after reading a great review from the Daily Mail. It's nice enough but it is lacking smething. Don't get me wrong, the staff are pleasant and helpful but something's not quite there yet.
We booked a deluxe double, very clean, modern and quirky. We weren't disturbed by any noise at all on the 4th floor (save for a few rolling kegs at 7am). We tried a room service breakfast which is expensive but we were happy to pay to not have to rush out. The order was slightly wrong but seeing as hubby had already tucked in, I was done for!
Couple of points, constructive points:-). Tea and coffee was limited and it didn't seem to be kept behind reception, we had to wait on delivery to the room - don't be so stingy, we ended up going to Tesco because we felt a bit demanding asking for more than two milk jiggers to at least cover the bottom of the mug. Hotel information, maps, useful bits are lacking in the room - it doesn't have to affect the style, just cwtch it away somewhere. The snacks and drinks, the Pot Noodle was gone off, the crisps were that day and it was all dusty. I didn't plan on eating any of it but someone needs to check. And other than the kettle not fitting under the tap, I have nothing else bad to say.
It is cool, very cool but don't go there if you want spoiling.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline19790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Caroline19790,

Thank you so much for writing a review on Tripadvisor about the Ace Hotel London. We always love to heard peoples' feedback on our hotel. For us all feedback is positive.

We totally get your point about the tea and coffee in the room and we will look at being more generous with this, we know that that first tea or coffee is so important in the morning. We were really disappointed to read that the pot noodle in the room was out of date. Our minibar team check the rooms on a daily basis and normally any product nearing expiry are removed so we are so sorry that there was an oversight on this occasion.

We do hope that you will return back to us in the very near future and thank you again for your review.

The Ace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend in London for the Chelsea Flower Show. The hotel is very near Liverpool St. Station with direct access on the Circle Line to Sloane sq. Station.
The hotel is very different to any hotel I have stayed in before but very interesting throughout. We stayed on the 4th floor in room 413 which was a lovely room with two double beds which for me was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in when staying in a hotel. The pillows were also very comfortable.
.My only real problem was that we were not able to open the windows even though we asked the staff at the front desk. We had to sleep with the airconditioning on all night which for me is not ideal as I sleep with a window open all the time. Maybe the management might look into finding a solution for this? Also when making tea or coffee the mugs handles became too hot to hold without using a tissue, this is quite dangerous.
Apart from these two issues we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel and loved the quirkiness of it all ! The staff were excellent and very friendly and service second to none. The rooms were very clean and well equipped with hairdryer, kettle, iron and mini fridge. All in all a great stay in a cool hotel !!

Room Tip: Room at the side on the 4th floor, no noise heard at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie W, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Thanks so much for your review.

See you again soon I hope!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Spent 2 nights at the ace hotel for business this week. I'm not hip, cool, young or trendy but I LOVED this hotel. It's a breath of fresh air and has a great energy. I expected that this would mean that the service would fall short of more traditional hotels - but this wasn't the case at all. Staff and service were OUTSTANDING. On arrival, There was a problem with my room, the pipes behind my room were really noisy - it was late, and I was grumpy, tired and impatient due to a seriously unpleasant back problem, but the staff moved me to another floor. They brought the key for me and helped me with my bags to the new room.

Bed was very comfortable, I had a good nights sleep, my room was quiet, air con worked well, all good. I liked the lobby vibe - and particularly like the laptop area for single travellers - it makes it very easy to be relaxed in the main bar / lobby without feeling awkward. I felt that there were many thoughtful touches like that throughout the hotel - like the electric plug socket in the breakfast booths - so that you can charge up and work whilst taking breakfast.

Staff remember you on the second day - and remember what you ordered the day before - very impressive - you feel like they're INTERESTED in the quality of your stay - genuinely.
On leaving, I was asked by the duty manager if everything was okay due to me having to move rooms on arrival. Not prompted by me - that was a very nice touch. This level of service is throughout the hotel. When returning for my stored bag, the attendant caught my eye, remembered which bag was mine and had it ready for me before I reached the other side of the lobby - they really are INTERESTED.

I suspect this hotel could get VERY busy at weekends in the lobby - we were midweek, and I loved it.... Thanks Ace x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJW_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hey TJW,

Many Thanks for that amazing review and I will be sure to pass this on to all staff. Its so nice to read that the staff here at Ace really do care about our guests and they want to go the extra mile to make everyone's stays perfect.

We also provide the best beds and everyone is granted a good nights sleep!!

Please come back to see us,

The Ace Team xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed last weekend as part of a music group that were performing in the nearby Barbican Centre. It seemed as if there were many many artists staying there that weekend.

The hotel was incredibly cool and hip, with a light and airy feel during the day with loads of people on laptops, turning into a bar for cool 20/30 somethings at night. If it got too loud, you could pop down to the seated area at the back where it was a bit more chilled.

The rooms were the best part. You would have thought it would have been noisy due to the bars but mine wasn't in the slightest. I was on the 3rd floor looking onto the street. The bathrooms were incredibly comfortable and cool. Nice beds, fast wifi and an incredible shower. The only odd thing is that they have loads of super cool trinkets in the room as well as lots of fancy bathroom products (except no toothpaste! Which wasn't expected at all but seemed odd as they had lesser known items), but I wasn't sure if they were for sale or for use, so I left them be.

We were away for most of the trip, but it was just a super nice place to come back to. We were not paying for this hotel ourselves, and I can't vouch for the value. I just checked out the price and there's no way I could afford this myself, although I would LOVE to because they have great service, great staff (bar one scary and sullen lady at breakfast one day - there's always one!) and fantastic rooms. I can't see myself affording it anytime soon though :(

PS: One day, the hotel porter called to the door and gave me a present of a chocolate bar and a bottle of still water!? I was worried it would be charged to my card, but it wasn't. What a nice hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 305 which was perfectly lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anothertripreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hey Jonathan P,

Thanks so much for that lovely review! Its so nice to read that you think we are friendly and kind because its important to us to go that extra mile.

Please do come back to stay!

The Ace Team xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

i stayed here with my parents for a short break in london (we go to london often and really like the shoreditch area). it was well situated in a trendy part of shoreditch and had shoreditch overground station just around the corner. the main tube station nearby was liverpool street, this was great for getting everywhere quickly but it was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel - not too bad but when you were heading back from a day sightseeing it seemed longer! we didn't eat or drink here so i cant comment on that, but the room was cool and quirky and we were provided with a vinyl player with a few vinyls to play which was good. we also had a decent tv. i think this hotel would be better for me to go with friends (i'm 18) as there was a social, young vibe.

Room Tip: we had a room with 2 double beds which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hey Fran,

Many Thanks for the 4 stars we really appreciate all comments made by our Guests. Its nice to hear that your a fan of London and love staying in the Shoreditch area. Next time you come and see us please check out the restaurant and our seasonal menu.

Much Love the Ace Team xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#108 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,507 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#114 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#154 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Shoreditch
Boundary Rooms & Suites
Boundary Rooms & Suites
#620 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#307 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel London Shoreditch

Property: Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Address: 100 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JQ, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in London
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#302 Family Hotel in London
#331 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ace Hotel London Shoreditch 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, a 5 star property in the historic Shoreditch neighbourhood, a hub for galleries, theaters and fashion, home of the Brick Lane market and a canvas for street artists from around the world.It’s a neighborhood with a long history of culture and industry — the first district where plays were performed in London, banned at that time in the center city, and later a center of in textile and furniture manufacture.Today’s Shoreditch is a leader in the arts, design, cuisine, culture and technology — an outpost in the global community of ideas. The design at Ace Hotel London hints at a wide range of influences from UK punk to the bold graphic style of the early 20th century Vorticist movement, to the clean Modernism of the Bauhaus.All rooms have vintage furniture, original artwork, in-room safe and flatscreen TV with Ace video-on-demand and Revo radios with Ace-curated radio stations, plus a well-stocked mini-bar and complimentary WiFI. Some rooms have turntables and a selection of vinyl and acoustic guitars.Easy access to Moorgate, Finsbury Square and Liverpool Street. Destination restaurant Hoi Polloi is by David Waddington and Pablo Flack who are restaurateurs behind Bistrotheque and Shrimpy’s. Gym is open 24 hours; the Hotel also features a Basement Bar with live gigs and DJ sets, a lobby bar, The Bulldog Edition - a coffee shop in partnership with Square Mile Coffee Roasters, an exhibition gallery, on-site juice bar, a flower shop, and 24 hours room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ace Hotel London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing