We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be lot better, with few focus areas!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ranked #387 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed there for a week and its just a place to "stay". Location is good, the rooms are clean and tidy but lacks service big time.
Everything has a price tag, there is not even a bottle of water that is provided complimentary. For the price you pay you expect some basic amenities which is missing. No one to support you with bags, check out bill was missing. When i checked they said they would send it which never came. I had to go and stand in the queue at the front-desk.
The staff is courteous, but lack the professional touch. I just hope they bridge this gap of service and the price tag to everything mentality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpradyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Rpradyumna,

Thank you for your recent review of the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, we are always grateful for any feedback that are guests provide. Primarily, because it gives us an opportunity to learn from any service hitches that our guests have encountered.

I would like to apologise for the fact that you felt that there was no assistance with luggage from our team of porters. This is not acceptable and not our standard of service. We will ensure that the team learn from this hitch to ensure that other guests do not encounter the same situation.

It was also disappointing to read about your difficulties in obtaining an invoice. Again as you quite correctly state this is a basic service standard. Our system automatically sends a copy of the invoice to the departing guest, providing the email address is present and accurate.
Additionally, we will ensure that we offer the choice of having the bill is printed out, to be fair there are some people that like to have an old school bill in their hand, (that includes me!)

Thank you so much for your honest and open review, I can assure you that we will ensure that the team learn from these hitches.

Kind Regards,

Martin Newbould
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I wanted to love the Ace, Shoreditch but a few things missed the mark.

The space itself is spot on; dynamic, great amenity, fresh and full of energy.

The rooms are small but that's OK. They have great products, good WIFI, internet radio, are very clean etc. My main issue was the "shop" style mentality of the entire hotel. Everything had a price tag and nothing was complimentary. A hotel should offer hospitality and that doesn't need to have a price tag on it. I get people might want to steal things from the room however a simple sign saying that everything can be purchased downstairs should suffice.

The issue for me was the service. It was just a little too relaxed to the point that it wasn't precise and when things got busy it was messy. The cafe was super slow, baggage took a long time.

One tip for management; there needs to be a ramp for luggage or have the bell team more proactive with spotting arriving/departing guests.

Would I stay here again? Yes. It's a fun hotel, suitable for those who like that style. The hotel is targeting a niche so if you fit that you;ll have a great stay - like i did.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank World_Traveler86AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear JamesG_1986,

Thank you so much for your review on the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, we are always grateful for any review that a guest writes about our hotel and it is always great to read a review that is as balanced as yours.

I am delighted that there were aspects of the hotel that you enjoyed such as the wifi and products. I totally understand your point about the prices, it is something that a number of reviews have pointed out and we will look at this, as you correctly pointed out we do this so everyone knows the price of the item if they do decide to take one or utilise a product. You do raise an interesting point about a sign saying it is available at reception which we can look at.

I read with interest you comment about the service being sloppy particularly when the hotel is busy which is disappointing as we do train the team to be as sharp as possible and we will refresh the team about the doormen being ready to assist with luggage as it does create a poor first impression if you have to carry your own bag.

Thank you again for your review, and I am delighted to read that you will return, we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Martin Newbould
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just stayed at Ace Shoreditch for the second time and once again it was excellent. It was our Anniversary so the hotel sent some delicious cakes and a bottle of wine to our room - a small but so appreciated gesture. We always feel looked after when we stay here. We'll definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Louchoc,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and wow five stars too, we are so chuffed, it is really kind of you to take time out to write a review and to give us such a fantastic score is really great.

We are so glad you decided to celebrate your anniversary with us, and we wish you many more happy anniversaries (hopefully with us again!)

Thank you again and see you soon!

The Ace London Shoreditch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Really cool hotel, like staying in an upmarket warehouse conversion. Chic/hip lobby with lots of people on their iPads drinking coffee. Rooms are pared back with quirky additions such as musical instruments and plastic storage boxes instead of drawers. We were upgraded, and allowed to check in at 10.00am which was wonderful after an early morning flight. Really pleasant, no hassle, staff. The bed was soooo comfortable, great quality sheets and the body wash is good quality. Only gripe is that no body lotion is supplied.
The location is good - within five minutes walk of Liverpool Street station.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Castleconnel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Castleconnel1,

Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. We always love to hear from our guests about there experience here at the Ace Hotel.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are super happy that you were able to access your room after a long flight. We always like to allow our guests to get into their rooms if they are available, our housekeeping team always try to get rooms ready as early as possible.

Thank you for the observation on the body lotion, we will look into this.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and we hope that we see you again soon

The Ace London Shoreditch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had to be in the area for a party so it suited us to stay here. Great location but the hotel isn't quite as cool as the location requires. It's ok, nothing too wrong but nothing quite right either.
Maybe they are still finding their feet and becoming who they want to be over time. Good luck to them, I hope they succeed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lovestravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Lovestravel65,

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Ace Hotel Shoreditch, we always love to hear what people think of us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us primarily for the location. We take on board that there are some things that need ironing out. We are in our first year so we do agree that there is always areas that can be improved.

We do hope that you do come back and see us in the near future to see how we have moved forward.

Thank you again for your review.

The Ace London Shoreditch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Not dissimilar to the British Library. Full of posers. Nice bar. Helpful staff. Good range of beers and other drinks.

Our friends who we met and were staying at the hotel said the rooms were lovely and well laid out, albeit with low lying beds!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Excellency F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi Excellency F,

Thank you so much for your review of the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch. We always love to hear from form our guests.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the bar, it really does have a wonderful atmosphere especially at night and there is a fantastic selection of DJ's that play every night.

We are pleased to hear that your friends enjoyed their stay, we hope that you return very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Ace London Shoreditch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I agree with the reviewer below that this is more of a good youth hotel than a proper hotel. I couldn;t have put it better myself. Which is fine maybe if you're in your 20's and don't know any better. I'm in my 40's and have stayed in 100's of 4 and 5 star hotels and this is one of the worst I've stayed in. They failed on every level.

The room was dirty, the decor stark and soulless. I'm all for minimalism but there's a difference between minimalism and depressing prison-like decor they just don't seem to get.

I had high hopes on seeing the lobby and communal areas but the rooms just don;t measure up. Horrid vibe, I couldn't wait to leave. Room service was slow, food cold (my partner sent her dish back which they were snooty about), and the front desk just couldn't be bothered.

Stay at the Andaz or the S Place Hotel; this just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Damien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Darren G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always love to hear feedback from our guests and we always see any feedback as a positive ads it helps us to improve any areas that are reported as an example of poor service.

We appreciate that the décor of the hotel may not be to everyone's taste like good food and wine it is very subjective and everyone has their opinion and we totally respect everyone's perspective.
It is concerning to read about the attitude you encountered from the teams in Room Service and at the Front Desk. I can assure you that we do not accept snooty or unresponsive service and the teams will be spoken to ensure that such poor service is not repeated.

I would like to thank you again for highlighting these glitches in service and I can assure you that they won't be repeated.

Kind Regards,

Martin Newbould
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#93 of 1,076 in London
4,827 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#562 of 1,076 in London
84 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#155 of 1,076 in London
496 reviews
East End / East London
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#121 of 1,076 in London
695 reviews
Shoreditch
The Curtain
The Curtain
#442 of 1,076 in London
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel London Shoreditch

Address: 100 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JQ, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Business Hotel in London
#269 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £135 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ace Hotel London Shoreditch 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, a 5 star property in the historic Shoreditch neighbourhood, a hub for galleries, theaters and fashion, home of the Brick Lane market and a canvas for street artists from around the world.It’s a neighborhood with a long history of culture and industry — the first district where plays were performed in London, banned at that time in the center city, and later a center of in textile and furniture manufacture.Today’s Shoreditch is a leader in the arts, design, cuisine, culture and technology — an outpost in the global community of ideas. The design at Ace Hotel London hints at a wide range of influences from UK punk to the bold graphic style of the early 20th century Vorticist movement, to the clean Modernism of the Bauhaus.All rooms have vintage furniture, original artwork, in-room safe and flatscreen TV with Ace video-on-demand and Revo radios with Ace-curated radio stations, plus a well-stocked mini-bar and complimentary WiFI. Some rooms have turntables and a selection of vinyl and acoustic guitars.Easy access to Moorgate, Finsbury Square and Liverpool Street. Destination restaurant Hoi Polloi is by David Waddington and Pablo Flack who are restaurateurs behind Bistrotheque and Shrimpy’s. Gym is open 24 hours; the Hotel also features a Basement Bar with live gigs and DJ sets, a lobby bar, The Bulldog Edition - a coffee shop in partnership with Square Mile Coffee Roasters, an exhibition gallery, on-site juice bar, a flower shop, and 24 hours room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ace Hotel London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing