We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-enjoying”
Review of Seven Dials Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seven Dials Hotel
Ranked #698 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
202 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Re-enjoying”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

When you go back to the same hotel within less than a year's time, that really indicates a satisfied customer. This time again, we had the nicest time in this middle-of-life situated small cosy hotel. Due to the crowded season, there was some misunderstanding in the type of the room we had requested for, and so the first night's sleep was almost all ruined owing to the wobbly soft bed for two; but then the next day we were moved to its annexe big room with twin firm beds. The breakfast has improved since the last time. If you are carrying big heavy bags, be ready to take those up to your room negotiating through narrow steep stairs - oh my knees....

Room Tip: Annexe rooms are wonderful, and avoid room 8 which is too small and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SureshDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    140
    119
    32
    29
See reviews for
84
134
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkeston, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My room was very small - stated to be a double for single occupation - but really was what you'd expect for a small single. The decor was almost non-existent with no frills in the room although TV and a small kettle were provided. The wardrobe was very wobbly, the bathroom was clean but the fully tiled floor looked like it had not seen any bleach for some time. The lavatory seat and other fittings seemed to be the cheapest that could be found. In general the hotel seemed not to have had any upgrade apart from some new paint on the walls since the mid-1980's. The whole place shows a significant lack of investment over the last several years. Breakfast was served in the small basement restaurant room and was quite adequate but I would say no more than that. The room was surprisingly quiet with no internal noise, the bed was comfortable but unfortunately a neighbour started on his d.i.y. at 4am, which spoiled things a bit!
I try to be honest in my reviews and with that in mind I would not recommend this hotel as good enough for a break with your significant other, particularly for a romantic few days. If all you want is a bed for the night in a very good location then it would be ok. You certainly wouldn't want to spend much time in your room.
The Seven Dials area is a vibrant and diverse place and would make a good location for any visit to the centre of London. There are some good bars / restaurants, shops and pubs within walking distance. This hotel is ideally situated, but parking may be a problem due to the one-way and pedestrianised roads.
I wouldn't have been quite so hard on this hotel if I thought I'd had a bargain, but £120 a night for effectively a single room with a double bed sounds a bit expensive to this country yokel. I have had very much better from the likes of Premier Inn in London recently for not much more. Would I stay here again? I wouldn't dismiss it, but this wouldn't be my first choice next time.

Room Tip: Street noise could be a problem so ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasco65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Have just come back from a 4 night stay at this hotel with my husband. Before booking I had read the hotel's website and comments from people who had previously stayed here so had a good idea what to expect. The room was small but had everything we needed and both the bedroom and en suite were spotlessly clean and there was always hot water and everything worked. One side of the bed was up against the wall but this did not bother us but could be a problem to older or less mobile people. We only once met anyone on the stairs but it did not cause a problem for us to back up to the landing. The staff were all very friendly and the English breakfast was excellent. The location was great and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweetie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I took my mom for her first trip to the UK. We arrived at the Seven Dials hotel, and were taken aback by the itty bitty lobby. But hotels over there are small. We were then told that our room was on the 4th floor (which is UP 4 floors, so really it's the 5th floor.) There is a tiny spiral staircase, with narrow stairs and no handrail. My mom is 63 and disabled. We were not given any warning. After failing to find a room elsewhere, we were forced to stay here. Mom did her very best to handle the stairs, but it was tremendously dangerous and painful, and took forever. The room was tiny, but it has two windows that opened a few inches. I decided that I couldn't allow my my to navigate those stairs, so when the front desk girl offered my a room down 2 floors, we took it. We were lead down a very narrow hallway (after hauling our bags down the stairs) that i really think had been recently re-varnished or something, because it was the most toxic air I've ever breathed, and into a closet... I mean, "room," with one window that didn't open, and faced a BRICK WALL. I sat down and tried to get acclimated, but ended up having a pretty severe claustrophobic meltdown. We ended up going back to the top floor.
SO- if you really want to stay here- consider these things. Have one very light bag, no physical restrictions whatsoever, terrific balance, and tolerance of tiny spaces with restricted, toxic air.
Oh, and the one girl that speaks English is only there once a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room. Ask for a functional window with a view other than a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xxDeebsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have recently stayed at this hotel whilst visiting london to see the jersey boys . It is a small clean friendly hotel .we found the breakfast buffet to be good and filling. The rooms are small but we didn't go to london to sit in our room all day . The room was spotlessly clean and towels were changed everyday .The tea and coffee was replenished daily the only problem is there is no lift so any one with walking difficulty would find it tiring to climb the narrow steep staircase .You pay for the location here it's right in the middle of the theatres shops and a 2 minute walk to convent garden . For the price we paid I think it was very reasonable .We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely book to stay here again . I don't know why some of the reviews were bad . If you want luxury and big bedrooms go elsewhere. If you want clean ,friendly and a place to lay your head after seeing the sights of london this is the place for you .Well done seven dials hope to see you in the future

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for the back rooms .i imagine the front rooms are noisy .Hey it's l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnoldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASHINGTON
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great location within an easy walk from Leicester Square underground. Stayed for one night and thought it was a good deal at GBP 115 booked through booking.com. Room is very small but did have a small, flat screen tv, coffee service, small wardrobe, and bathroom. The double bed took up most of the space in the room. The room was located on the fourth floor--be forewarned, there are no elevators and the staircase is very small. The breakfast was good though limited. The girls who worked the breakfast were very nice and took great care to ensure that everything was kept well stocked.

Room Tip: If walking up flights of stairs is an issue, request a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hynesdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

But don't bring your cat if you are prone to swinging it - the rooms aren't big enough for that. Small sized double room that proved fine for 2 people for 2 nights. We were on the top floor (3) but the stairs were no drama, sounded worse than they were. Good English breakfast and toast. Nice family run place and gay friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philbert83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#203 of 1,067 in London
656 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#124 of 1,067 in London
131 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,067 in London
1,626 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#252 of 1,067 in London
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Dials Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Dials Hotel

Property: Seven Dials Hotel
Address: 7 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #698 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Dials Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Seven Dials Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Dials Hotel
Seven Dials London
Hotel Seven Dials

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing