We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills But Great Price & Perfect Location”
Review of Seven Dials Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seven Dials Hotel
Ranked #695 of 1,067 Hotels in London
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No Frills But Great Price & Perfect Location”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile


I knew the Seven Dials B&B wasn't going to be the most fancy of places to stay... and it wasn't! But it was in the perfect location for London theatreland & everything I needed for just the one evening when I knew I might return from a late night out a little worse for wear & not caring about the niceties you might find in more swanky establishments! Most importantly, the bathroom & bedding was clean (although the bedspread which covered the bed had seen better days & some of the fixtures & fittings were a little shabby)... but it WAS clean & I would probably stay again if the purpose of my trip was for another late night on the lash!!!

When I first entered my single room, I was dismayed to find that it smelled of the previous occupants' stale sweat... luckily, almost straight after checking in, I went out to meet my friends for a night at the theatre, so I had the opportunity to open a window and leave the bathroom fan switched on while I was out that evening... the room simply needed to be aired. I guess a little air freshener wouldn't go amiss here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    141
    119
    32
    29
See reviews for
84
134
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at the seven dials hotel in march. A very pleasant couple greeted us on arrival and asked if we would like an up grade at no extra cost in the annex which was in a separate building a couple of streets away in endell street. It was easy to find ,on the third floor,though you have to negotiate a narrow stairway,but that wasn't a problem for us,but might be for those with mobility difficulties,as there is no lift. We were pleasantly surprised to find a large room with a small double bed and 2 singles,a wardrobe,a desk,a couple of chairs and a kettle with tea and coffee.The bathroom was very small but worked perfectly well. Everything was clean and we slept well. Breakfast was back at the main hotel in a small dining room in the basement,breakfast was self service and limited due to space but what was on offer was cooked well and set us up for the day. Only stayed one night but would happily stay again, it's handy for covent garden,the west end,oxford street,etc

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a VERY Basic hotel in a superb location and very low price for the area.

We live in West London but are elderly and had tickets for Prince Igor at the Coliseum one evening and the Donmar Warehouse for a matinee the next day...so we decided to stay in town. It was a great decision, as we were relaxed, able to spend time in the National Portrait gallery and a free lunchtime concert at St Martins in the Fields, and do our two theatre visits, all within short walking distances.

This tells you the main thing about this hotel is its superb location in Monmouth Stret on the west side of Covent Garden, just 4 doors away from the highly recommended Mon Plaisir, which is the oldest French restaurant in London and provides a splendid inexpensive pre-theatre dinner. Covent Garden's main nightlife and market are just round the corner.

Because of our ages, I requested a room on a lower floor and we were given Number 2 which had a single and a double bed. Very Spartan, with no pictures in the walls, a tiny shower room, and no toiletries except cheap soap........BUT it did have a small TV, hairdryer, and tea and coffee making facilities [powdered creamer rather than milk.]

Breakfast was pretty awful, but if you are on a budget you could fill up. No fruit, yoghourt, rolls or pastries. The usual 'full English' though not well cooked congealed eggs and terrible sausages, and very plastic bread.

BUT the staff were uniformly charming and given the location, I would stay here again, but not for more than 1 night. Much recommended for those wanting a budget hotel right in the centre of things.

We were in the front of the hotel overlooking Monmouth Street but slept soundly, with little noise outside. Curtains were not black out, but we had airplane eye masks.

Room Tip: Four flights of narrow stairs so try to get a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeCoucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My daughter and I visited London specifically to go to the Cambridge Theatre to see Matilda and then to see Billy Elliot the next day. The hotel was in a superb place, with only a 5 minute walk up to the theatre and Covent Garden just round the corner. Our room was on the 4th floor with no lift which meant climbing up very narrow stairs. The room was small but spotlessly clean. The ensuite bathroom was absolutely fine as well. I dont think that the double bed was a proper double though and we had to squeeze past each other to get around the room. We had left it too late to book a twin room! The breakfast was lovely, very hot and plentiful. We hadnt planned to spend any time in the room so for us it was a superb location, very clean and at the right price. The staff were very helpful as well. I would certainly stay here again but in twin room.

Room Tip: I would book a twin room if you travelling as a couple as the bed seemed really quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in the Annex around the corner above an estate agents. Stairs are very narrow, not suitable for the elderly or a family with very young children.

We were four ladies and found it very comfortable and suitable for our needs. We were spending 4 days in London for my daughters 18th and preferred to spend our money on enjoying ourselves rather than fancy accommodation.

The Annex was tidied up each day which we didn't expect.

Breakfast was nice and satisfactory although the sausages were a bit strange.

Left luggage was in reception which we were not happy with so we took our bags to Kings cross station.

The hotel was friendly and in an excellent location, if your looking for a budget hotel in the middle of Covent Garden, this is the one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools6715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for ten nights and we were extremely pleased with the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent location, right near the live theatre district.
The only let downs we had was that the room was quite small, and when we pulled out the rolling bed we could barely get around. The other problem for us, being vegetarians, was breakfast. It was buffet-style but there wasn't a great selection for vegetarians, and after ten mornings, it became quite boring. But it is well worth it for the price. It covers everything you need for what you pay for.
On our check out date, we weren't leaving London until the evening, and the staff let us leave our luggage in the hotel, which was very thoughtful of them and something they definitely weren't entitled to do.
I would definitely recommend staying here. We would definitely stay again when travelling back to London.

Room Tip: We had one facing the street (which was always busy and lit up but we liked that), but if you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First the good bits.
Cheap for London at £120.00 per night.
Right in the centre in Covent Garden just off Shaftsbury Avenue.
Breakfast buffet style as much as you want.
The not so good.
Most room are up very steep narrow stair over 3 floors.
Our room number 5 on first floor very small with i think 4ft double bed.
Very small toilet with not even enough room for a toilet roll holder.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rturner2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#206 of 1,067 in London
657 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#108 of 1,067 in London
132 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#347 of 1,067 in London
1,626 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#254 of 1,067 in London
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Dials Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Dials Hotel

Property: Seven Dials Hotel
Address: 7 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #695 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Dials Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Seven Dials Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Dials Hotel
Seven Dials London
Hotel Seven Dials

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing