We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Friendly”
Review of Seven Dials Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seven Dials Hotel
Ranked #697 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy and Friendly”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We only stayed 1 night for a Theatre Break but found this Hotel extremely central and reasonably priced for our purposes. The staff were extremely helpful and allowed us to leave our cases in the room before the cleaner arrived. The room itself was quite large and on the first floor and as we were at the back of the hotel, it was extremely quiet. Everything was fresh and clean and the ensuite had a glorious large shower. Yes, the stairs are very narrow, but we only had smallish cases so they weren't really a problem - larger cases however would be more of a scramble, especially if climbing to higher floors. The basement breakfast room is quite cosy with an adequate full english on offer - not so much of yoghurts and fruits etc if that is more your style, but we thoroughly enjoyed our cooked preference anyway. An ideal site if you want to be central for theatres and shops in general and we will certainly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet then definitely ask for a room at the back - we could have heard a pin drop fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eclizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    140
    119
    32
    29
See reviews for
84
134
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Motueka New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

When we found our room up a very narrow stairway, we thought it was a wardrobe but no this tiny room was so smal getting our limmited ammount of luggage and ourselves into this tight space was a work of contortion. The shower and toilet were good. The staff were very friendly and a solid full English breakast was part of the deal. The location in Covent Gardens is an excellent sitation.But a hotel such as this I feel is capitalising on their location and overpricing.

Room Tip: There are Large Hotels in the area now charging a little more, check these out before booking this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerQ992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic. I have stayed in a lot of different places in London (bottom and top end) and generally speaking, you get what you pay for. So I was a bit hesitant when I found Seven Dials at such a reasonable price. I was v pleasantly surprised. My friend and I stayed in the 'family room'. Double and a single bed with plenty of floor space (v unusual in London!) and a cosy ensuite : ) the room was fresh, clean and looked recently renovated. Located on 3rd floor (no lift and tight stairwell) made carting luggage tricky. Breakkie pretty basic. But otherwise, this place is in great location (esp if you intend to go to some shows). Would stay there again in a flash! Go to Bill's for breakkie and/or lunch! It's awesome!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KandDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurenlos, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a 4 day stay at the Seven Dials Hotel and once again it was great. We had room nr•12, which was big enough for the 2 of us! You have all the comfort but just on a smaller scale! The hotel is located in the coolest and nicest area of the city. You are only a 5 minute walk away from Leicester Square and Covent Garden. You can shop till you drop, enjoy great food and drinks, meet awesome people,... I would recommend it to everyone! This is the best!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophietje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Excellent position in the very heart of London. A few steps from Covent Garden and Shaftesbury Avenue.
The rooms are small but clean and tidy, breakfast is good and satisfactory. Mind the steps! There is no lift, so it can be hard to carry your luggage to the top floor. However, it is a good hotel and one of the best I found in London.

Room Tip: The bathroom of the ground floor is larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile


I knew the Seven Dials B&B wasn't going to be the most fancy of places to stay... and it wasn't! But it was in the perfect location for London theatreland & everything I needed for just the one evening when I knew I might return from a late night out a little worse for wear & not caring about the niceties you might find in more swanky establishments! Most importantly, the bathroom & bedding was clean (although the bedspread which covered the bed had seen better days & some of the fixtures & fittings were a little shabby)... but it WAS clean & I would probably stay again if the purpose of my trip was for another late night on the lash!!!

When I first entered my single room, I was dismayed to find that it smelled of the previous occupants' stale sweat... luckily, almost straight after checking in, I went out to meet my friends for a night at the theatre, so I had the opportunity to open a window and leave the bathroom fan switched on while I was out that evening... the room simply needed to be aired. I guess a little air freshener wouldn't go amiss here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at the seven dials hotel in march. A very pleasant couple greeted us on arrival and asked if we would like an up grade at no extra cost in the annex which was in a separate building a couple of streets away in endell street. It was easy to find ,on the third floor,though you have to negotiate a narrow stairway,but that wasn't a problem for us,but might be for those with mobility difficulties,as there is no lift. We were pleasantly surprised to find a large room with a small double bed and 2 singles,a wardrobe,a desk,a couple of chairs and a kettle with tea and coffee.The bathroom was very small but worked perfectly well. Everything was clean and we slept well. Breakfast was back at the main hotel in a small dining room in the basement,breakfast was self service and limited due to space but what was on offer was cooked well and set us up for the day. Only stayed one night but would happily stay again, it's handy for covent garden,the west end,oxford street,etc

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#207 of 1,067 in London
656 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#106 of 1,067 in London
131 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,067 in London
1,626 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#254 of 1,067 in London
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Dials Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Dials Hotel

Property: Seven Dials Hotel
Address: 7 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #697 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Seven Dials Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Seven Dials Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Dials Hotel
Seven Dials London
Hotel Seven Dials

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing