We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Notting Hill”
Review of The Main House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Main House
Ranked #47 of 577 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Main House from for a week in April 2014. We had a lovely time! Caroline was a very kind and knowledgeable host, and her staff was extremely kind. The room was quiet, comfortable and very large! Coffee every morning was hot and served on time (you can specify the time) in a lovely silver serving tray. It was a fun way to wake up every morning. It was very affordable and the location was convenient. There were tons of restaurants to eat at within walking distance and the metro was about a 10 minute walk. There was also the Portobello Market about a 2 minute walk from the hotel, which was We can't wait to stay again next time we come to London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambereen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

For independent travelers this is the rare gem that you have been searching for in London. We stayed for six nights in the top floor suite, with separate bedroom, sitting room and bathroom. It was clean, comfortable, charming and spacious. Safe, quiet location, close to Portobello Road, restaurants, bus lines and a ten minute walk to the tube. Very good value for the money. You will be provided with morning tea, free wifi, a hair dryer, voltage converter, and access to a small central fridge. Bring your own bath soap and shampoo.
Caroline Main is an absolute delight. She arranged airport pickup for us, suggested restaurants, places off the tourist path to go explore, loaned us a local cell phone and made our stay memorable. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhgraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We got engaged in London exactly 50 years ago, and the occasion called for another visit to this amazing city. We discovered The Main House in Notting Hill which proved an absolute strike of luck.

Caroline, the super-friendly proprietress of this very pretty little English house already welcomed us on arrival, later gave us much appreciated tips for restaurants and was simply very pleasant to talk to.
We had the second floor to us; a big living-/bedroom appointed with beautiful old English furniture and a large bathroom (with tub).
There are several very good breakfast options about three minutes away (by foot), with a selection of the most delicious items.
The house is located very quiet yet central in the elegant and „hip“ Notting Hill area, very close to famous Portobello Road where especially (but not only) on Saturdays a number of stands offer the most strange and wonderful things.
Line 23 Bus stops just around the corner. Highly recommended to get into the city „overground“ – with sightseeing for free.
Those who want to travel faster take the Underground from Notting Hill Gate station, about a ten-minute walk away.
We are still very happy to have found this perfect accomodation - and charming Caroline. (Our sons had the idea to have some surprise flowers waiting for us in our rooms, and Caroline easily arranged even that in a perfectly uncomplicated way).
We will be very happy to be back!

Christa & Fried

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisHa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed at The Main House twice now and am already looking forward to my next visit. Proprietor Caroline Main goes out of her way to make sure the time you spend in her lovely B&B is comfortable and enjoyable. The tastefully decorated rooms are huge and the Notting Hill location can not be beat. If you are looking for a bland Holiday Inn with wall-to-wall carpet and stodgy furnishings, don't bother as you will be disappointed here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our family had the opportunity to stay in the beautifully appointed antique style accommodation called The Main House in Notting Hill over the Chiristmas period in December 2013. This was our first visit from Australia in almost 20 years and fell in love with the house from the second we walked through the front door. This house was old worldy and made you feel at home the second you walked through the front door and had everything that anyone could possibly desire and the early morning wake up call complete with antique silver service very hot pot of tea and pot of coffee were a treasure to receive. The rooms were very clean and beds were extremely comfortable and rooms very warm and cosy without being too hot during the winter months. The owner Caroline and her staff were truly lovely and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them right down to booking evening meals at local restaurants to meet our requirements., We will remember Caroline and The Main House for years to come and would without hesitation highly recommend this accommodation for the perfect place to stay in Notting Hill. LOOK NO FURTHER!!! from Sylv, Fred, Mark, Barbie & Ryan from Brisbane, Qld, Australia

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem mention this to Caroline when booking so that she can ensure the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillcockFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Main House. The rooms had a lot of charm. The bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect for our purposes: the Tube station was less than 10 minutes away, there were nice restaurants close by and a grocery store a few blocks away. Caroline and Liisa were perfect hostesses and we loved morning coffee delivered to our room. She even arranged for a car service to take us to the airport. We'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had great expectations for the Main House. The location is brilliant and couldn't be better. When we arrived Caroline greeted us very graciously. Our room was on the top floor. It was clean. And the bathroom was always cleaned. There were some disappointments however. The room wasn't vacuumed the entire week we were there; the towels were rather thin and not changed either; the bed linens weren't changed (and I wouldn't expect daily changes at a B&B - but perhaps once in the middle of the stay would have been appreciated); and the mattress was poor giving no support. The only soap made available appeared to be watered down liquid soap - maybe it wasn't watered down but the consistency was curious. (We bought some soap.) Our last night we arrived back to the house and the owner was having a party - no problem there - she is the owner - she should be able to have a party. But the front hallway was thick with cigarette smoke which dissipated somewhat, but was still very present by the fourth floor. I am very allergic to cigarette smoke and spent a sleepless coughing night. Truly not what we expected. Such as shame.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oliverc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#338 of 1,076 in London
1,588 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#457 of 1,076 in London
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#74 of 1,076 in London
2,905 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#318 of 1,076 in London
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Main House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Main House

Address: 6 Colville Road | Notting Hill, London W11 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £110 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Main House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing