We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but not in a bad way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Ranked #346 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

It seems a bit mean to describe this hotel as average because it was entirely fine and I would not mind staying here again. But it was also rather dull and functional. The room was ok but not particularly large. The decor was reasonable but a little shabby in places. The (included) breakfast was nice enough but not particularly exciting. It was all just rather average: Like a Premier Inn but a little more drab yet with free WiFi and breakfast. We paid £100. For that, it's reasonable value. I would not want to pay more. The location is, however, very good, if you like the South Bank. A short walk from Tate Modern and the Globe Theatre. 5 minutes from London Bridge, Borough Market and The Shard. On the bus route (or a 20 min walk) from Waterloo. Ask for a room overlooking The Shard. The view is nicer but, more importantly, it's away from the main road and very quiet (or, at least, it was when we stayed there).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you very much for your review. Constructive feedback from our guests is invaluable to us in our constant efforts to assess and improve the services we provide.I was glad to read that you have enjoyed the view to the Shard from your room and the hotel location.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon again.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had booked two rooms - a Standard Room with Queen bed for the grandparents & a Suite with Queen bed + convertible sofa for ourselves & our daughter - The quality of the rooms was excellent

However the service was very poor - despite being told our room would be ready to check in at 12:00 it wasn't ready when we arrived at 12:45 so we had to leave our bags in the grandparents room until we got back later in the afternoon

We had asked for our two rooms to be on the same floor so our daughter could visit her grandparents without having to use the lift - we were told this wasn't possible

We had theatre tickets booked for 7:30 so we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant before catching the tube to the theatre - however the service was very slow & even after asking the waitress to see how long the food was going to be we were told it was going to be another 10 minutes. Eventually when the food arrived although myself & my wife were happy with ours the grandparents weren't happy with theirs as it was cold

Due to it taking so long we eventually had to call for a taxi as we were running so late - a cost we weren't expecting as we had planned on using our tube tickets

The following morning at breakfast the queue was very long as quite frankly the size of the seating area was inadequate for a hotel of this size. We found the continental breakfast to be very limited in choice - we found out after finishing our meal that we could have ordered a cooked breakfast for £5 extra but this wasn't mentioned at any point before breakfast!

All in all the standard & cleanliness of the room & hotel was excellent but the service was very poor

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yousaf Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review you posted on here. I am glad you found our rooms to be exllent but disappointed to read that the service was very poor. This lack of customer service is not acceptable and I assure you that your comments with the staff member concerned. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

You get what you expect from a budget chain of hotels. Rooms are clean and comfy. There's free wifi. Breakfast is included but is only Continental. The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Only 5 minutes from Borough Market. It also has parking for £25 per 24 hours which is useful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazzle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Sazzle, Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and mainly the location of the Ibis Styles Southwark Rose Hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I would avoid this hotel next time. When we checked in to the family suite, the room only had beds for three and not four. After waiting to get the room swapped, the blind in the bedroom would not work and the bathroom had mould in it. We raised this with reception to be told they would speak with the manager the next morning. Nothing was done and we had no privacy in the bedroom all weekend. On the first night we went to the restaurant to be told they don't have a children's menu. Why have a hotel that takes children to not cater for them. We could connect to the Wifi that we paid for, but the speeds are to slow to do anything with it, so we just used our phones. When I got home, I phoned and e-mailed to complain and I am still waiting for a reply today. I would not stay in another Accord group hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keiran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Keiran, Thank you for posting your thought on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay with us but please rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We are looking into the matter, but feel free to contact me on 020 70151480 or email me on h7465-gm@accor.com to discuss this further. Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

what a fantastic hotel. loved every minute of it. nothing bad to say. fantastic value. close to two train stations and within easy walking distance to all attractions. great food places within a 20 min walk. will definitely stay here again. had an awesome time

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie1961255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Debbie, Thank you very much for such a nice review following your recent stay at Ibis Styles Southwark Rose Hotel. All the team is glad to read that you had an awsome time and we all look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel was a bit further away than I would have liked, but it was worth the walk.
Staff were friendly and hotel was well presented.
The room was big and had everything I needed. Bathroom was also large, however the shower was small.
Breakfast was continental, and a bit cheap and chearful, but not too bad.
Downside was there was no express checkout and there was a long wait.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you so Much for the nice review you posted here. We hope to welcome you back again soon to Ibis Styles Southwark Rose Hotel. Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank holtkln
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#253 of 1,077 in London
2,222 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#312 of 1,077 in London
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#269 of 1,077 in London
3,442 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose

Address: 43-47 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England (Formerly All Seasons)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Family Hotel in London
#269 Romantic Hotel in London
#334 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £87 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles London Southwark Rose (formerly all seasons) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwark Rose London
Hotel Southwark Rose
Southwark Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing