We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, poor housekeeping and maintenance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Ranked #346 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good location, poor housekeeping and maintenance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

the location is excellent. staff at the reception is very polite. the breakfast choice is average, but it makes no change in the choice throughout our 9 days' stay there. it would be much better if some hot food is provided.
The curtain at the window could not prevent the light to come in at dawn, as it is just white in colour. There is also nothing inside the shower tube where we can put our shower gel, shampoo and conditioner on. We have to put all of them on the floor when we takes our bath.
The worst part of this hotel, however, lies in its hosekeepig and maintence. After we checked in, we found that there are all together three bulbs in the room that were out of order. when reflected, the staff can manage to change one of it only. the hanger for paper rolls inside the toilet was loosen in such a way it cannot maintain horizontal all the time, making the paper roll dropping onto the floor very easily. The air conditioner was very noisy, probably owing to the fact that the window from which cold air comes out did not fix well, making it moving whenever the air conditioner was opened. All these in fact can settle very easily, should they make some regular checks on the room condition, particularly before they handed in the room to the guests.
I was also much upset to find that their free wi-fi was out of order during my stay there. it was extremely inconvinient to us, as it is exactly the time we need to do online check in for our return flight!!
Regarding the housekeeping, i must say it's terrible and probaly the worst one I have ever encountered among the various hotels i have visited before. More than once when we returned to hotel in the evenings, we found there were hairs on the floor and at the wall of the shower tube in the toilet. They seldom replaced the used and dirty cups with clean ones, or at least clean them up and put them back to the tray. I had made a complaint on the third day of my stay. They responded by giving me two additional clean cups, without taking away the dirty ones. In the subsequent days, there were four cups inside my room, all used, again with no one provided any clean cups . When I made the second complaint at the seventh day of my stay, they apologized and suggested to take another two clean cups to my room again!! I refused immediately, as they have never thought of improving the situation, and their coping strageties could only result in having many many used and dirty cups laying everywhere in the room only!! The only housekeeping they had done, in fact, is to tidy up the bed sheets and to replace the used towels with new ones.
I have been in budget hotel before, and i found this one the worst. I would recommend premeir inn or holiday inn express, which also offer compatiable price, but with much more better qualities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13312345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for bringing to my attention the difficulties you encountered during your recent stay at Ibis Styles Southwark Rose Hotel. Firstly, please accept my most sincere apologies for the unacceptable inconveniences experienced during your stay at the hotel. I am to say the least extremely disappointed to hear of the problems you had during your stay at the Ibis Styles.
As you will see from other reviews, we pride ourselves on our excellent and high standards, however on this occasion we seem to have failed to meet them in many aspects. Please be assured that I have now had the opportunity to discuss your concerns with my team. Your comments have been passed on to Housekeeper and Maintanance Manager, who thoroughly investigated the matter. Corrective training has been given to the staff on duty, and I can assure you that appropriate actions have been taken to prevent similar situations from occurring in the future.
Feel free to contact me on H7465-FO@ACCOR.COM if you would like to discuss the matter further.
Kind regards
Egle McLaughlin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    924
    251
    50
    29
See reviews for
389
690
120
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Pretty new hotel near the TATE Modern. Close to London Bridge and Borough Market. Ibis style rooms. Bed is comfortable. A bit less of average the breakfast choice. Holidays Inn Express one is better. Good for a weekend in London and if you have a car to park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear if you want a quiet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Michele B,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us at the Ibis Styles Southwark, sorry to hear that the breakfast choice was limited, we are more than happy to listen to suggestions of what to add to breakfast, please drop me a line with your suggestions on H7465-FO@ACCOR.COM.
Hope to see you again at Ibis Styles Lodnon Southwark Rose Hotel.

Best Regards,
Egle McLaughlin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a great stay at the Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose. Easy to get to on tube. Excellent location next to the Thames. Rode the Boris bikes all over London and if you use for less than half an hour each trip was free. Breakfast was very good. If you want the fruit best to get to breakfast early. Can hear some background traffic noise but s/be ok unless light sleeper.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Paul T,

Thank you for your kind comment following your stay. I am more than happy to see that you enjoyed your fruit at breakfast and had fun on one of London’s many Boris Bikes, I have been on one myself and they are good fun especially in the good weather.
Hope to see you again at Ibis Styles.

Best Regards,
Egle McLaughlin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and paid £87 a night for bed and breakfast, having booked a few weeks in advance. The hotel is ideally located for visiting central London. Bankside is a five-minute walk, as is the nearest underground station. The room was small but bright and clean. The continental breakfast included cold meats and cheese and a good selection of pastries. The room we were in was at the back of the hotel and there was very little noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywalker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for the lovely comments and we are all glad you liked the hotel location and the good discounted rate!
We hope to welcome you back soon to Ibis Styles Southwark Rose hotel.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel can be a bit difficult to find, despite its very good location (Bus stop almost right outside, and near two tube stations), look for the Novotel next door.

The reception area was a bit motel-like, but the room was very comfortable, with a bright and spotless bathroom. The shower had the best water pressure I've encountered in Britain (just push past the "safety button")! Although some of the finishes were a bit dated (cracks between door frame and wall in the bathroom), it felt modern and clean.

The breakfast was basic, but well presented and the buffet constantly refilled.

Asked for a quiet room and got a room with a view of the Shard. Even though it was on the first floor, it was so quiet we couldn't believe we were in central London!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments your have posted. We are glad you enjoyed the pressure in the shower! We look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Southwark Rose is across the Thames from Queen Victoria Street, and is also within easy walk of Tube stations and the Globe Theatre. Taxis are constantly passing the front of the hotel, and it's less than £20 to Leicester Square, even at peak times.
The hotel itself is bright and modern, with clean rooms and comfortable beds. Every room has a desk and plenty of room for working, as well as a room safe.
The wifi provided is fine for email and surfing, and there is option of upgrading to a faster service for a fee.
Breakfast is a basic buffet, there's plenty of fruit, cereals and pastries, as well as juices and teas/coffees.
One thing to watch out for is that there's only one power outlet in the room- if you're working with tablets/laptops/smartphones, it might be a good idea to bring a power strip.

Room Tip: Double rooms are far more comfortable than twin, and rooms at the back of the hotel avoid any traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanemulcair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear reviewer, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us especially the hotel location and the space in your bedroom. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#238 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#284 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#307 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose

Property: Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Address: 43-47 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England (Formerly All Seasons)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Family Hotel in London
#270 Romantic Hotel in London
#335 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles London Southwark Rose (formerly all seasons) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwark Rose London
Hotel Southwark Rose
Southwark Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing