We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in London”
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #560 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short stay in London”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

When we arrived at the hotel the service was very prompt and were in our rooms in a matter of minutes. The room was nice and clean with a large separate bathroom. The room was below street level but was quiet. The bathroom was clean and had shampoo and shower gel provided in large containers. The bed was comfortable and the room had a small fridge with tea/coffee facilities, 2 hair dryers and a TV. Enjoyed our stay and the location is perfect for clampham common. The hotel was not expensive and was ideal for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davydart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    66
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
29
55
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BIRMINGHAM
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Needed a hotel that was both close to my son's home in Clapham and central London for the Royal Jubilee festivities and would not break the bank, either. Gateway proved to be excellent: two minutes walk from Clapham South Tube with quick access to Central London ; on the edge of Clapham Common, plenty of basic shops nearby though a bit of a problem getting breakfast. Hotel doesn't serve anything (despite saying pre-bookable breakfast available) and local cafes are non-existent int he morning. Good clean modern shower/en suite facilities; very comfortable roomy bed; could do with more wardrobe space; the fridge was most welcome. Ideal as a basic, clean "somewhere-to-sleep" etc place. Will use it again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a "de luxe" room -- they aren't, but they're fine. Remember you're payi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OXENHO0PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We went to see family in London for New Year and stayed for 4 nights at The Gateway Hotel. It was only 5 minutes walk from Clapham South Tube Station. It is also a pleasant walk along from Clapham Common Tube Station too. Our room, number 17, in the newer extension, was modern, clean and comfortable and the staff were polite and friendly. Breakfast wasn't available during our stay, but we took a 10 minute walk down to Wetherspoon's Moon under Water at Balham for breakfast. There are also several cafes there and it has convenient tube and train stations too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable but DO NOT BOOK IF YOU ARE DISABLED.
My partner is disabled and we requested a ground floor room, unfortunately the only disabled room they had was unavailable and my partner had to struggle up 2 flights of stairs.
As we were only staying one night we just put up with it but it did mean we couldn't leave the room until we were leaving.
Good hotel if you if you want somewhere cheap and near the tube station.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed two nights here recently as it was convenient for a family visit. It is close to shops, cafes and restaurants and the underground. Very friendly receptionist and we were allowed to leave luggage in our room though we were very early in arriving.
At £80 per night for a twin this was not cheap. This did not include breakfast as they were 'short staffed.' We were asked to pay on arrival as reception was not always staffed: in fact, after check in we saw no staff at all though the room was serviced. We were shown a side door which we were asked to use for entry and exit and just dropped keys in a box on departure. The room was serviceable but the chair was worn, the carpet had a hole in it and the wash basin was cracked. The hotel is close to Balham Hill which is a very busy road so were kept awake by traffic noise, frequwnr sirens and loud voices in the street. On these grounds we would not reuse.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyWebUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

great location stayed here for two nights in October , very freindly near the clapham south underground located near shops, i enjoyed my stay here it was very reasonable especially for London would highly reccomend . On a busy road but london is busy great location would definatly stay here again many thanks for a great stay at a lovely freindly hotel.

Room Tip: i would rccomend the double ensuite room very reasonable priced for london
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amzz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed here with another couple in the middle of July 2011 for 2 nights. Our friends were in Room 9 (1st floor) and we were in Room 2. Room 9 was on the front of the main building and quite bright but noisy because of the busy road outside.

Room 2 was down some narrow stairs in the basement. The smell was the first thing we noticed, a sort of musty, mouldy old ash-tray smell – I realise it’s an old building but this smell was not right. The guy who showed us to the room left us at the bottom of the stairs outside the room, handed us the key and left. When we entered the room the smell got worse, the room itself was dark, dank and dirty.

The bathroom and toilet were old, dilapidated and frighteningly filthy, the toilet seat was broken and hanging half off. The shower was an ancient “over the bath” type with a grimy head which gave out a trickle of water directly over the taps so water sprayed everywhere. The bedroom was no better, the walls were mouldy and this was badly hidden by a coat of white paint. There were thick and dusty cobwebs in every corner and on the light fittings. Then there was the very nice welcome gift of a dead mouse in the middle of the carpet.

We went back to reception to request a room change and were told that there were no other rooms available that night but we could change on the 2nd night, but they would, very kindly, remove the mouse! When we pointed out that this was not acceptable the guy called his manager, we were then offered the choice of a) having the room for free or b) they would call another hotel and get us in there for 1 night. As there were no vacancies anywhere else and we were staying with another couple we decided to stick with what we had. We were told that the room was due for refurbishment and that the building was old. I have no idea how this justifies the poor cleanliness of the room – it costs nothing to clean something properly especially when you are asking someone for £75 a night for the privilege of staying there! In all the staff did not seem that bothered or surprised by what we were reporting.

We went out relatively early and spent the rest of the evening in the bar/ restaurant, The Avalon, next door, which I would thoroughly recommend! The nights sleep was not very good at all as the fridge in the room made a lot of noise and kept us awake as did the thought of more mice creeping about the room!

The next day we went out early and returned late to avoid spending any more time in the room, we found that all our things had been moved to Room 6 even though we had not asked them to do this. Room 6 was a vast improvement on Room 2 it was small but brighter and with a shower cubicle. However our room did have a Power cut because we put the extractor fan on for the shower. The room was still not the cleanest but was better than before. The room was also at the front of the hotel near the main road which was very noisy with lots of buses stopping outside. Don’t get me wrong I didn’t expect peace and tranquillity this close to central London but the windows seemed to keep none of the noise out.

One thing this hotel has going for it was the location, 5 mins from Clapham South tube station and Clapham Common with lots of local shops and places to eat.

This place is worse than Fawlty Towers, at least that was probably cleaner! For a hotel in the country’s capital you expect better standards, I can’t imagine what impression this must give to tourists staying here visiting London. Safe to say we will never ever stay here again and will not be recommending it to friends and family.

Negatives: Dirty, noise, dead mouse

Positives: Location

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here make sure you dont end up in rooms 1 or 2 in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hobnobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Balham
Travelodge London Balham
#339 of 1,069 in London
540 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#105 of 1,069 in London
550 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#525 of 1,069 in London
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Chelsea Guest House
#320 of 1,069 in London
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Property: The Gateway Hotel
Address: 14 Balham Hill | Clapham Common, London SW12 9EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in London
#343 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing