We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Inn
Ranked #150 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for six nights in early March 2014 in one of the Sky Suites.
The room was ideal for such a long stay having the separate lounge room, it was an ideal place to relax after adventuring out into the cold NY weather.
Breakfast service was relaxed and enjoyable. In room dining was good, but the selection was a little restricted.
The concierge was friendly and very supportive; helped us with theatre bookings, restaurant bookings and cars. All very supportive.
The gym/fitness room was well appointed and easy to access.
This was not a cheap hotel, but it was good value and a great place to stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patto_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    61
    12
    6
    13
See reviews for
36
88
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester uk
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you want to sleep don't stay here. Although this is above a pub the room shook until 12 15 am and screaming and shouting was evident from the staff clearing up until 1 15am on complaining the following day the proprietress commentd that 1.15am was not late, he was extremely rude and impolite do not stay here I had to take a sleeping tablet also it's quite expensive, no warning of noise on website. Complaints procedure inadequate, I asked for a refund and was refused I'm very upset by their attitude

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shazb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
It is always horrible when somebody doesn't enjoy their stay with us but it is never possible to please everybody. This lady came with a baby and stayed above a pub and was informed of our monthly Saturday night live music event upon check in. Staying above a pub is vibrant and not for everybody. I am never rude any customers but refused a refund on this occasion I guess making me rude. Sorry you didn't like the inn but if you read the majority of reviews this one is not in keeping with our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I liked everything about this place: staff are super friendly and polite, they even take good care of their ever present spaniel. Room and bed were comfy and very clean, enough storage, bathroom looked tired but shower delivered with a punch!

Has a dinner here on a Saturday night and both meals were good. For Breakfast we headed to the bakery on the main street (Illy coffes, and excellent non greasy croissants, pizzas and breads, some gluten free cakes too.

After a night out we were given a warm welcome by the owner and we chilled on the sofa with a lovely glass of wine listening to good music whilst the locals are chatting and some dancing! Great way to chill out after a disappointing night out in Camden!
Quiet neighbourhood at nightime (and day time), which was perfect for us.

We explored the neighbourhood in the afternoon, residential and posh in parts. Lovely walks along Regent's park nearby and the canal, a bit of window shopping along St. John's Wood high street (lovely boutiques). Perfect way to kill a couple of hours on a sunny afternoon.

Tube station St. Johns Wood, (Jubilee Line) its within an easy 5 minute walk. Nearby Abbey Road (The famous image of The Beatles crossing the road) can be fun fjust to see motorists getting upset over tourists taking ages doing silly poses in the middle of the road!

PS Hampstead nearby its also very lovely and have some great Young's Pubs. Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubble_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Finding a decent and reasonably priced hotel in London is pretty tricky. The main brands all know how to charge and service and value for money can be hard to find. The New Inn in St. John's Wood is a Pub with rooms, a Hotel with a Pub, a Restaurant with a Pub/Hotel. You get the picture. I had the pleasure of all three. It's a good pub, a comfortable hotel (excellent large room) and my chosen New Inn Burger was one of the best I've had in a long time. I'll be back. Just need to persuade them to stock Carling.....

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Miller F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Located in a charming neighbourhood, a few minutes walk from st. John's wood metro station. This small hotel is old but charming.
Food was great, and the staff friendly and helpful.
On the first floor there is a nice restaurant \ bar which could be an advantafe, unless you're an early sleeper and can't stand the music that can be heard in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoavbenarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We loved our stay at new inn were going back February the food was excellent the staff were very friendly as well our room was amazing to had really good sleep cant wait to come back all best karen and Michael binnie x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenbinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Dropped in on the off chance that they'd have a table - they were pretty full but managed to find us a table (though I'd book in future for Sundays). Helpful staff, fast and efficient service but above all great food - fantastic Sunday roast. Not the cheapest, but good quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuccir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
#319 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
0.5 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#514 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.8 mi away
Primrose Guesthouse
Primrose Guesthouse
#51 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: 2 Allitsen Road, London NW8 6LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel and Gastropub in the heart of leafy St John’s Wood. Ideally located a stone’s throw from central London and a short walk to the nearest Underground station, The New Inn offers stylish, comfortable and affordable Double and Twin accommodation. All rooms are en suite and equipped with Freeview T.V. and WiFi. Make the most of the local area during your stay. St John’s Wood has an abundance of independent restaurants and cafes and beloved attractions such as Lord’s Cricket Ground and Regent’s Park are moments from your doorstep. Downstairs you can enjoy excellent food in relaxed and stylish surroundings. Our menu has been curated by Savoy trained owner Nick Tyrie, offering only the finest locally sourced produce. Complement your meal with one of our carefully selected wines and beers or sip from our vibrant cocktail list. Enjoy Sunday lunch soundtracked by live jazz every other week as well as a selection of other live music events, visit our website for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing