We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit rough and ready, but good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Crystal Palace
Ranked #651 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A bit rough and ready, but good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I recently stayed here for a week. I haven't stayed at a Travelodge for a while as I've preferred Premier Inns. However, I needed somewhere close to London that wasn't too expensive and it fitted the bill very well. I was driving a rental car so that made things a little easier. As normal, I tried to read as many of the reviews on tripadvisor and they helped.

Plus points:

1. The staff are young but very enthusiastic and pleasant.
2. The rooms are big.
3. As the hotel is the top four floors of an office building, the views are very good.
4. The bath towels are huge which is very comforting for a big guy like me.
5. The bed is very comfy.
6. The wifi is actually very good (despite another review) and relatively cheap. I paid only twenty quid for a whole week and the speed was superb.
7. The shower is pretty good (but see comments below).
8. The price is excellent for a place close to London.
9. The existing windows are augmented by another internal set so the noise is kept to a minimum (but see aircon comment below).
10. There seems to be plenty of parking, both undercover and open.

Negatives:

1. While you can see the Crystal Palace TV tower (and Selhurst Park) the area is Penge.
2. The general area is also pretty seedy ('Pungent Penge'?). Many immigrants. I mean, the local McDonald's even has it's own resident tramp.
3. There is only one 'decent' restaurant in Penge (the El Molino gets awful reviews these days so discount it) and that's Friends of Flavours in Green Lane. All the rest are pretty grotty. I have to admit I still don't understand the attraction of Italian food, but FoF has a nice ambience even if it is a bit expensive. (See 'survival techniques' below).
4. The Travelodge does have some irritations itself. Having also stayed at the Terminal 5 lodge (see a separate review) I feel the CP one really needs to be upgraded as follows:
a. Give us a reasonable supply of soap (like T5 where you get soap dispensers in both the main bathroom AND the shower). I resorted to buying my own Foamburst (Cussons Imperial Leather in case you wondered) to augment the 2"x1" bar of soap the TL supplied. Ridiculous.
b. Give us a simple shelf in the shower (like T5) where we can put our shampoo and soap instead of having to reach out of the thing to get the stuff and then spray water all over the floor.
c. Put weights in the bottom of the flimsy shower curtain so the damn thing stays in the shower enclosure and doesn't drip water all over the floor.
d. Make the desk a little big longer (like T5) so that it stretches across to the hanging space.
e. Give us more than one crappy shelf on which to put our clothes. I find it totally appalling that an interior decorator could not design something like this and force me to live out of my suitcase. REALLY irritating. And tacky.
f. While the parking seems quite good, it would be nice if there actually was a swipe machine outside when the shutter door is closed and you don't have to sometimes sit on the buzzer for a long time until someone realises you need to get in to park.
g. I can imagine that in the middle of whatever-passes-for-summer in the UK that it could get a bit warm so aircon might be a useful but expensive addition.

Survival techniques.

1. Get yourself a can of Foamburst for use in the shower.
2. If you want a decent evening meal then get in your car and go to Beckenham which has some good restaurants, starting with Nando's and Pizza Express as good basics.
3. Visit the local Sainsbury's for good snacks and sandwiches (and beer) to keep you going.

Would I go back?

For sure - at those prices it's still a good deal even if the interior designers need a kick up their backsides for leaving out some important details. I would have liked to give it three and a half stars but can't do that on this site.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blikskottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    124
    65
    31
    42
See reviews for
107
118
30
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Clean and as expected from a Travelodge. I would say recently renovated. Good location for access to a number of stations that take you to central London. Free parking outside. We used it to meet up with family for a birthday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

situated on good bus routes & generally good value for money, staff friendly & helpful, but we found very dirty marks on carpet, walls & ceiling! security gate to parking area didn't work, so not as secure as on previous visits.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

A very tricky build to work out, reception is on the 6th floor and the car park is on the first. Once your inside, it's ideal as security is at the highest and the staff are amazing. Never had a staff member rush to help me with my bags, nice to know that customer service still does exist. Rooms we're clean and very spacious. Only downhill would be that this hotel does not have a bar or cafe : (
Other then that, nothing to fault and would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed at Travelodge, Crystal Palace last weekend. Its not the most stylish looking building, it occupies the upper floors of a 1970 s office block resembling a KGB facility !! Its basic but clean and our room was spacious though sparse. The biggest plus is that its on a bus route with good connections to Crystal Palace bus station, and from there to Central London, and its cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel was in a good location for my stay. There was no air conditioning, the room was very hot, the window only opened a tiny bit, the rooms are so basic they fell like a prison cell. You get much better value at a Premier Inn.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank PhillHillLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Crystal Palace, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room PhillHillLondon. Unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to ensure our customers have a great comfortable sleep we do provide fans at reception. Our windows also have restrictions on in the interest of safety. We feel we provide all that is needed for a great night sleep which will include a clean and fresh room with comfortable bed, a working shower, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is convenient to train stations in both Anerley and Penge. Busses also pass the door. The hotel is very clean and quiet located in a residential area of Penge. Shops and cafes are five minutes away in Penge. Staff are friendly and competent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#275 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Crystal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Crystal Palace

Property: Travelodge London Crystal Palace
Address: 61-63 Croydon Road, London SE20 7TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #651 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Crystal Palace 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Crystal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing