We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Crystal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Crystal Palace
Ranked #650 of 1,089 Hotels in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was ideally situated for where we needed to visit. Nice big room with comfortable bed. Staff very friendly. Snacks were available 24 hours. Shower flow was excellent. This was our fourth visit and we will stay there the next time we visit London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    122
    65
    29
    41
See reviews for
105
117
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The room was comfortable, clean and the shower great. But... When we arrived we could not get anyone to answer the bell for the car park. After a stressful journey this was not ideal. There was also an annoying intermittent water pump noise in the room, not connected to our water use. However, the hotel was cheap, well placed for several trains into London and the party we were going to and we slept well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaddyandDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The customer service and cleanliness of the hotel were exceptional. The bed was very comfortable and I felt very safe. Transport links are good to East Croydon,Gatwick and Central London. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the staff are justifiably proud of it. The friendliness and professionalism of the staff really impressed me. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank wolf97Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Liked the reasonably secure off street and ample parking. Reception staff welcoming and helpful - once we found the reception area which was poorly signed from the car park. Room was clean and basically furnished. No shelve or drawers to store clothes. Hangers were insufficient for a 3 night stay and so we lived out of our cases. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the room to find a spacious, well- equipped room with all amenities. The views from the window were panoramic and could even see Canary Wharf. I was very pleased with the comfortable bed and modern bathroom facilities. Well done, Travelodge!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This place is located in a fairly run-down area, and as it has no restaurant, it is necessary to drive to find a decent meal, or to walk through a fairly undesirable area. The hotel is completely impersonal. The room furniture, apart from the comfy bed, is poor quality, cheap and nasty - one moulded plastic chair, small desk area, and no easy chairs. Hanging rail, but no drawers or wardrobe. Very small TV, with limited range of channels. Very expensive Wifi - £5 per hour! Poor quality lighting. Curtain held on rail with only four hooks. Bathroom with one tiny bar of soap - no shampoo or other toiletries, and no shower mat or towelling mat. Very slippery plastic shower tray and low grade curtain causing bathroom floor to get wet. All this for a higher cost than other hotels in the district, and far more than one would pay for a good quality 3* hotel in Spain or France!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I recently stayed here for a week. I haven't stayed at a Travelodge for a while as I've preferred Premier Inns. However, I needed somewhere close to London that wasn't too expensive and it fitted the bill very well. I was driving a rental car so that made things a little easier. As normal, I tried to read as many of the reviews on tripadvisor and they helped.

Plus points:

1. The staff are young but very enthusiastic and pleasant.
2. The rooms are big.
3. As the hotel is the top four floors of an office building, the views are very good.
4. The bath towels are huge which is very comforting for a big guy like me.
5. The bed is very comfy.
6. The wifi is actually very good (despite another review) and relatively cheap. I paid only twenty quid for a whole week and the speed was superb.
7. The shower is pretty good (but see comments below).
8. The price is excellent for a place close to London.
9. The existing windows are augmented by another internal set so the noise is kept to a minimum (but see aircon comment below).
10. There seems to be plenty of parking, both undercover and open.

Negatives:

1. While you can see the Crystal Palace TV tower (and Selhurst Park) the area is Penge.
2. The general area is also pretty seedy ('Pungent Penge'?). Many immigrants. I mean, the local McDonald's even has it's own resident tramp.
3. There is only one 'decent' restaurant in Penge (the El Molino gets awful reviews these days so discount it) and that's Friends of Flavours in Green Lane. All the rest are pretty grotty. I have to admit I still don't understand the attraction of Italian food, but FoF has a nice ambience even if it is a bit expensive. (See 'survival techniques' below).
4. The Travelodge does have some irritations itself. Having also stayed at the Terminal 5 lodge (see a separate review) I feel the CP one really needs to be upgraded as follows:
a. Give us a reasonable supply of soap (like T5 where you get soap dispensers in both the main bathroom AND the shower). I resorted to buying my own Foamburst (Cussons Imperial Leather in case you wondered) to augment the 2"x1" bar of soap the TL supplied. Ridiculous.
b. Give us a simple shelf in the shower (like T5) where we can put our shampoo and soap instead of having to reach out of the thing to get the stuff and then spray water all over the floor.
c. Put weights in the bottom of the flimsy shower curtain so the damn thing stays in the shower enclosure and doesn't drip water all over the floor.
d. Make the desk a little big longer (like T5) so that it stretches across to the hanging space.
e. Give us more than one crappy shelf on which to put our clothes. I find it totally appalling that an interior decorator could not design something like this and force me to live out of my suitcase. REALLY irritating. And tacky.
f. While the parking seems quite good, it would be nice if there actually was a swipe machine outside when the shutter door is closed and you don't have to sometimes sit on the buzzer for a long time until someone realises you need to get in to park.
g. I can imagine that in the middle of whatever-passes-for-summer in the UK that it could get a bit warm so aircon might be a useful but expensive addition.

Survival techniques.

1. Get yourself a can of Foamburst for use in the shower.
2. If you want a decent evening meal then get in your car and go to Beckenham which has some good restaurants, starting with Nando's and Pizza Express as good basics.
3. Visit the local Sainsbury's for good snacks and sandwiches (and beer) to keep you going.

Would I go back?

For sure - at those prices it's still a good deal even if the interior designers need a kick up their backsides for leaving out some important details. I would have liked to give it three and a half stars but can't do that on this site.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blikskottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
1.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
2.4 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Crystal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Crystal Palace

Property: Travelodge London Crystal Palace
Address: 61-63 Croydon Road, London SE20 7TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #650 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Crystal Palace 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Crystal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing