We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exasperating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Grand London Hyde Park
Ranked #244 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

bait and switch. Booked this hotel due to proximity to paddington station. Quick walk to find it, only to be told our REAL hotel was down the street. After much walking to find it (passive-aggressive desk staff give wrong directions), check in to find room too small for 2 suitcases. Purports to be 4 star - maybe 2. Purports to have wifi. Only in cramped lobby full of angry relocated people.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BETHIAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your valued comments about your recent stay with us.
Your comments are appreciated however I would like to inform you that we have free WIFI access in all hotel and incase if any guest come across any issue then we have 24hrs it technicians to assist them.
With regards to room facilities, our rooms are well equipped with large space along with Kitchenette, fridge, Iron etc. I request you to contact us so that we can discuss more about the issues you have raised. Kindly contact me directly on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,832 - 1,838 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here last week and was very disappointed as the pictures on the website make the hotel look Grand, but it isn't at all. I managed to get a good last minute deal online, on their website. Whether this is why I got an awful room, I don't know, but I asked to move, as they put me in the basement, which is like a maze, no signs to direct you back to reception and the room stunk of paint and the window had a massive crack on it and the windows were also about 100 years old, they did not open or shut very well, I might as well have had no windows! For a 4 star hotel this should NOT be the case! I also had a huge loud hot generator making an awful racket outside the window, so I asked to move, which they happily helped with, but the 2nd room was not much better, the windows were still broken and I could barley get in the bathroom, it was so small! There were also paint marks on the table and the chair in the room. It looks like they have added new rooms and done a quick job decorating, to get people in ASAP and they have not added TLC to them, which makes them look and feel cheap. I definitely will not be staying there again and it should be a 3 star at the very most.

Room Tip: Do not have a basement room or any that start with M or 00, they are not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for the time and effort taken to write it.

I am deeply concerned to hear about all inconveniences caused to you at The Park Grand London Hyde Park.
To discuss this matter further, I request you to please contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The hotel is in a very good location. Quite peaceful with good restaurants and transportation around the corner. Good and helpful service at reception and nice and clean in the room and the rest of the hotel. The room though, was very small, but the price was good, so you get what you pay for. I will go back, but next time I will book a larger room. Then I will give a 4.

Room Tip: Book a bigger room - ground floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikWMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your valued comments about your recent stay with us.
As per your comments, I would inform you that our rooms can sometimes seem small due to the nature of the hotel and its design, however we do have larger duplex and Quad rooms available that I’m assured you would have find much more comfortable.
Kindly contact me directly on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com to arrange a future stay with large room for you.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

The location, the room & the price we paid for our stay we excellent. It was just the small things that let it down - Room Service : Sandwich was poor quality & stale & not presentation the best. Breakfast: Quality of the food was again poor, all felt a bit dated considering how modern the rest of the hotel is. Lots of nice staff but no actual table service, didn't even explain where things were & what was available. Noise: Windows very thin, no sound profing between rooms. We were kept awake most of the night by traffic noise & other guests just moving about in there rooms. Despite these issues I think we would stay again & give it another try. Staff very polite, helpful & nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couplandcf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your valued comments about your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear about the breakfast room as well room service points which you have mentioned, Restaurant Manager is advised to arrange for table service so that none of you guest go through this again and I have advised maintenance manager to check the windows in the room where you have stayed and rectify them as early as possible.
I will appreciate if you give us another opportunity to serve you. Kindly contact us directly on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com to arrange a future stay with us as we would like to show you how things are really done here at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Best regards
Gourav Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Having read all recent coments , we booked this hotel. My husband and our 10 year old son decided to stay here.
On arrival were help by porter for luggage and our check in was easy, very helpful reception but room had stairs which was not expected. I enquired for other room but hotel was fully booked.
Howere we were promised to be moved next day.
Only thing which I didn't likes the breakfast room which was in basement & too long to walk from our room . Rest, we enjoyed our breafast as it was most expensive breafast I ever had in basement(£15).

On departure I request to see manger and was offered £ 2 off per b/ fast which was good enough.
This hotel is good hotel with friendly staff but bit overpriced :-(

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morrisonbata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this wonderful review.

I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay with us Thank you for your nice comments about our staff, that means a lot.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the end of August with my mum and son for 2 nights on a sightseeing trip. We stayed in a triple superior room on the 6th floor. The room was pleasant and well sized, yes the bathroom is small but only as you expect from a hotel room and big enough to move around in. The staff were polite and friendly and the breakfast was good too.
The location is great, a 5-10 minute walk from Paddington tube station, has various convinience shops, a Cheers wine shop and Italian restaurants nearby.
We booked at the 50% special deal rate and beleive it was great value for money.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again and have already recommended to family and friends.

Room Tip: Triple superior room 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for lovely review about your recent stay here at The Park Grand London Hyde Park.
I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful during your stay and also you understanding with regards to bathroom size.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Firstly please note that the Park Grand is not a 4 star hotel but 4 star "guest accommodation" there is a rather large difference, however for the price it is WELL worth the money.

We were in London for a friends wedding and had to leave the previous hotel in the early hours due to an infestation of Bed Bugs and at 6.30 in the morning began our hunt for somewhere else. Stumbling in the Paddington Area we finally came across the Park Grand at about 8.15am. The receptionist was very friendly, polite and efficient in getting us a price and informing us that currently nothing was available. However due to our predicament and deciding that it was really our last chance as we had to be out of London by midday to attend said function.

Back in the reception desk I enquired as to the earliest twin or double, we were desperate to get somewhere and the lady on reception on the 30th of August called Housekeeping and also got the porter to check the room, we reserved a room, paid up front and managed to drop our things, change and leave for the day. Room 702 is spacious, clean, modern and with everything you need for a stay in London and at £82.00 per room per night we couldnt complain after the night before.

Iron was provided in the room, basics like shampoo and above all a clean space with nothing to grumble about, we needed a comfortable, quiet nights sleep on our return.

Breakfast was served over 3 hours with a cold buffet or hot plate buffet, juices, fruit, tea and coffee. With this all included in the price, no wonder it seemed rather busy. We couldnt have asked for a better nights sleep and a special thank-you to the housekeeping, reception and porter team early on the 30th, you really did save us from quite an atrocious stay. I work in the industry and realise how hard it is to fulfill everyones needs all of the time, but on this occasion I cannot thank you enough.

DO stay here, the staff are friendly, its clean, modern, upmarket and best of all a stones throw from Central London. We shall definately be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms in 700+ are in the "Loft Area" and require a staircase to get too, however there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,


Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback regrding the staff & their service is very encouraging & motivating & I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team as well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Gourav Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#207 of 1,076 in London
1,089 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#409 of 1,076 in London
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £91 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing