We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New menu! Definitely worth a visit!!”
Review of Sirous - CLOSED

Sirous
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New menu! Definitely worth a visit!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location, catches the sun well into the evening. The new menu is well worth a wait for an outside table. Ice cold Estrella beer and tapas in a friendly. Great staff and the owners are always around too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    11
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent evening with authentic tapas and sangria”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Sirous is one of the best Tapas restaurants we have been to in recent years outside of Spain and is definitely a hidden gem of West Hampstead.
We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Although we had booked a table for two inside, we decided to wait a few minutes for an outside table to become free as it was such a warm sunny evening. From the moment we sat down, the staff could not have been more attentive by welcoming us, giving us the menus straight away and taking our drinks order.
Sangria is very hard to perfect and in my opinion there are not many bars or restaurants in England that can make authentic sangria. However Sirous make amazing sangria and they get full marks.

We chose six tapas dishes between the two of us which was plenty. The portions are large and after getting through six dishes we felt it was just enough for both of us. We ensured we ordered a variety of dishes including Gambas, Chorizo, Patatas Bravas and Lamb Cutlets, all of which were absolutely delicious. A few minutes after we started eating, we were asked how everything was and if we required anything else. This is a clear sign that the staff at Sirous really pride themselves on their excellent customer service.

We were too full for dessert but there was a good selection to choose from.

It felt like we were on holiday in Spain rather than sat on the pavement of West Hampstead due to the ambience of eating al fresco and hearing the faint Latino music in the background coming from the restaurant. The lovely summers evening no doubt contributed to this, however I believe even if you went during mid-winter and sat inside you would still experience a real taste of Spain. It was a very relaxing evening where we were able to enjoy the food, drink and atmosphere after a busy day at work. It is just a shame we were not actually on holiday and had to get up for work this morning!!

The owner of Sirous introduced himself to us and asked how we found the meal and explained how much we enjoyed it. We were offered an after dinner liquor which was a very nice touch and felt like we were made to feel we were valued customers even though it was our first time here. My advice is to book to avoid disappointment as it gets very busy.

Having seen a couple of negative reviews on Trip Advisor, it is very hard to believe these people were eating in the same restaurant as all the customers last night appeared very happy and there was definitely a positive vibe to the restaurant. This was reflected by the brilliant restaurant team who were very friendly. Both of us have eaten in many restaurants over the years both in London and around the world and for a small independent restaurant this place exceeded expectations. Overall we would have no hesitation in recommending Sirous to anybody and we will definitely be going back again very soon for another enjoyable evening. Thank you Sirous for being so hospitable to us.

Michelle and Nick

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First and Last!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Myself and a group of girlfriends visited the restaurant last night and just had a BAD experience. We ordered drinks and had to remind her three times for water, which never came so gave up. My friend is gluten so asked if a meal was fine, girl said would check with chef any problems would check with her. She didnt come back, assumed all was good. Dinner came and was terrible, she asked for a salad that on the menu said was included, charged extra. Starters came at same time as mains. Even though said was gluten they mixed bread with the starter so had to wait longer. I was also terribly sick after the seafood paella. Staff were rude and had little English so didn't understand order. Generally a bad place and would recommend people to avoid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good tapas and good service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'm quite surprised with some of the negative reviews. I've been twice to this restaurant and I really liked it. Last time I went with some friends and we had a lovely time. The location is good but noisy and the food was good. Of course I had better tapas at other Spanish restaurants, but the ones we ordered were quite good too. The service was very good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“perfect fare fr a sunny sunday!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

popped in (well onto one of their outdoor tables) yesterday afternoon and found that sharing a few plates of tapas with a cold pint of Estrella was the perfect way to round off the weekend!

The service friendly and charming, the vibe much fun, and the tapas themselves much better than we'd expected. We shared the seafood with artichokes, the sardines, prawns pil pil, and ratatouille with goats cheese with some bread to mop with. Found this to be by far enough but more importantly of fine quality - taste& flavour packed indeed & good plump sardines.
Many thanks to all involved & highly recommended for the next time one fancies a no frills, informal summer spot after a day on the Heath.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catherinecrudgington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sirous also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing