We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trendy place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #86 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

New and so funny!
After a problematic start due to the new key system, we really enjoyed our stay. The key problem solved we also enjoyed a glass of wine gently served as a reward for our patience. Modernity at its best, ok rooms aren't that big. If you travel with 2 suitcases it may be hard to find a place for them but for the rest everything is done to feel you connected. A pad in each room gives you control on lights -different colours and ambiences-, curtains, tv, films, ... The bed is large and comfortable. We also really enjoyed the breakfast served, large variety.
The bar, the lounge are really great, simple design and fashionable, really chosen with taste.
Last but not least, the staff was welcoming and tried to help every time it was necessary, thank you Eylem for your friendly welcome ;-)
The hotel is ideally situated in the city for the lovers of Tate Modern, only a few minutes on foot ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jepial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,592 - 2,598 of 3,397 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Booked into the CitizenM London on our Wimbledon trip - hotel only open for 2 weeks and we found it clean, bright with attentive staff. Very good location for our trip, hand access to underground, and we had a good time at the borough market on Saturday. Bed was most comforatable, and we enjoyed using the tablet to set our mood lighting!!! Room very quiet although hotel busy, great soundproofing, and air conditioning easy to work, not too noisy!! Breakfast was very enjoyable, though not too sure about value for money - though we had our free gratis due to a mix up on check in and difficulty in getting our credit card put through. We would most definately return!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were well equipped with a very comfortable bed, the lighting was excellent, air conditioning worked and was quiet. Our son had a room near the lift and was disturbed by the announcements during the night but his room was changed the next day and staff said that this problem would be dealt with for future guests. We found the hotel very quiet at night and soundproofing much better than most hotels we've stayed in. It could be a bit difficult to operate the TV and air conditioning if you weren't familiar with a touch pad and we did find it switched on unexpectedly from time to time, but we are not of the generation which finds electronic controls second nature. Mostly we used the switches available for lights and blinds, however the staff were so helpful that we feel certain they would have been happy to show us how to use the touch pad controls. The free WiFi worked and was much appreciated. Although a snack bar was open all night we would have found it helpful to have had the usual tea-making facilities in the room but wouldn't let this put us off staying in this hotel again, in fact we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akp94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed for one night on a theatre trip. The hotel was amazing. What a difference from some of the stuffy 4 star hotels that promise the best and deliver so little.
Check in was a fast and efficient "do it yourself" experience - with staff on hand to help if needed.

Technology in rooms is fab - had great fun changing colour schemes using Samsung tablet. Free wifi and in-room movies an added bonus.

Hotel was so good that after the theatre instead of "hitting the town" - we came back to the hotel to drink in the trendy bar - cocktails excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keentraveller50999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

we stayed in this hotel after a business trip. the room came with the biggest bed i had ever seen. the samsung tablet was realy awesome. you can change the colors from the shower and your tv programm and allot more :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The best thing for me about this hotel were the beds. We were two tall people and both of us could do the starfish! Wall to wall bed meant we could choose in which direction we wanted to sleep. Also we asked for an extra duvet which was no problem so we could each have our own:-) The shower is very good with nice shower gel/shampoo and the room is very clean. The rooms are small but the design makes it very ok and you don't feel boxed in. The tablet control of the room for lighting, blinds and curtains was fun and i liked that they have different plug sockets so it doesn't matter where you come from for your trip, there is also a usb socket in the wall to recharge ipods etc. Good choice of movies (which i didnt have time to watch) and decent tv channel selection. Price was pretty good compared to other hotels and the reception/bar area was nicely presented and friendly. Young clients and a trendy feel.
For daytime, location is interesting. Short walk to the riverside and Tate modern. Southwalk station is easy to walk to and there is a bus to Covent Garden outside the hotel. There is a Marks & Spencer across the road to get nibbles and drink for your room where you have a small empty fridge.

I didn't like that i couldn't open a window in my room to get any fresh air. The rooms are controlled with fan and airconditioning. Just to be able to open the window a little bit would have been great. There is not much privacy as far as bathroom/toilet goes. It was no problem for me but the wash basin/sink area is in the room. I imagine that if you are someone likes to do beauty routines in private then it is not ideal. There is a curtain to give a bit of privacy but it is transparant. Also if there is no music etc in the room then you can hear everything that goes on in the loo! Lovely!
Breakfast is fine, bit like a modern cafe starbucks style setup. I don't think the breakfast choice is exciting. The hot breakfast selection is very limited. The price for croissants etc is very ok though so i wouldn't recommend paying for the whole breakfast. Noticed that it took quite long before staff cleared away dirty tables, that could improve...
For late nighters who like to party, transport links are quite limited for getting home.

Room Tip: If you are two people who are not a couple... i would recommend asking for an extra duvet. The bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbobwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have stayed in the CitizenM in Glasgow on two previous occasions so new what to expect. It's one of the best hotels I have stayed in one of the best beds I have slept in in terms of comfort. The design is brilliant, shower excellent and overall quality outstanding. The room has everything you could need from free WiFi to free movies and remote control blinds and mood lighting. Last Thursday my wife and I stayed here, the second night of opening. We arrived around midnight after attending Rhod Gilbert's comedy show at the Apollo. On arrival, the check in system was not working so we had to be "manually" checked in. This took around 20 to 25 minutes. We were then given a room on he 5th floor. We swiped the key to our given room and entered only to find a man in his underwear looking at us in horror.... We apologised and left in a hurry. I did find it shocking that we were given an occupied room. We went back down after which the staff apologised. We then waited a further 10 minutes to get another room. This time we checked and listened outside the door before going in. Thank goodness it was empty. We then made sure that we locked our door from the inside, afraid that someone might enter our room as well. Overall it took us 45 minutes to get into our room. We checked out the morning but there was no further mention of this incident by the staff... Or even an apology for waiting 45min for a room. I have no faults with the room or the hotel (hence four stars) but when incidents like this occur, management should follow them up with guests so as not to leave a sour taste.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Hi "PhilJames76",

Thank you for staying with us here in London. I'm happy you are a mobile citizen already familiar with citizenM.

There are no excuses about the incident you experienced, we are truly sorry for that. The entire check-in process should take no longer than 2 minutes but since you stayed with us in Glasgow, I hope you understand this was an exception. Our housekeeping personnel changed the status of the room to vacant by mistake, reason our system assigned an occupied room. We already took measures and trained everyone involved to avoid happening again.

I have no other words but be sorry we let you down, and that our team haven't been in touch with you after the incident to at least explain what happened and apologize formally. Please make sure we already took measures to prevent happening again.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,076 in London
3,277 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £113 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing