We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #81 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! Loved it!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed three nights 2 - 4 Sept. Choose this hotel because of it's location. Arrived and checked in to our room in less than 5 minutes. The bedrooms was not huge, but everything you need is there. The bed was massive and very comfortable. Unlike many hotels the hairdryer was a full sized salon model. The tablet in the room was a great tool, used to control lighting, heating, TV etc.
The lobby/lounge was unusual with plenty to read/do, the concept of the coffee table books to browse through and buy was inspired. The food was excellent quality and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,216
    867
    127
    45
    14
See reviews for
301
1,637
203
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

A great hotel is a thing of personal taste and not every hotel is for everyone, but for me CitizenM was exactly what I look for in a hotel. I don't really care for receptionists talking on the phone when I wan't to check in or check out, but I do wan't to have someone who I can ask for advice or help if I need to, so there was enough self check-in machines for everyone so I could do what I needed to with no waiting, but also splendid helpful ambassadors to help everyone with anything and everything you need. For a room I want a clean, silent and well working room, if I'm not staying for weeks I really don't need to have room for a dance floor and 7 cupboard for the clothes, so the room was well designed, superbly cleaned and dead silent (also completely dark when I wanted to) I don't plan my trips very well, so for me having internet access to check directions, opening hours and ticket availability is more or less a must, so CitizenM provided me with free internet connection, a personal tablet computer in the room and several computers on the public space (with printer to take the tickets and directions with you). Again, I don't care about expensive minibars, but I do wan't to be able to eat or drink when I wan't, so a fridge with water in the room and room for your own stuff, 24hours canteen in the lobby and several good shops right around the corner. Also there are several restaurants to choose from a minute walk so you can have the breakfast and dinner that suits you the best. The location might seem a bit of for someone that wants to stay next to Hyde Park, but I say you see more when staying somewhere else. Visit Tate Modern right in the morning before the long queues form and grab lunch form Borough market on your way to Tower Bridge. And when you do want to go to Hyde Park(you really should) or to Bond street it's a 5 minute walk to Southwark tube station or 10 minute walk trough the millenium bridge to the City.

On top of this all, there is great "living room" feel to the lobby area and beautiful interior design all around, but I don't see that as the point of this place. It's not only a great looking "design hotel" you run into time to time, but a great hotel that also looks great.

All in all, if a hotel would be done according to my wish list, it would be very very close to CitizenM bankside, and I definitely will be coming back.

Room Tip: The lifts aren't the fastest ones, so if you'll be popping in and out of the room all the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I loved everything from the minute I stepped inside the door. The feeling of the hotel was not of an empty foyer but of a place people wanted to spend time and relax. The design was open plan, friendly and inviting, vibrant without the noise. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is a hotel that no matter what age you are, the atmosphere and design is a place you will fit in.
My son, aged 10, who was with me, was mesmerised by the pad control in the room. High tech made easy. I could have easily stayed the weekend at the hotel, not gone out and still felt I had a good time. I also loved citizenM's sayings.
The room size isn't huge but the bed was and it was so comfortable! The blackout blind was great, as time didn't seem to work the same way in London as at home, and it was late every night before getting to sleep, so you could sleep in without the morning light waking you up before you were ready.
CitizenM is very close to London bridge and all it's attractions. The underground is about seven minutes walk, with connections to all the other attractions London has to offer.
Pricewise I'm not sure I could bring all the family, but if only two going again, CitizenM is the place for me!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100Joanne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed from 31.08.2012 for 4 nights, after a 24 hour flight from Melbourne could not believe that from stepping into the lobby I was in my room 3 minutes later. Awesome. Got to choose my room. Awesome. Tablet in the room had a "welcome" message with my name (as did the TV when it was turned on). Won't repeat all the other goodies that have been mentioned in other reviewes. It had all of it and more. I chose this place based on a random search on a different booking website and then a quick scan of this website (at that point ony 4 reviews were posted). I hope a CitizenM opens in Australia at some point, it will be the place I stay. When sitting in the loddy / lounge area eating breakfast one day I actually felt like I was sitting at home. Exactly how you should feel at a hotel, comfortable and not as if your in someones way. Even when waiting for the lift, if a staff member walked past and noticed the "up" arrow was now lit up, they would press it for you. Awesome.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street, mine faced into the courtyard and with the shade down you could sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucasK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

What a great place! If you are staying for a night and want to try out something funky and out of this world, stay at CitizenM!
It is ideal for art lovers (Tate Modern is just around the corner and the in house decor is a piece of art on its own), for food lovers (the breakfast, make sure you pre-book it the night before! is a delight), for young folks, for old folks, for people who like to play around with in room gadgets, for an amazing stay with sweet dreams guaranteed. The room also comes with free movies and internet. And on top of that, the staff is fabulous.
For a sunday night it was absolute value for money. Can't wait to try out all the others CitizenM around the world!

Room Tip: Book a room with courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We love Citizen M having also stayed there in Amsterdam. Rooms are not big but the bed is. Everything works, is clean and pretty funky - without but almost trying too hard.
You wouldn't spend much time in the room other than sleeping or showering but the lobby has great places to curl up with coffee wine etc read book watch TV.
We would definitely seek out Citzen M hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Lovely modern and spotlessly clean hotel which I couldn't fault. All the staff were welcoming and always happy to help. Only spent a short stay of 3 night whilst visiting the Paralympics, but wouldn't hesitate to go again. Comfy beds, good breakfast ( we didn't sample the food at other times) and my son loved the fact that he could use the samsung tablet in the room to go on the internet for free. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,067 in London
1,508 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,009 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,396 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing