We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and good spirit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #83 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfort and good spirit”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Wonderful hotel, cosy and inventive, warm and quiet. The breakfast is great, pasteries are terrible!
We loved the concept, the bed was awesome.
Little things : the washbowl on the vestibule of the room, and the air conditioning a bit to strong.

Wonderful service, very nice people, fantastic mood.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. The ones on the courtyard are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,215
    867
    127
    44
    14
See reviews for
301
1,636
203
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed twice in September. Loved the hotel concept, the "Living Room" area terrific for creative meetings, or just to work or relax. Room small but well equipped, perfect for one person, would feel crowded for any more. Very handy to have a M&S Food across the road.

8 minute walk from Southwark Tube, and bus stop right outside (to Westminster Bridge etc). Only things that would have got higher marks from me would be a) if it was just a little closer to the Tube, and b) if they had more options for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

WOW , what FUN this Hotel is ! Cocktails and Design for Mum , R and R for Dad and Mood Tablets for technologically savvy daughter ! This Hotel is a delight to the senses . 24/7 Canteen brilliant if you feel like a latte at 3am or a midnight snack . The rooms are VERY appealing , bed extremely comfortable and BIG ! Staff enthusiastic and just plain proud to be part of a new dynamic in Hotels and why wouldn't they be ? Great value! Wonderful concept ! We're very pleased to be a Citizen faMily!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mieres, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel is great, the room is small but very nice too with a lot of technology, the bed the most comfortable I've ever seen and the staff very very very friendly. I was 4 days with my wife and my son and if I were to return to London tomorrow, I would choose the same hotel certainly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAVIER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Love Citizen M concept, very good value, friendly staff, great feel to the place. Rooms are fine, small but adequate for a short stay, might start to get a bit claustraphobic after more than a couple of days and if you had loads of luggage. Location is great 5 mins easy walk from Southwark tube, on the Jubilee line for O2 which is handy. Only thing thing that I think could be improved is clarity re charging for food; the whole concept is based on a relaxed make yourself at home approach, which is great but confusing when you dont know how much things are going to cost, or with breakfast for example, whats included. Pre-paid breakfast is £10.95 for which it seems you can pretty much have anything you want, but if you just want a coffee and danish not sure what that would cost. Its very much a Citizen M thing, same in Glasgow hotel (which is also very good).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetKezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Loved this hotel - fantastically comfortable bed, super quiet which is a rarity in this area of London and overall funky concept including the stuffed rabbit! The concept is ideal and I will definitely be going back. More of the same please Citizen Matt

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Bankside is undergoing a renaissance, evolving into a young, chic, urban destination. The CitizenM hotel fits spot-on into that model. I love the concept: Identical rooms, built around a king-size bed. Just enough room for one - or two who are very close. A common area that is actually fun to hang out in. Plenty of current technology. This is not your parents' hotel.

Sadly, after four nights, my husband and I left still enamored of the concept, but faulting the execution. I'll start out with the high points:

-Loved the great location, totally convenient to everything.
-Liked the self check-in, with staff assistance at the ready just in case.
-Adored the concept of the room: Living on a big comfy bed, playing with technology.
-Admired the layout of the room: Surprisingly functional for such a small place.
-Enjoyed nice linens, including big towels and a fluffy duvet. (No wash cloths for the shower gel, though.)
-Appreciated free internet, free movies, a Galaxy tab to play with.
-Relaxed in the large, well-designed, lively common areas.
-Obsessed over the bathroom "pod" lit by customizable LED lights - both fun and functional!

There are a couple of issues to be aware of when you choose this concept:

-The frosted glass bathroom pod offers visual privacy, but no other kind. So you will want to be *very* comfortable with your traveling companion.
-The room has a niche for everything - except a suitcase. Further, there is precious little space to unpack - the "closet" is tiny, with four hangers. There is a big drawer under the bed, but it is filled with an extra duvet. So, expect your suitcase to take up some inconvenient spot in your limited floorspace.

Finally, we encountered a number of problems independent of the room design:

-Our room air conditioner could not cool the room below about 80F, which made the fluffy duvet kind of moot. We contacted the staff, who said they would look into it; there was no follow up.
-One wall of the room is a window, with two blinds: blackout and sheer. Ours, however, only had blackout. With blackout blind up, there was no privacy; with blackout blind down, the tiny room became pretty claustrophobic. Again, contacted the staff, who said they would look into it; no response.
-There was a surprising amount of street noise, given that the hotel is new construction.
-The Galaxy Tab periodically froze, preventing operation of the TV or bathroom lights.
-The staff have been compared to Apple Geniuses, and that comparison is apt, for better (friendly, approachable) and worse (bit of a cavalier attitude toward customer service).

Overall, we left still loving the concept - so much so that we would recommend CitizenM to those of our friends who would appreciate it - but not intending to return ourselves. At the end of the day, a comfortable, quiet, well-maintained room and excellent customer service are still more important than trendiness.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that overlook the construction site. The rather marginal soundproofing is no match f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenDiego, at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Hi "CaptainH",

Thank you for your review. I'm happy you enjoyed the Bankside area, our design and concept but naturally I am disappointed you left with mixed feelings due to some less positive elements.

There are no excuses when experiencing issues with the room temperature, tablet moodpad and blinds, and this subsequently not being followed up by our Ambassadors. As you acknowledge, the Ambassadors are friendly and approachable but I am sorry that you perceived their attitude to service as cavalier. The overwhelming approach of the ambassadors is to seek total guest satisfaction. I am sorry that we have fallen short in this instance. We have shared your comments with the team and I would like to assure you that we will continue working hard to deliver exceptional customer service at all times.

We built citizenM for today's traveller, those who appreciate contemporary spaces, art, great bed and shower in a hotel room, 24/7 food & beverage outlet and no hidden costs - I mean, free Wi–Fi because internet is about freedom, free movies on demand, Skype phone rates and smart use of technology. I understand you are one of them and feel sorry we let you down in execution. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance in the future, either here in London but also Amsterdam, Glasgow or soon in NYC, Paris and Rotterdam.

Wish you safe travels.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,067 in London
1,503 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,008 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,394 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing