We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel at a 31/2 star price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #89 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“5 star hotel at a 31/2 star price!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Such a great experience! Great location. The staff is very helpful with no attitude. Very modern rooms, from curtains to controlled colored lights in bathroom, Internet and tv all controlled by a tablet. It's has to be the best affordable hotel in London! I would recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,188
    861
    125
    44
    14
See reviews for
301
1,618
200
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

CitizenM offers great value and location. A foward thinking, creative and innovative hotel which has tapped into the needs of travellers- comfy bed, squishy pillows, big fluffy towels and tecno savvy-all at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Any room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathlou444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

All of the staff was more than helpful. They held our bags before and after check out. Rooms are small but very efficient! There are plugs for different types of electronics, internet and computers available. Modern style and relaxed atmosphere. Drinks were a little expensive but so is London. Grocery store and cute restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Just back from London and Paris. While in London we stayed at CitizenM. Location is excellent, a short walk from Blackfriars tube and rail stations, and just behind Tate Modern. Marks & Spencer food hall just across the street. Short walk to Borough Market. Rooms are compact but efficient. Not a problem if you stay organized. Traveler's photos are accurate. The bed is large and comfortable, but as there is no side access it can be awkward for older folks. The tablet which controls the blinds, lighting, tv, alarms, etc. is easy and fun to use. Wake-up alarm through flat panel screen is novel, with a variety of alerts including a woman's sultry voice counting back from 70. Our room was street facing on the 3rd floor. No problem with street noise. Heavy footed people above us could be heard (nothing to do with the hotel). Lounge, bar were busy. Didn't have breakfast, but looked delicous and was good value. Helpful and friendly staff at all times. We certainly plan to return to CitizenM during our next trip to London.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacktarToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

As one reviewer has pointed out, you will either love or hate the rooms in this hotel. For me it was hate at first sight! I wish I had checked the hotel's website BEFORE booking.

The experience rather reminded me of a cross between a Japanese business and/or "love" hotel. Nasty gaudy plastic sub-Ikea furnishings in a room the size of a man's hat, half of which was occupied by the biggest bed I've ever seen; it literally takes up half the room. Cold and clinical, not even a rug on the floor. Mercifully I got a good deal, 3 nights for 330 GBP - but I won't be repeating the experience.

PROS - giant bed, actually very comfortable. Quiet, so I got a good night's sleep. Free WiFi, good selection of movies all included in the price.

CONS - Sterile plastic microscopic room. I really didn't see the point of the tablet and all the hi-tech bells and whistles.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
16 Thank Go686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Really loved the interior design of the hotel. Staff were very helpful with the check-in. The bed was huge and comfortable. Very handy location for our trip to the Globe theatre and our return home from Waterloo the next day. The only thing I would change would be to have a normal light switch available for the bathroom.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JennaExe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for my birthday for 2 nights from 07th-09th October as a surprise and it certainly was! The hotel's decor is amazing; it's modern and colourful and very comfortable. The rooms are compact and very comfortable with some funky gadgets! It's in easy walking of the south bank and the tube. If there was a downside, I would have liked some tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joulescm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,342 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing