We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun contemporary hotel at unbeatable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #88 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I payed under £90 (based on a week stay) and given this price this is a great place to stay
love the large lobby, the warm contemporary feel, welcomming and charming staff, the tech and design centered concept, the bar, free wifi,...

Rooms are small, but well organised. Perfect when travelling by yourself, with your partner or a very close friend. Wouldn't advice to share with a college, given the price just take 2 rooms.

Indeed there are some remarks.
The samsung tablet with the hotel app doesn't work very well, but most things can be done with classic switches. Price quality report of the food is not as good as the hotel.
Missed a gym (not something I like to leave the hotel for, but certainly am willing to pay for.)
Some staff clearly didn't take as much out of their training as others.

But again I stayed at dozens of hotels in London: this is a good deal!

Room Tip: Stayed at the backside of the hotel (331) and there are massive building works going on now (january...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,375 - 2,381 of 3,473 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

I am staying in the Bankside area on a regular basis and am looking for a modern, stylish and clean hotel. So I was excited to hear there was a Citizen M as I knew the Glasgow place. While the hall and communication area in London is the best of all hotels in the area, the rooms seem to be a grade under the Glasgow rooms. main reason is the fact that the toilet is in the same compartment as the shower-and they are both very close together. Plus-although the place is fairly new, the was water coming out of the lower end ofthe shower instead of the upper end. And do I remember right that Glasgow had an iphone loading station which I expected here as well? Apart from that-it is a perfect formula for me. The bed is comfy and big -it is the luxury no-frills style I really love. Price at 99 GBP is unbeatable. Atmosphere great.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Filuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I Stayed here for the August bank holiday weekend in 2012, my girlfriend had booked this hotel and a trip to London for my birthday. Hotel was very easy to find we just got a taxi upon arriving at Liverpool Street station.

Check in was a breeze, one of the people at the desk showed my girlfriend what to do on the touch screen computer and that was that. Next was the room, as most have said first impression is that the room is very small, but you soon get used to it. Room looks great, bed is very big and super comfortable. Bathroom pod is a great idea, glass is frosted but be warned all noises can be heard. There was ample storage for us in a large drawer under the bed and a small wardrobe, we where only staying for a weekend, if you where staying for longer you may struggle with the storage options and maybe also the small room.

The Lobby are is great and super comfortable full of sofas, books Imacs Ipads etc and has a cafe serving food and alcohol and is a great place to sit and chill out. The area immediately opposite the hotel has restaurants, cafes a Marks and Spencer's food store etc so there are plenty of food options in very close proximity.

Now why the average rating, OK the galaxy tab that controls the room kept freezing and crashing. This happened the whole time i was there (2 nights/3 days) every time we left the hotel or room we had to get the room reset. The galaxy tab controls almost all the features of the room, the TV, internet access,mood lighting, air conditioning etc. So this failing almost every time we used it was a big let down and the reason i am only giving it 3 stars.

I wouldn't let this put you off staying here as a quick scan through the reviews it seems my experience was a one off. I accept that sometimes technology fails, but i think there should be a better way to sort it out than just to try and reset the room. The only time the room worked properly was the morning i was leaving this was after explaining in detail the night before to the guy at reception exactly what was going on. Had the problem been fixed from the start i would have given the hotel five stars

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Yes, this was an experience. Superbly trained staff an amazing public space that has been extremely thoughtfully designed and fascinating rooms where everything, absolutely everything, is controlled by a tablet. That means curtains, lights, television, you name it...................
However, in order to get the best value for money here you must do a lot of research as room rate varies from one source at £69 a night, to a rack rate of just under £200.
Buoyed by the extremely helpful and intelligent staff we spent a lot of time downstairs at this upmarket very clean very attractive hotel - with its banks of desktop PCs and very attractive and comfortable seating. In Bank Side situated near London Bridge Station and the Shard you are well placed for the Design Museum and the National Theatre, Globe, Old Vic, Royal Festival Hall and other South Bank attractions.
The bedrooms will not be to everyone's taste with beds the width of the room but extremely comfortable and a minimal approach to design that reminded me of some of the newer boutique hotels in SE Asia. We loved it and will return for a long weekend soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Clean comfortable and very relaxing. The whole atmosphere is just awesome. Would definately stay here again. Highly recomended. Staff very helpful. Good location. My stay was very special. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Was recommended this by a Dutch colleague. Really broken the mould with this offering. Fab! Could do with kettle in room and not sure what it would be like sharing the fab bed space as I was on my own. For the price it's a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fi0nac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

The Citizen M is a different take on your typical hotel. Small but functional rooms fully controlled from the room's tablet - it is brilliant! So different but really intuitive and great fun! Free wifi and movies just add a cherry on top. Great for a single traveller staying over in London. Great value too.

Worth a visit and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,077 in London
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £103 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing