We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #88 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Location of the hotel is great and the entire team are nothing short of truly engaged our ensuring that your stay with them is nothing short of great. Great concept, some may have issues wi having your sink as possibly part of your main room, but great idea. Reception areas are great and don't start kicking off until 10pm+ as people come back from their day. But cocktails are great and a very relaxing venue to hit before clubbing.

Room Tip: As for a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillsIrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,364 - 2,370 of 3,473 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed one night here over a weekend. We'd stayed in the Amsterdam citizenM and knew what to expect and we weren't disappointed. From a warm welcome in the funky reception through to the (quite small) well appointed and designed room. The giant bed is excellent for lying on whilst watching TV (normal TV and free on-demand movies (purely for journalistic completeness I'll mention that the adult movies are free too. Allegedly.) or playing with the mood lighting or the electric curtains using the samsung tablet.

There's free wi-fi and the tablet gives you internet access.

The bathroom is a frosted glass unit in the room, but there is a curtain that can be drawn.

It's a 5 minute walk from London Bridge tube station or a 30 minute walk over the bridge and into central London. Borough Market is just around the corner. Oh and there's a fantastic German beer cellar over the road.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilbodotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Our stay at CitizenM was great. The atmosphere in the whole hotel is super chic, welcoming and funky. The bar downstairs is a great place to relax; it's nice having snacks available from the canteen at all hours. The room was great - clean and well-designed, it was a smaller size room with a GIANT sized bed. The bathroom was large with a fun power/rain-shower. Lighting themes and ambient moods are controlled by a tablet, as well as your blinds and the television. The tablet can also be used on the free wifi to search online, and there is free printing and macs available downstairs. Would not hesitate to recommend to another couple or a solo traveller, and would be very happy to stay again

Room Tip: The italian place across the street is cheap, fantastic and delicious if you don't want to drag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riventree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

By boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel after booking the same day via. the Hotel Tonight app. The location is really central, the bed is enormous and comfy and all the little touches (am and pm shower gel, stuffed toy on the bed, mini fridge that's completely silent) make it a special place to stay. Also we loved the tablet that controlled all the features in the room and the free entertainment.

The staff were all lovely and the hotel was really well designed. One note though - I'm sure the breakfast is lovely, but we walked the five minutes to Borough Market where the choice and the quality is probably far better! We're definitely coming back.

Room Tip: They're all exactly the same but I'd ask for a room that looks out onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

A chic, modern, classy, upbeat and CLEAN hotel!
The little touches - the book corner, the tablet controls in the room, the glass shower, the mood lighting; the fact we got to choose our own room - they are what makes it so exciting.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The thing I remember the most is the barmaid's horror when I put the empty teabag packets in my pocket. She held her arms open for them and really did protest: 'No, no! I'm here to help you!" I thought that was really sweet.

The rooms are admittedly compact - they have everything in them, but there isn't much room to manoeuvre. Also, (just a personal taste thing), I didn't like the self check-in in the middle of the day. I prefer to be greeted by a receptionist who can do all that for me! Although there were people nearby to provide help, I much prefer the traditional reception desk. However, my stay here was delightful and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma110691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I booked this hotel for my boyfriends birthday and payed for breakfast as well. The hotel is sleek, modern and really stylish! The check-in system is a good idea and there is always someone to help if need be. The rooms are lovely, HUGE beds (super king) and the bed linen is really comfortable. The whole room is controlled by a Samsung tablet (blinds, curtains, lights, mood lights, TV and temperature) this sold it for me! The room has movies on demand and the shower is amazing!!! A big rain shower. There is a miniture fridge with a free bottle of water, a hairdryer, towels etc. The whole hotel has access to free wi-fi which is really useful and the area is really nice, perfect location right by tate modern and the southbank. The breakfast was really nice, it was a shame that this had to be payed for additionally but it was worth it! tea/coffee, full English, fruit, cereal, toast, nuts, croissants etc, yum yum! I would stay there again for sure and I would suggest the hotel to anyone! good value for money as well

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal910x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We booked this room based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews here on tripadvisor. After six nights at citizenM London Bankside, we were not disappointed. We cannot say enough about how wonderful our experience was with this new hotel concept.

The experience began with the welcoming and helpful staff. Having flown all night, we were groggy and technologically impaired. No problem – the ambassador sped us through the self check-in process in a matter of minutes.

We were immediately overwhelmed by the fun and creative public spaces. The bar/restaurant/lounging areas are amazing. The rooms are fun and efficiently arranged. The HUGE bed is one of the most comfortable you will ever experience. The shower is fantastic. The room is controlled by a tablet, which even the most gadget challenged individual will be able to operate.

The restaurant was perfect for a quick breakfast each morning - Reasonably priced for a coffee, juice and a pastry. For a heartier morning appetite, the full breakfast seemed reasonably priced as well.

If you are going to London soon, you owe it to yourself to try out this new treasure in the Bankside area. We were also very pleased with its easy access to both the London Bridge and the Southwark stations. You are within walking distance to the Bourough Market, steps away from the Tate Modern and interesting new restaurants. With the Shard project about to come online, this area has emerged as a wonderful new destination. If you want to put some distance between yourself and the thundering hoards of tourists, this is a fantastic part of town. Again, the staff and management of citizenM are defining the new direction for the hospitality industry. We look forward to seeing what cleaver direction they take with the upcoming New York property. Our next visit to London will only begin here.

Pros:

The staff
The location
The public spaces
The huge, comfortable bed
The artwork
The shower
Free wifi

Cons:

We had to eventually go home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,077 in London
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £103 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing