We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #89 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice but...”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very nice design hotel, everything people say is true, but if you want a quiet stay....downstairs it's so crowdy, never place to use the working space, the sofa's,... We booked a room faced to the inner garden, but that was very noisy too except for the last day. People are smoking there and after a few drinks they are very loud. I slept at 5th floor and could here the whole conversations very well. ( There was a guy who woke me up at 5.30 AM, talking loud on the phone)
Samsung Tablet worked well, but not the internet, but that i didn't mind. The fridge is the thing that i jumped for it, loved to have my cold drinks and fruit.
The bed is huge, but can be difficult for some people. It's high and i had to step over my husband to get out. Or you can sleep with your head towards the window, but i didn't do that because i fell some cold air.
Breakfast was nice. Staff was so helpfull and happy.
If you go for a short stay to shop it's better to stay more in the city, but we came for the art and that's perfect.
I would go back cause for us it worked well and we always staying south :)

Room Tip: Rooms on inner side are also noisy, corner suite would be better. There's on both sides workin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 000nutmeg000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    862
    125
    44
    14
See reviews for
301
1,619
200
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This has got the wow factor for sure. You walk in and are hit with quirky design features all over the place. Very clean and functional room with everything you could need. Great city view too. The staff are always around should you need anything and the reception staff are very nuice and helpful with eating out ideas. Loved it here and if you want somewhere different you should book this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Absolutely cannot fault this hotel for any reason!

I stayed here with my partner twice in the space of two weeks because we loved it so much. The self check in was fast and easy, although staff were on hand to help if needed.

The rooms are amazingly clean and comfortable, and the beds! Oh my gosh, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and they are HUGE, I never wanted to get up!

The entire hotel is spotless from top to bottom. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful! Breakfast was also very good, and good value for money.

The hotel is only a ten minute walk to the nearest station, not very far at all. Although staff are always willing to hail a taxi for you if necessary.

Nothing bad to say about this hotel at all! Will definitely stay here again and have recommended this to everybody I know who travels to London.

Definitely worth the money we paid! :)

Room Tip: We stayed on different floors for each stay and every room we had was perfect, regardless of locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quincupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Possibly the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in. They've really thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable and as fun as possible. Greeted at the briliantly designed self service check in by Marc, who is the Assistant Manager and couldn't do enough to help us. Friendly, helpful and a refreshing change from the stuffy service and environment you find in a lot of other hotels, especially in London! Decor was amazing. Chic and modern, but very homely and comfortable. The whole place has a very creative, arty vibe to it. It is definitely a place to explore, because there are quirky and interesting things hidden everywhere. Rooms are small, but this is a London hotel. They are spotlessly clean and designed perfectly. And so quiet! Everything is controlled by a tablet (lights, tv, blinds etc) and the beds are probably the most comfortable I've slept in, in a London hotel. The bar has a great cocktail selection and a decent wine list, which meant we didn't even venture out on our first night. The atmosphere is lively, friendly and welcoming. Only thing I could think to (partially) criticise in the whole place would be the breakfast. Not a great selection, but not poor by any means. I've already recommended this hotel to everyone and am looking forward to my next stay there. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This hotel was by far the coolest I've ever stayed in. My bedroom felt like if Apple made hotels, this is what it would look like. Ok so I might be exaggerating slightly, but I mean more just feeling very, very impressed by the design, user experience, and extra thoughtful touches.

The bar downstairs is lovely and as a lone business stayer, I appreciated the canteen and quiet space to sit in for those who want to eat. The food was maybe a little pricey (£11.50 for an OK curry) but very tasty.

The Samsung tablet in the room, which controlled the TV, blinds, lights, temperature, mood lighting etc...was just such an awesome idea. For £119 (well thats what I paid, though looking at their booking system I got a damn good deal. Seems more £130-£150 is the norm) I was utterly gobsmacked by the place. They made staying in a hotel an experience, which it certainly was.

See attached picture for changing the "mood lighting" of my bathroom. Seriously cool.

Room Tip: Am told Courtyard is quieter, mine certainly was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uratargetmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I landed here when my usual business hotel was full... and I won't go back to business as usual ever again. Staff are friendly and forward-leaning (but not aggressive), had a lovely chat with Eylem the manager on my last stay there, she & her team are absolutely crack. Room is your relaxing coccoon: small but with big comfy bed & well appointed for wifi & entertainment (all controlled with a tablet including lights, temp, alarm). Ground floor lobby & lounge/bar area plugs you in: art/book/design focus has great vibe of connection and energy, and it's equally well stocked with wifi and power -- you'll see all kinds of people relaxing, working, creating, and socializing all day. Good location: next to Tate Modern, not more than 10 min walk from tube, and on a corner where cabs are always passing by. I really enjoy staying here and hope you will too.

Room Tip: courtyard view rooms tend to be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Citizen M London Bankside is by far the coolest and most unusual place I’ve ever stayed in. The decor is awesome; a random mix of furniture and designs. The bar, dining and courtyard areas are just bursting with colour and feel welcoming and relaxed. The books that line the walls can be read downstairs or brought to your room and are available to buy should you fancy it. There are iMacs for use by all guests and you can print off anything you need without much fuss. The staff are extremely helpful, efficient and friendly and on a Friday night the bar is a very lively spot, certainly not your ordinary hotel bar.

The rooms, though small, are like Japanese pods designed to perfection with a big comfy bed, minimalist decor and a nifty way of making the smallest space functional. Each room is equipped with a tablet from which you can control the TV (small selection of free movies on demand), mood lighting and radio. The rooms are spotless, cosy, free from clutter and the changeable mood lighting in the bathroom is rather entertaining.

London is a very pricey place for accommodation in general and while this hotel was more expensive than somewhere in another capital city it was still cheaper than other less interesting, welcoming and unusual hotels in London. Go and be prepared to be ever so impressed!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,344 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing