We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish on trend hotel on the edge of central London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #86 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Stylish on trend hotel on the edge of central London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. All the staff were really customer focussed and helpful. Great breakfast with proper tea and coffee prepared to order. The bar and lounge area is a great place to spend time for a coffee or a drink, and it was nice to be able to come back after a meal or show and be able to get a nightcap in a bar with some atmosphere. Storage in the rooms is a little tight so you need to travel light, but that aside the bed was great and the shower superb. Will be back soon. Walk outside for a RV1 bus direct to Covent Garden.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    840
    122
    43
    14
See reviews for
293
1,584
200
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel during our stay in London. After arrival to the Liverpool Street we used taxi to get there. You need a credit card for payment of accomodation and then you can go to the room. The room is rather small but all details are sensitively solved. There is a free wifi and plenty programs on TV. The sleeping is pleasant as you can use two roller blinds to make complete darkness in the room. The breakfast is tasty with lot of choices. But the best thing in the hotel is downstairs area close to the reception. You can have a pint of beer sitting by the bar or a table, you can read as you have a small library there even buy the book there. The atmosphere is great. Definitely will retutn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Bankside and must say this stay was better than the last. We stayed for one night on the 5th November and we had a much larger room which i think was for people with access problems. The upside was we felt we had lots more room to move around but the bathroom area didn't have the wow factor the normal rooms have. The bed as always was super comfy and the room spotlessly clean. Breakfast this time was much better as we went down earlier so it was more fresh and there was plenty to choose from. This time we used Addison Lee cars to pick us up from Kings cross and the return journey as found the underground a pain last time. It meant we arrived less stressed! Will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowrache29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff is very friendly - but if you are not in the mood of talking, you can check-in and check-out by yourself, in machines resembling ATMs. Using the tablet they provide, you can control the curtains, watch some (complimentary) films and even control the room lights' color. Beside the modernities, consider a confy bed, nice shower, fast (and free) wi-fi, good location, funky lobby and bar areas. And reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SML1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Criteria important to me for my stay in london were: proximity to city centre, price and cleanliness. Citizen M provided a good spread in all these departments compared to other hotels in london. Also, there was a fire alarm malfunction during one of the nights and the staff discounted that night from the total price of our stay. Thank you Citizen M for the good service!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benballinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel is well located, on Northern and Jubilee subway lines (direct from Saint Pancras station). Everything there is beautiful and design and the staff is really nice. They even helped me find my passport back :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The idea is great. Person less reception. Tablet controlable features in your room. Funky and fresh bar. My only concern would be if I was to stay any longer than a night and the novelty of the room would wear thin.

3 big positives.
1.the bed was that comfortable that I got the details as I'm having one of those.
2. free wifi
3. Free films

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Letsallhaveadisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#50 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing