We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The modern MINI Cooper of Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #89 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed at the CitizenM for around 3.5 months, 2-3 nights a week for business. I picked this hotel because I used to live nearby (Bermondsey St.) and remembered this place when I was looking for a place to stay. The location is great, I worked in the City so I could simply walk to work across the river. The RV1 bus stop is right in front of the hotel and takes you to Covent Garden. Southwark station is also nearby and the Jubliee Line will take you East to London Bridge (Tower Bridge, Bermondsey St.), Canary Wharf and West to Green Park and Bond Street. There’s a Waitrose store, a Vapiano and a few other restaurants just across the street.

I always thought of this place as the modern MINI Cooper of hotels. It it looks fancy and its modern design is surely meant to attract a somewhat younger/more trendy crowd, the staff will call you “mate”, the room controls are controlled with a tablet, etc. However, just like the MINI, room space is limited and despite its fancy looks, it sometimes lacks a bit of substance and has its annoyances (everyone who’s ever owned a modern MINI knows what I mean). The shower features LED lighting and a rain shower, however the shower base is plastic and the water pressure varies from room to room. The sink (PVC also) is in the room to save space and if you don’t pay attention you will spill water on the floor. There is no stand for your suitcase and only a small, open closet for your clothes. The bed is one large, even square at the far end of the room and I found it, although unusual, to be very comfy.

As mentioned earlier, the room lights, A/C, TV, alarm etc. are controlled with a tablet. There are some switches to control the lights manually still and (thank god) a fall back remote in the bedding box, in case the tablet and TV ever get out of sync. There are usable power sockets, a USB socket, a small desk for your laptop and a safe in the room. WiFi and all of the movies are free of charge (nice touch, if you ever get bored). During my stays I never had any issues. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and the check in/out procedure via the self service machines makes things a lot faster, although it takes some time getting used to, and you don’t have to wait in line (unless all of the machines are busy of course).

I’d say that this hotel is definitely not for everyone. Some people will simply love it for what it is, others will find just as many reasons to avoid it. Given the smallish size of the rooms it is somewhat pricy, but then again this is London and you pay for the location. I’d give this place a thumbs up...and, yes, I do own a MINI (however, thanks to my girlfriend I never get to drive it) and I'm sure that she’d like the hotel as well :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbieERay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,835 - 1,841 of 3,471 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Besides being a perfect, beautifull and modern hotel, the most important thing was the staff, specialy the manager (miss Elyem, a fantastic turkish woman) with excellent human qualities.

Thank you very much. We won't forget. Be sure that in our next visit to London The CITIZEN HOTEL will be our place to stay.

What makes an hotel is the staff :-)

André, Clara e Gus from Portugal

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andremnreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The CitizenM in Bankside is a nice place. The rooms were clean and modern - which was a nice surprise. I really wasn't planning on staying in the rooms all the often (so their small size wasn't a problem for me. If on the other hand, you plan to spend some substantial time in your room you may want to look elsewhere.)The room offers free Wi-Fi & movies which is great if your jet lagged like I was. They have a pretty good selection of on-demand movies too. So if you can't sleep you'll probably be able to find a good movie to watch until you get tired enough to turn in. And the linens and bed were really comfortable, so again Kudos!!

The staff were awesome. Met this nice Turkish woman who was the manager. She was great, attentive and helped you out when you needed something.

Big bar scene which again if your traveling alone is kinda nice to see a bunch of people in your lobby. I was up on the 5th floor so noise wasn't a real issue.

The only gripe I had was it's location. There's not much over in Bankside. The closest Tube stop is London Bridge, so it takes a while to get to the west end for touristy things. However, if you don't mind being slightly out of the way then you can't find a better hotel for the price. Will be staying at again!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank oneill492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to explore a different part of London or just be slightly out the tourist zone. Low prices for the standard of the hotel and the general area.

The rooms were of modern taste, quite quirky with the mood changing lights and frosted bathroom within the room, maybe not to everybody's taste but it is sticking with the theme of the hotel.

Would stay again if looking to save money but have a good hotel to come back to at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiggiSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I recently spent 2 days here for a business conference. Very funky, modern and original decor in the lobby, meeting areas and rooms. The room was very small but comfortable and functional. The staff were very nice and helpful. Overall a very enjoyable experience. The only minor complaint is the food was rather uninspired.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel has an interesting balance between individual space and shared space. The rooms are small, but got exactly what you need - and you can control everything with via a "mood controller" - while the lobby area is huge and offers a big variety of different seating opportunities where you can work, enjoy other peoples company, watch television, have a drink etc. etc.
A great way to use space in an effective way!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansenFromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our first stay and not disappointed. Rooms are superbly kitted out, though do not expect lots of 'floor space'. Everything here is practical. Wonderful (big) bed, super shower, free internet in room a big plus. Though it is supposed to be self check in there is always help, and staff attitudes from front desk to cafe and restaurant are spot-on - friendly, efficient and non-intrusive. Breakfast choices good, coffee excellent, plenty of lounging space on the ground floor. We were on 5th floor (and would ask for it again) as the room was virtually silent. 5 min walk to Southwark Tube, same to the Waterbus at Bankside, Globe Theatre or Tate Modern. We did have one issue which has been quickly and professionally sorted out by the management. Will we stay there again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the internal garden likely to be quieter. We heard absolutely nothing on the 5th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuffinDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,077 in London
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £104 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing