We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, relaxing with superb design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #98 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I live in the U.S. and had not stayed in a London hotel for over 10 years. I booked citizenM mostly due to the reviews on trip advisor and the funky looking pics. I was not disappointed and found the hotel is even better than the pics. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, even when my travel plans changed due to the bad London weather.

The lobby area is very well designed and relaxing. It feels like you are at home, with areas for watching TV, working, eating or just putting your feet up and reading. The rooms are small, but as they are also very well designed, you do not feel cramped. I also spent time in my room both working and watching films on the huge bed. With two people in the room, my only negative comment would be the lack of storage for large cases.

Overall, an excellent hotel for all age groups, very friendly staff, definitely relaxing and would recommend it anyone. I will be back in London in 2 weeks and I know where I will be staying. Thanks citizenM for making my trip to London so pleasurable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,991 - 1,997 of 3,672 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Not sure why you need the self service check in when a member of staff watches over every move! Apart from the hotel having the wrong booking information, charging us for breakfast and not realising we had late check out, staff were helpful and efficient. Décor was bright and vibrant in shared areas, lifts worked quickly. The room was very small and almost claustrophobic; if blinds were open everyone in the opposite room could see straight in. Bed was huge with good quality bedding and pillows. The tablet was good fun play with ..exciting to change lighting and experiment. Films were very welcome too. Shower was big and powerful Nice to have a fridge However, missed a cup of tea in the morning! Breakfast consisted of very good quality ingredients but would have liked a greater variety of fruit, and a choice of eggs, the mini omelettes were pretty tasteless (maybe we could have ordered poached/fried but no one told us). Lovely orange juice. No fish/pancakes. All in all we enjoyed our stay but would not have wanted to stay longer.

Room Tip: Facing out so you can open the blinds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jne2647563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We loved the hotel,stuff and amazing design the rooms are good too, the only thing we complain about was the price like drinks at the bar and the room rate too , but I still rate a four, the design is different but beautiful I could stay all they sitting in the reception and hangout on my laptop.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sAmthemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Citizen M was great fun. Excellent value for money with great amenities. Lack of tea and coffee facilities and the requirement to use a tablet to do anything in the room from turning on the lights to closing the curtains were minor negatives. On the whole an excellent leisure hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeadBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

If you want somewhere different to stay then this is the place. From the moment you arrive at the slick no nonsense check in you realise this is truly a new experience! The reception/lobby is like an ultra modern library interspersed with modern art pieces and various curios from around the globe. The funky lighting is amazing, a lot of effort to make the whole area look and feel different but also top class. The room..Well....what can I say...an 8ft square bed along filling the wall right in front of the window with everything you need at your fingertips. The lighting and entertainment system is in a class of its own! Very comfortable indeed, right temperature, no noise, superb bed...a great nights sleep! Brilliant atmosphere and very helpful bar staff finished it off! Not cheap by any means but definitely worth the experience of a 21st century hotel that really beats the more expensive dreary samey hotels.YOU HAVE TO CHECK THIS PLACE OUT....SIMPLY AWESOME!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms are relatively small but very well designed clean and full of fun . The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are really quiet. The staff in the bar are very helpful and the tablet in the room is very useful . Close to the shard and walkable to Embankment with a great selection of shops close to the hotel . I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olympian1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Was booked as a gift for our wedding. Absolutely loved it. The funky decor and the techno in the rooms were fantastic. The different mood settings were very unique and classy. We had set the alarm on for the morning through the system, waking up to a womans voice counting down from 60 did scare the sh** out of us. Only downside was no room service but apart from that had a lovely experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bubbles194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,081 in London
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £95 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing