We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #96 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We decided to spend the New Year’s eve with the family in London and to stay at Citizen M Hotel. Perhaps not the most obvious hotel to go with a family of 6 (with 4 children under 9). Will a cool boutique hotel focussed on business travellers and trendy globetrotters be the right place for our family? I have stayed many times for business in the hotel so I may have had my doubts. However, the answer loud and clear was YES! The hotel proved to be the perfect spot for us. The children loved the great rooms with the huge beds and screen and they were even much better at using the pad controlling all the amenities in the room than we were. We all loved the staff, who were friendly and truly interested in our and our children’s’ wellbeing. To single out a few, for Eylem, Adrian and Miguel no mountain was too high. Thanks to all we had an unforgettable New Years celebration.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,833 - 1,839 of 3,509 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

- All the staff were incredibly helpful.
- All amenities were of a high standard.
- Good quality, powerful hairdryers.
- They have a strange shampoo/shower gel hybrid, so it may be best to bring your own shampoo and shower gel.
- Amazing room features (including adjustable lighting and moods, free internet/radio/TV).
- Very nice atmosphere in the lobby to wind-down in the evenings.
- Sadly there aren't kettles in the room to make your own hot beverages or pot noodles, however there is a 24/hour bar.
- Easy and quick check-in/out.
- Very large bed... plenty of room for 2 people to starfish!
- Great location, 5 minutes walk to the river.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Organised a catch up with friends with an overnight stay in London and chose citizenM. Glad we did what a great find - love this place.

Visually the rooms are simple but lurking beneath the surface are a host of nifty gadgets in the tablet (superb for a gadget geek). Good room inclusions - films/wifi etc.

The 'living room'/lobby area is spacious and comfortable to hang around with a cheeky nightcap or morning coffee.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. It starts with the staff-they are warm and friendly and helpful! The layout and design of the lobby allows you to feel like you're sitting in your living room. Very comfortable sofas and chairs. You can find your own space or easily mingle with other guests. The rooms are wonderful! The bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on and the showers are fantastic. You can control the lighting (different colors too which was fun), the TV, the room temperature and access the internet all from your own smart pad was great. The location of the hotel is excellent. Easy access to public transportation and all the tourist spots yet in a quiet area. I would stay here again with my family or on business,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here at the beginning and at the end of our road trip through England. We loved it both times!

When we first got to our rooms I played with the cool lighting and the awesome TV settings. They've really done a great job and it was all very user friendly, plus pretty nifty to have a free tablet in the room with internet on it.

The cafeteria food downstairs was not bad for dinner, we had it twice, however may not be for everyone. On both occasions it was the same thing, a salad bar, boiled rice and an asian dish with beef plus veggies. You can pile as much as you can on your plate for a reasonable price. They also have a Ben and Jerry's selection for desert. Also worth noting that there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room, If you want tea you need to ask the bar for hot water and take it up to your room, which we did twice without hassles.

Breakfast was also reasonable but the selection again not huge. After our 4th morning eating the same thing we were quite glad to eat something different.

All in all we had a grin on our faces every time we discovered something else that "Citizens" do, the quirky feel was executed very well and it prompted me to look for other places where we might stay as "Citizens" Shame there isn't any in Australia! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noemitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel, its location, its interior design, its theme are all excellent.

Very beautiful fireplace in the main lobby.

the bed was super comfortable

staff were helpful, cheerful, always smiling and knew what they were doing.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend that you too stay there!!!

Two Thumbs Up!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Super place, fantastic beds, design hotel, with handy tablet to control everything without leaving your bed.
Nice lobby/ bar, only the restaurant is a bit poor. But plenty of good restaurants nearby, should overcome this small issue.
Very close to the Tate Modern! Which is also great

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Boeykens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,078 in London
3,356 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: £98 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing