We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Touch of Joie de Vivre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #85 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Touch of Joie de Vivre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

CitizenM is a beautifully conceived and executed Hotel but it may not be to everyone's taste. If you are looking for the modernized Biedermeier or 1960s décor and space that is at the heart of any major, mass-produced hotel and motel chain, you will likely not take to the uncompromising contemporary design of this hotel. Others will be delighted.

The lobby is decorated a sumptuous black and red, with automated check-in, ample lounge seating and a sense of spaciousness that flows to the restaurant and bar area. The effect on entering is one of quality and attention to detail, a sense that someone (corporately) cares about the quality of your experience at CitizenM. There are only one or two people in the lobby to greet you since check-in is automated at terminals but they are unfailingly attentive and pleasant. There is an air of a well managed operation and a happy staff.

The attention to architectural detail extends to the rooms which are based on the pod concept but carried out with style and flair and, again, attention to detail and I did not feel a lack of space in the room. Where else can you find a built in power strip containing three different configuration of sockets (UK, USA and European) plus USB charger? The bathroom is minimalist with the wash basin build into the room itself but the intriguingly the shower seems to be one of the largest that I have encountered in a hotel. maybe that's just an illusion given the economic and efficient architectural layout.

My only negative comment would be that the pillows are too bulky for (my) sleep comfort.

Rates vary from day to day, I paid £104 and given the location, directly behind Tate Britain, midway between Waterloo and London Bridge with walking access to Bankside and easy access to the West End, CitizenM is excellent value and a wonderful place to stay, especially for the young at heart traveller.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maesyfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    840
    121
    43
    14
See reviews for
292
1,584
200
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
409 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This would have got 5 stars if it weren't for a few niggles. The pros : great design, wonderful location (5 mins or less fromTate Modern), great laid back feel in the cafe, funky feeling, huge bed, comfy room, liked all the gadgets - the pad, the coloured lighting, the blind, free Mac computers, free Wi-Fi without password. Etc. This hotel has SO much going for it. With a few tweaks it could be fantastic. The staff were all universally lovely and really helpful. The towels were fuffy and the bed was comfy.
The major inconvenience is not having tea or coffee in the room. The answers to this question are inadequate - of course the thinking behind this is just to make extra money, and that is annoying and uncomfortable. We like to have a tea or coffee while we are showering and dressing in the morning. So do most people. The hotel says that you can pop down in the lift and get a drink. really? It is quite a swish, trendy cafe - would they really appreciate a 63 year old woman, unwashed, dishevelled, in her nightie, appearing in their designer cafe desperate for a cuppa? Just provide a kettle in the rooms Citizen M. We would still come down for breakfast and buy another one. Honest.

Other niggles - the bath mat was very dirty when we unrolled it before our showers. The hair dryer didn't work due to a faulty socket. The shower head had lots of holes but only about half of them worked.
Breakfast was confusing - I couldn't work out from the website what you got for breakfast if you didn't want a cooked full English. I emailed and asked them. The response was very unclear and told me I could order a full English when I booked the room, which I already knew. If other people are confused - there is an a la carte breakfast which is pretty expensive and unimpressive. It is like a buffet breakfast, but you pay for each item. We had two mueslis, a banana, and a tea and a coffee and it was nearly £15. You can get a banana, or a small pear, for 75p, but what a shame they don't offer a fruit salad. They do have gluten free muesli. The croissants were stale. They have toast, cereals and a bit of fresh fruit. There is a M & S just opposite - I'd recommend you pop over there! Great fruit salads!! However, the cafe at Citizen M is a lovely place to sit and chill and relax with a wealth of books, magazines and newspapers, and Mac computers, and sofas - so we didn't begrudge paying a bit extra for a rather dull breakfast. It really is a nice area, so much better than a normal City Hotel breakfast room.

All in all a great place, great concept, but not perfect. Couln't help but compare it with the OVOLO chain in Hong Kong - similar concept but Ovolo do it better. Might stay again, but the kettle thing would put me off. Come on Citizen M - buy some kettles!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great hotel convenient for Bankside offices and attractions. The rooms are really well thought out and although not huge, the design, mood lighting and clever layout more than make up. Clean and modern with almost everything you need - my only criticism is the lack of kettle - there is a fridge which is really handy so why not pop a small kettle in the room too?

Staff were excellent really friendly without being overbearing. For a business trip overnight or two I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odebash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I loved my stay at CitizenM, the hotel is designed with exceptionally good taste (I realize this is subjective) and the staff are well mannered. But what really matters is the room and here CitizenM does not disappoint. Our room was clean, had a humongous bed (very comfortable and easy to get used too) and best of all it offered a lot of fun in the form of a tablet which controls the lights (mood lights in the shower are a great touch), curtians and blinds and movies (decent selection). Food in the canteen was great as well and there is a M&S right across the street. Good location. For the money it is a real steal.

Room Tip: Go for the room with view of the city instead of court
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tideswell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

A great hotel with lovely staff who can't do enough for you really comfy and clean rooms 10 out 10
Great bar and lounge area and truly good value for money. Walking distance from The Globe Theater and the Tate Modern.

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor which was nice and quite we slept in every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0ny_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is not a hotel for people travelling with kids or those who like generous spaces. However, it might appeal to those willing to try new concepts. In summary, if you know where you are going, you will probably love it; if not, you might end up disappointed. Great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trantor2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend here for her 40th birthday. I don't think we could have found anywhere more perfect I with our budget . The bar is so cool with amazing decor, a buzzing atmosphere and GREAT staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are super modern with all lighting (including very cool mood lights), curtains and media controlled by a tablet. The bed is huge and very comfy and the bathroom in great with a powerful rain shower. There are loads of free movies too!
The location is great with bankside 5 mins away and Covent garden/soho 10 mins away.

Do yourself a favour and give it a go!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseasteve71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#50 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,203 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing