We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #95 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was taken here for a weekend break by my husband as a surprise, and what a fantastic surprise it was! The lobby sets the tone for the whole hotel, relaxed, modern but classic with super friendly staff and lots of interesting 'stuff' to enjoy. Lots of interesting books, big sofas and a fire, at the same time as self check in computers, news on multiple screens and apple macs for guest use. Some interesting furniture and fabulous staircase set the whole area off and provide a large relaxed area for guests to use for a variety of purposes.
The rest of the hotel followed this example, full of quirky, interesting touches to intrigue and add sense of fun throughout the building.

The rooms are small but very cleverly designed, with large and very comfy beds. The room is controlled via a tablet - heat, blinds, tv, music, curtains and lighting... very fun! Also free movies which was fun! The bathroom is very compact but fine.

The only slight criticism was there was no tea & coffee facilities, we both like a cuppa in the morning! I'm sure some clever thinking will make this happen as it seems to be the only complaint anyone has!

The canteen area worked really well, that and the bar are open 24hrs. The choice of food is limited and much is pre packaged but there were always some hot options. We didn't eat here in the evening so can't comment but breakfast was great, with everything you might want.

We had a fab time and didn't want to leave, they really have got the balance of contemporary cool and excellent customer service just right. The location is great, just behind the Tate, near London Bridge tube and Borough market. Lots of places to explore, eat and drink.

Room Tip: Some rooms look over the interior courtyard opposite each other and some external, so depending on p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,796 - 1,802 of 3,510 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel represents the future of travel. I live in Yorkshire but regularly work in London and a friend of mine frequently stays in Citizen M. I've ignored this recommendation and gone with my standard hotel for months, but I gave in recently and booked a room.

I arrived - no laborious check-in, simple check in stations, no waiting, and it took all of 2 minutes - a good start.

To my room to dump my stuff - and I had been prepared but it's a cool "pod" containing everything I need. Taking centre stage, a gorgeous comfy bed with a plasma at the foot - tick! Everything's controlled by a samsung tablet so within seconds I set the mood remotely (lighting, curtains) set my alarm call and head down to the fabulous lounges to work and grab something to eat.

Here's where the experience really differs. Last week I came here for a drink with Lisa - who is a regular here and recommended me - this week, Kat behind the bar spots me and knows immediately what I want to drink - seriously? I already feel at home and a friendly face and smile makes all the difference.

I then help myself to a delicious thai noodle dish and yellow curry and sit down with my friend and companion mac to get on with some work. The food is delicious, and I'm happy to unwind at the end of the day.

Everything strikes me as easy - I need to print some documents, plug in my laptop, get wifi access - it just works and there's a lot to be said for that. It's like coming home - there's no worry about getting connected or continuing to work - it just happens.

Working away it strikes me that I am alone but not lonely. I hate leaving my very young children, London overnight stays are a chore for me - but not tonight. I look around and the lounge areas are full of people who seem to be the same as me. I can eat on my own, have a drink, work and it feels like I'm in my front room.

I go to the bar for a drink and ask for my usual pinot blush - Adnan says I should try a French version which is the same price and apparently better - he's right! He gives me a glass on the house and I order another - of course! I've experienced poorer customer service in 5 star hotels.

I can't finish without mentioning Diarmaid - friendly, approachable and a complete bastion for the CitizenM brand.

Excellent, on all levels. And I'll tell you tomorrow what breakfast is like. I will certainly never stay in another hotel again…as long as they have availability - this is the future for business travellers.

A proud citizen.

Room Tip: There isn't a swimming pool btw but I had to rate it as something…and nothing should take away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I am wrapping up a 9 day stay at the citizenM Bankside. This was a departure for me from the usual B&Bs I stay at when I am in London and I was pleasantly surprised. I had some concerns from reviews regarding the tiny rooms, but didn't find my room any smaller than the B&Bs I've stayed at. The bed was absolutely heaven. Loved having the giant comforter to wrap up in at night. The bathroom is something out of Star Trek. Tiny but fully functional. The hotel lobby is a lively place to hang out. But, not so lively that you can't curl up by the fire and read a book while sipping a glass of superb wine. Lots of bright colors and funky shapes in the lobby area. Free wi-fi and computers. The rooms, themselves, are "wired". Everything, from the lighting to the window blinds are controlled by a "moon pad". I have to say, the international staff is amazing. From the moment I showed up at the door, jet lagged and exhausted, I have been provided excellent customer service. Need to mention Nacho and Kat at the bar. They are fabulous. So many others I can't begin to name them all. True, there are no coffee making facilities in the room and breakfast is not included. If you care about those things go somewhere else. But, if you want an adventure, this smoke free facility will take you there. As I write this, I am finishing up a bowl of marvelous pea soup. I don't like pea soup, usually. But this, from the hotel's canteen is really, really good! The citizenM is off the tourist trail but with a Tube stop a five minute walk away, it is easy to access all the wonders London has to offer. One last note, this is one of the quietest hotels I have ever stayed at. The noise from the lobby does not permeate up to the rooms. Looking for a reason to give this hotel less than 5 stars. I can't find one.

Room Tip: Ask for a "city view" room if you are worried about privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mysticdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

A friendly and lively atmosphere in the lobby. A good mixture of young and older people. Love the super modern and urban style of the hotel and tha Samsung pad that controls "everything" in the room. Comfortable bed. Situated close to London Bridge tube stop.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hotel was ok. All decor downstairs was great, there was so much to look at and it is very modern. Staff we're very helpful and friendly :-) then you go into the rooms which are cool and funky looking but very small and there was no tea or coffee making facilities, only a hair dryer. The bathroom was so small the sink is within the bedroom. But overall we did have a lovely stay but didn't eat within the hotel so can not comment on the food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed at the CitizenM last weekend and was really impressed. The reception area is styled in a very contemporary way, and makes for a more comfortable space to relax than other hotels. Bar is open 24hrs, and the food selection (although limited) is of a decent standard.

Rooms are small, but the bed is huge, stretching the entire room-width. All your entertainment, lighting etc is controlled from a tablet, and all movies are free which is a definite rarity. Because of the room size, I perhaps wouldn't stay beyond one or two nights, but would definitely recommend for something a little different.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is very different to standard accommodation. The style is very modern and the room comes equips with several gadgets such as tablet, mood lighting and electric blinds. The rooms are small but the double beds are big. Everywhere was clean and well presented and the lobby had a nice modern feel to it, like the furniture had been picked out of an art store. All in all I had a great stay, I'd definitely recommend to young couples who want something different and more modern/unique in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHL1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,078 in London
3,361 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: £97 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing