We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #85 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location, only couple of minutes from Tate Modern and 10 minute walk from Shard and Southbank. The room was amazing, massive comfy beds and cool design features, My girlfriend was dismayed at the lack of kettle though! Would certainly return.

Room Tip: We chose room at front although were told it was bit nosier. No noise at all and liked enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,257
    888
    130
    46
    14
See reviews for
312
1,673
207
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great place to stay, great location between London Bridge and Southwark. Rooms are really cool, have all you need and the best, biggest bed ever!
The design and decor of the common areas/bar are fabulous - doesn't allow you to feel this is yet "another stay in a business hotel". Indeed, I would easily recommend this for tourists and families too. My only suggestion for improvement would be for more variety at the breakfast buffet. :)

Room Tip: Choose courtyard rather than street view for a quieter room at night. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martamM4312SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed in Citizen M for 3 nights and overall the whole stay was pleasant. The cool atmosphere and decoration of the hotel captures you immediately when you enter the lobby. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable, we liked the tablet controlled room. The food at the hotel restaurant is good. The rooms are a bit basic like missing some things like slippers, body lotion etc you are used to have in a regular hotel room but the hotel management says these can be received upon request to front desk. I read in the reviews that the hotel location is great, central but to me as we were on a touristic trip it wasn't that central, nearest metro station is about 10 minutes walk and and than from there you need to take couple of stops sometimes need to change lines so if you like living the full day like me like visiting museums shopping and than dinner at night its a bit inconvenient as during the day you want to come back to the hotel at one point, i would recommend this hotel for business trips or if you want to hang out on the bankside in London. The decoration of the hotel is really attractive even it was far from center we were happy the moment we entered from the lobby

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tncya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I am just back from my boyfriends birthday weekend away, had a fantastic time at the Citizen M, location is great (2 minute walk from southwark tube). Rooms were compact but contemporary & lovely perfect for couples. Only little downfall was when we wanted some food (hot meals) they only had salad and sushi, that wasn't to our taste. Apart from that we had a fabulous stay & recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

When you describe a hotel, you usually haul out the same handful of adjectives: comfortable, clean, cozy, etc. Sure, you could use them in describing the CitizenM in London, but you'd fall short because this hotel offers a truly unique experience.

We stayed in room 244 for several nights beginning April 27, 2014. First things first: the room was small, but it's so well designed that the size doesn't matter: a large window overlooking the courtyard, a tablet that lets you control everything in the room (large-screen TV, radio, mood lighting, alarm clock, etc.), plenty of room to store your stuff. The room and the entire hotel is done with a sense of humor and whimsy. Example: the alarm clock features a handful of settings, including "Wild Life" which awakens you to the gentle chirping of birds then (to make sure you get up) escalates to a noisy herd of animals including trumpeting elephants.

But wait, there's more. The large lobby features a nice selection of snacks and a full bar. (Thanks, Alex, for the terrific Negronis and introducing me to the Boulevardier.) It's also a perfect place for hanging out and checking out your itinerary; they've got four iMacs at your disposal.

The staff!!!! Could they be friendlier or more helpful? I think not.

This hotel is part of a new chain that's rapidly expanding. Their success is understandable: they present a delightful concept and deliver first-rate customer service. Oh, and the price is right.

Can you tell I liked this place?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoseSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

First class fantastic great lobby I wouldn't be surprised this year would be the place to hang out...great staff great books decor and atmosphere well done!! Efficient clean modern 21st century!! I'm pretty sure others are going to start to copy this for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krtalukder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We used this hotel 3 nights as part of our 6 week honeymoon. Not Really Romantic but as part of our sightseeing part of our holiday location being London this ticked all the boxes. This hotel room is don't get me wrong space is utilised to the max! however after a long day of sightseeing it was perfect bed was comfy big comfy soft towels great shower cheap compared to some other options the only negative was the samsung tablet was slow ( however you did get free movies ) i found it strange all apple devices downstairs and samsung in the room? the wifi is very good i would recommend this hotel based on somewhere to sleep and have comfortable necessary things not luxury but i couldn't really complain

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,069 in London
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing