We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny and brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #85 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Never have I stayed in such a small, sparsely decorated room.. And I absolutely loved it!

CitizenM have boiled down the normal hotel room to create the perfect inner-city experience. Enormous bed, excellent shower with huge fluffy towels, and a load of hi-tech fun including very fast free wifi.

Downstairs is just as good, with a great bar, good friendly staff and more free gadgets, and there's a hilariously quirky sense of humour running through the whole place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tycroes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 3,399 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Superb contemporary design. Young, fresh, hip character. Different. High tech ambience. Conveniently located. These are some words and phrases to describe citizenM. Great hospitality concept that really matches the needs of the modern traveler. At first I was hesitant. Hospitality is all about human interaction and communication."I don't like checking myself in to a lifeless screen", I thought. I was wrong! Automatic check in was very quick, efficient and all billing and invoice info were there at a glance! I was welcomed and greeted by a shift ambassador who explained all hotel services within a minute and was ready to assist me if I had any problem with my e-check in (word "ambassador" in citizenM has replaced the word "staff". What a great example of creative marketing thinking. Leaving out a so conventional term!). Lobby design and bar restaurant area spacious and contemporary. Not boring and impersonal like most of the big international branded hotels. Room and toilet size was quite small but OK for single occupancy, maybe a bit squashed for double occupancy. No spacious closet but there is a very clever storage drawer under the bed. Best part is that you have your own in room tablet for handling everything. With just a few taps on the screen you close the blind, you open the lights, you choose a light scenario (romance, party, relax, etc), you set the alarm clock or you choose your TV program! All these lie down on your bed! Room and all hotel facilities very clean. Breakfast is typical English. The only cheese is a mini Babybel and the only sliced cold meat is bacon (no ham, no turkey, no salami). I would prefer a more European buffet with English breakfast tastes of course. And of course my quest for freshly squeezed orange juice still goes on. Apart from some Greek 5 star hotels and 1 hotel in Turkey all other European properties I have stayed in (and there are a lot) use low quality concentrated mixed with water juices. I have to admit that food styling in the breakfast buffet is wonderful, though. Ambassadors are great! Girl from Turkey, guy from Spain, guys in the bar, all of them full of smiles and helpful and they all have a chat with you. Tube is less than 10 minutes walking distance. Overall, if you are in search for repeater guests, please count me in!!!

Room Tip: There are some constructions going on at the building located at the back side of the hotel. Back vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_villa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We usually stay at a hotel in Bloomsbury, but decided to try something different for this trip. And different the Citizen M certainly is! The rooms are small--the king-size bed literally takes up one entire end of it, which makes getting in and out a little awkward for us senior citizens--but they are very efficiently set up, with plenty of storage space and even room for a small desk, a chair, and a stool. We had fun playing around with the mood lighting and loved the rain shower in the bathroom. The air conditioning wasn't working well when we arrived (London was having a "heat wave"--highs around 80 degrees F.), but someone was sent immediately to fix it, and we had no problems after that. We enjoyed the spacious lobby area and had drinks in the attractive bar a couple of times. The neighborhood offered plenty of interesting shops and restaurants, and we particularly enjoyed being close to the Tate Modern, Borough Market, the Globe Theatre, and the Thames walk. The tube stop was a 10-minute walk away, but even better was the RV1 bus that stopped almost in front of the hotel and delivered us to Covent Garden in one direction and Tower Bridge in the other. We enjoyed our experience and would certainly stay at Citizen M again in the future.

Room Tip: We chose an outside room which looked out on a construction site. There was no noise, but an interi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conwoman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Citizen M Bankside. In particular, the service was outstanding. We had some out-of-the ordinary things that we needed assistance with and the staff went out of their way to answer our questions and provide us with help. I have stayed at many different hotels around the world covering the low end to the high end of the price range and I am hard-pressed to remember any experience where the staff did more to help with questions and also to follow up to be sure that advice actually proved to be useful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The rooms here may be small, but they are truly stylish and extremely comfortable. We visited London for a Eurovision party, but ended up having a takeaway and watching it in our room instead! I especially liked the fact that you can adjust and change the lighting in the room.
Everything worked fine in the room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was great. The location is as good as it can get.
We also had some cocktails from the bar downstairs and they were lovely. Also asked for a bucket of ice and got it with no fuss. One of the staff members at the bar was a bit grumpy, but that didn't put us off. Will visit again especially with such reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeLovesFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Rooms are small but reasonably priced, stocked full of amenities and clean. Beds are comfy! The lobby is great to hang out in which makes the room size a non-issue. Staff was very pleasant, helpful and cheery. Convenient location next to grocery, ATMs and shops. Easy walk to the tube station and buses for further travel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jescelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my wife's birthday and it was perfect. Very modern, loved the decor. Rooms little on the small side but this worked as the gadgets inside really made up for it, although my wife was not best part pleased that I couldn't stop playing with the colour lighting! Staff very friendly, will defiantly return!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rickie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#110 of 1,076 in London
3,279 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £114 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing