We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #87 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I really didn't want to write a review since this hotel is so busy and I want to have the hotel always have room for me to stay when I am in London. However, a hotel that is considered fantastic by both teenagers and my 80 year old mother must be commended. Although the property looks great and is very high tech--it is the staff that makes this place extra special. All the staff could not have been more helpful to my entire family. Michael, a favorite of all of ours, is just superb at checking people in and guiding them through anything that they could possibly need. He will do anything, including bringing up tons of luggage, arranging extra pillows, giving directions, making phone calls--anything that you can think of. He is incredibly nice, as is all the staff that we encountered. I wish that I could remember the name of the lovely woman who would not give up late at night until she could have my documents printed for me. Another member of staff ran into the kitchen to get me a few extra little cheeses for my flight home. I could go on and on. However, the person who deserves the most credit and deserves tons of praise is the amazing manager--Eylem. She is always running around the hotel, insuring that every detail, no matter how small, is perfect for her guests. She is a superb hotel manager. CitizenM is so lucky to have her working for them. Some day, I predict she will be running the whole chain of their hotels. That will be the best day for CitizenM and all those who stay at their properties!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,161
    854
    123
    43
    14
See reviews for
298
1,600
200
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nice hotel and friendly staff. The rooms were modern and the tablet provided to control the room was cool. Good value for money. Location was handy as a 5 minute walk to southwark tube station and 10 minute walk to london bridge station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,424 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,786 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed at citizenM and very much enjoyed this innovative, modern and stylish hotel, which offers a unique hotel concept that we would gladly choose to experience again in the future.

What we liked

Easy and quick reservations through booking.com, quick computer based check-in upon arrival, luggage storage, accommodating staff. Everything moves quickly yet at a comfortable pace at citizenM.

Lobby, kitchen and bar areas are all spacious, well furnished and decorated in a travel-cool, trendy and tasteful manner. Good background music was played and free Wifi provided. Plenty of sofas, chairs, tables, laptop stations, books, TVs and style! Umbrella lending service is also available, quite helpful in cities like London.

Rooms are modularised and ergonomically smart, making effective use of all space. The XL king size bed effectively takes up the back part of the room, was a welcome size, soft and comfy, providing excellent rest. Rooms come with adequate and clever luggage storage under the bed, furnishings, suitable bathroom facility, modern fixtures, small fridge, large safe, flat screen TV with plenty of channels and a fair selection of movies and excellent wifi service. All this somehow squeezed into a 16 square meter room with plenty of left over space, seems impossible but they pull it off.

The room is also centrally controlled with a tablet that allows simple operation of the room lights, TV, movies, alarm clock and window shades. We liked the various mood settings. In short, the rooms at citizenM are good quality and functional, yet modern and stylishly cool as well.

Hotel Location is good if you want to visit Tate Modern, Shakespeare's Globe, Borough Markets and other Bankside attractions. There are a fair number of restaurants and bars in the area as well.

What we didn't like as much

Early check-in available but at a cost of £19.95 extra payment. That is too much for being able to access your room a few hours before scheduled check-in. As a compromise, they offer free luggage storage.

Location - a bit too far away from Tube stations, the closest being London Bridge (9 minute walk) and Southwark (8 minute walk). Not ideal for 1st time visitors on a short trip to London and wanting to visit the usual major tourist attractions (eg. British Museum, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square).

Food and Drinks - breakfast seemed too pricey for what they were serving. There are other options nearby that we might suggest trying instead.

Overall, we found citizenM to be a very good hotel that will be quite appealing to modern day travellers. While many hotels fade out of memory shortly after staying, citizenM is one of those that you will remember for a while and hope to return to someday. We will definitely stay with one of their hotels again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, everyone (citizens) are treated equally in terms of room allocations! Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I love CitizenM and have been there twice. At first I did find the rooms small. the XL bed fits from the wall to wall. But there's actually room even for me to do a 25min workout:
There's plenty of free movies, great space in the reception where there's a lot of comfy seats, tables and t.v's....and great art books. Free wifi and a tablet in the room. A small fridge with 2 bottles of free water.

I didn't give a 5 star because I didn't think the breakfast was worth £12.50 a person. there's only cereal, yogurt, cut up basic fruit, croissants, pastries, sausages, eggs, hashbrowns and tomatoes. It's a so-so breakfast for such a funky hotel. There's no creativity in it.

Save the money and eat outside. There's cool cafes and restaurants within a 2 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: a funky place for funky arty cool types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Awesome hotel. Very cool design. great location. Loved it.

very close to everything - you really feel like you're in the city. Very minimalist, but that suited us to a tee! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The best hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms very modern and contemporary, the use of a tablet to control the room is fun. The communal areas of the hotel very clean and modern as well. Priced very reasonable. Definitely stay in citizenm hotels from now on

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank daiz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with a great personality. Everything from the gadgets in the rooms to the lovely orange juice at breakfast makes this hotel worthwhile. Skeptical to book at first due to reviews commenting on the space, my partner and myself found no issues and moved easily in the room throughout our stay. The decor was tasteful and although the location is a little far out it is well worth the walk to the nearest tube station.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma_humphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing