We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel In London!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #89 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Hotel In London!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here for my 30th birthday last year! We didn't want to stay in an over the top hotel where you felt out of place, it's just not our thing! We had never stayed at this hotel but my partner had heard of it on business! You check yourself in on arrival, they put our cases away as we early for going to the room. But the great thing was that we were central to everything so we could walk everywhere to save on taxis!!!!! It's a very modern hotel, so don't stay here if you like the traditional, classical looks. The lobby is filled with art,fashion, books, computers, a very nice bar serving very nice cocktails. It's how I would want an office room or lobby to my house. Vogues, Kate Moss book donning the shelves, I was in heaven. The corridors had a lovely feel to them, muted lighting with cool pictures on the wall! The rooms were small but this didn't matter. The bed took up the far side of the room, from wall to wall, corner to corner!!!!! With curtains infront of it and and a blind over the window that you controlled with a remote!!!As was the TV and I believe the lighting. We stayed here for 2 nights and it was amazing!!!!!We will definitely be back!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Lucy,

It's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our team of ambassadors work hard to ensure that our guests leave only with smiling faces and happy memories and it looks like we succeeded here. Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.

citizenMarc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,188
    861
    125
    44
    14
See reviews for
301
1,618
200
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for my 30th birthday last weekend and absolutely loved it. Not a cheap hotel but on a par with most other 4* hotels we looked at for the weekend. Room was clean, comfy bed, lovely breakfast, very helpful staff and the overall style of the place is very impressive. We loved that everything in the room was controlled by a Samsung tab, even the blinds!And its only a 5 minute walk from the tube.
Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi MrsJa9!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us over the weekend. Glad you loved our breakfast and our funky tablets in the rooms. I hope to welcome you back at citizenM soon!

And remember, you're not really 30; you're 18 with 12 years of experience!

Safe travels and happy memories,

citizenMarc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a relatively new chain of hotels in major cities of the world and is great for the person traveling light and wanting to experience in the city living. The rooms are very clean and compact. There is room to turn around, sleep, shower and enjoy the commons area of the hotel for your leisure time. The room is very modern with conveniences, but don't expect a huge room.

The daily breakfast is well work the money and allows you to explore the commons area which is worth your time. The staff is knowledgeable, worldly and goes out of its way to make your stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had a street side room on the second floor and it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
citizen Kenneth,

Many thanks for the kind feedback. Great to read that you enjoyed your time here- count yourself a true mobile citizen now!

We look forward to welcoming you back here in Bankside or at any one of our hotels, be it in New York, Paris, Glasgow or Amsterdam.

Until next time,

citizen Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Although the rooms are tiny, they are comfortable. Huge and very comfortable bed; no twins, so ask for 2 duvets if you're sharing with a non-romantic partner. The air con is excellent, quiet and efficient, so no choice between losing sleep due to noise or losing sleep due to heat. The young staff have personality, are individuals and chatty. There's no tea/coffee stuff in rooms so the lobby is busy and atmospheric, people drinking, working, chatting. It isn't near a tube station but is ok for bus routes and if you like South London, it's well placed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westkilbrideroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hey westkilbrideroad!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your views on TripAdvisor. "A traveler without observation is like a bird without wings" as the saying goes...we really appreciate it.

I'm thrilled you found that the ambassadors had personality and were engaging. We recruit people here based solely on personality and we feel strongly that letting them be themselves really helps in making our guests feel comfortable and at home.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in London soon.

citizenMarc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second citizenM hotel I've stayed at, and regardless of where I've been, it still maintains the high standard of the brand. Clean, adequate and modern. Always a pleasure to spend a few nights here. The interior decor has always been an inspiration.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank unpolished_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Citizen M have the perfect model for a hotel if you want no fuss, no hasstle and a great room that you will likely only occupy for the time you are going to sleep. That is not to say you couldn't work or watch tv or a film abut it is not a suite! In all other ways they have it bang on - ease of check in and out, free hi-fi, free movies and a room control system that allows you to do everything from a Samsung tablet.

The room is comfortable with a wall to wall king size bed.

The staff are all welcoming and friendly and there is a nice atmosphere in the public spaces. These are all very well designed with TV's were you want them - not in the bar but in loung areas and quiet spaces to sit and eat. The food is good - in a pret style.

Its location is perfect if you want Borough Market, Tate Modern, The National Theatre and The Old Vic.

The big thing for me was the price - very competitive and a better experience than the homoginised chains, who all seem to come in at the same price above £200.

Room Tip: I stayed on the courtyard side - having been given the option - and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWilsonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talgarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for two nights and found the hotel staff very friendly and pleasant. The room was small but the bed disproportionately large - great. I liked the tablet control and was impressed that everything worked perfectly.

Breakfast a bit pricey but cafes across the road!

A bit more help with directions for parking on the website would be useful.

Overall, top notch and very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 869peterw869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,339 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing