We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downright Funky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #86 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Downright Funky”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked as near to where I had a meeting the following day. 6-8 minutes walk from Tower Bridge station. Without exception this place is fantastic. Painless checking in, free drink on arrival and a reception area/bar that is modern, unpretencious and feel-good. Rooms are small, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Free telephone calls and wifi throughout. Samsung tablet controls room gizmos. The staff of this hotel are naturals at dealing with the public. Attentive, knowledgeable and above all friendly. Book without hesitation...........become a Citizen soon, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We chose an atrium room........no street noise...tahts if there is any on the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hey "ENB346",

Many thanks for your kind words. citizenM was made for people just like you it seems. I'm glad you have signed up to "become a citizen" online which entitles you to a welcome drink on us and a reduced rate.

See you again soon,

citizenMarc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,218
    867
    127
    45
    14
See reviews for
302
1,637
203
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great new and innovative hotel with cool and very smart design, the staff was excellent and super helpful, the rooms are small but very well thought through with a super comfy big bed you want to stay in forever - same goes for the shower which is just perfect :) I also liked the easiness of everything: free wifi no password fuss, fast check in and check out, great bar and canteen as well as common areas. Also the location of the hotel is cool. Another positive aspect I noticed is that the room was very quite (we stayed in a room with a courtyard view).
Amazing experience. I will go back soon.

Room Tip: Courtyard view was very quite and the courtyard is pretty. Curtains and black out shades work well t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
citizenBarbara,

Thank you for posting your review online. It's great to hear that you had fun here. You're right, our XL kingsize beds are very comfortable and our powerful rain shower is loved by our guests too. We think it's pretty important to get these two things right- after all we are in the business of providing a great night's sleep.

"The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page". Why not try out our other citizenM's too?

Wishing you safe travels and happy memories,

citizenMarc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked this as a surprise wedding anniversary present. Reviews, the CitizenM website and photographs gave the impression that this was a cool and stylish hotel. It's not just cool, it's ultra cool! From the moment you enter, things are different from the typical hotel experience. The hotel staff greet you as you walk through the door and check you in at modern, hi-tech kiosks. It's quick and informal. The foyer and bar are area are comfortable, tastefully decorated, with a very relaxed atmosphere. A really nice touch is what I can only describe as a library area next to the bar with an amaziing selection of large format books. The room was 'economically' sized, the width of the super-king sized bed. Although many might have a problem with this, my wife and I thought the space was really cleverly used. Our room was in the rear of the hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. We had a great night sleep. Everything in the room is controlled from a touchpad at the bedside. This again was really cool, though there was a delay when we tried to use the TV or radio and we couldn't work out how to view films or select "music channels". Not a big enough issue to reduce our rating. The final surprise of the stay was the alarm we set for our early morning wake up. I won't spoil the surprise. All in all a brilliant stay. At the time we booked there was a really good discount available if you register and book through the CitizenM website ... we also got two free drinks!

Room Tip: Room at the rear are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rognisbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband an I had one night in the London Lavington street citizen M hotel and both loved everything about the hotel! Clean, stylish, massive comfy bed, good big shower, lovely bar lounge area, great location. We will be booking again if up in London again. A very easy check in and out, was able to extend our check out till 15:00 for a little extra money and then also left our bags whilst we went off to do other things. Borrowed a hotel umbrella as it was pouring which was very helpful as I didn't't want to turn up to an interview looking like a drowned rat. Best hotel experience we have had in a long time!

Room Tip: If you want a view don't choose southwark side we just had another building which had scaffoldin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadiene81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

London was one of the stops on the six week European vacation I had planned with my partner (who became my fiancé during our first stop in Paris!). We wanted to be based centrally but with the cost of central London hotels (West End / north of the Thames) so extraordinarily high compared to other European capitals, we chose citizenM as a great way to control the budget and be close to town. We had also read lots of great reviews about citizenM on TA and other blogs and mags and as photographers we were intrigued to see its arty decor and high tech minimalist styling. We were a little concerned about the self check in and check out as we hadn't experienced that before but we needn't have worried. On arrival there were friendly staff ready to help us check in, create our own key cards and give us an overview of the hotel.

The rooms, whilst small, make fantastic use of the space. The king size bed filling one whole end of the room works really well and the underbed storage was large enough to hold one of our check-in luggage bags fully folded open for easy access to both of its compartments. A tablet easily controls everything from the lighting, blinds, temperature and TV. The prefabricated shower room was also a stroke of genius. I loved the citizenAM and PM body washes and the mood lighting was very funky. It reminded me of the mood lighting on Virgin flights and made me realise that if Virgin made hotels they would probably be very similar to citizenM, particularly as both brands exhibit a very cool quirkiness through their visual and verbal communication. For example, when citizenM's London maps are fully unfolded, the public facing side creates a poster which says "I'm not a tourist, I'm a mobile citizen". Nice.

CitizenM is clearly loved by creative types. The large lobby area with a range of chairs, sofas, tables and communal workspaces with power and USB ports was always busy, full of with solo travellers with their iPads and MacBooks, business meetings between ad agencies and clients, and we even saw a whole team of around 16 agency types have their weekly meeting around one of the two big communal tables. Fortunately the well stocked 24 hour cafe / bar was always ready to top up caffeine (or alcohol) levels.

CitizenM's location was also much better than expected. The impressive Southwark tube station is just 5 minutes away with Jubilee Line links to Westminster and Bond Street, while Tate Modern and the Millennium Bridge (for access to St Pauls) are equally close. The Southbank is also a very trendy area right now and its restaurants, pubs and bars were heaving on the gorgeous warm summer evenings.

We loved our stay at citizenM and will definitely plan future trips around their network of very cool hotels!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miltongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hey "MiltonGan",

Thanks for a super review- I'm delighted to read that you had such a great time here. Count yourself a true mobile citizen of the world now!

Looking forward to seeing you again at one of our hotels around the world.

Best,

citizenMarc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The clean, pod-like rooms with mood lighting are fantastic. Awesome shower in the rooms too. You can control the whole room with the 11" tablet that they supply you with. This includes the curtains, the colour and brightness of the room, the tv, etc. Probably the coolest room I have ever stayed in

Staff are friendly and there is a late bar. The foyer is very stylish and there is loads of places to relax. The hotel is pretty cental in London and it's a couple of tubes away from Paddington where you can get the Heathrow express to take you to the airport.

This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Enjoy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WoundedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I have just spent my first night of 3 here and I am very impressed indeed. The hotel is wonderfully quirky and modern and highly IT enabled. There is free and fast wifi throughout the hotel and guests can also use the iMacs in the lobby area free of charge. The lobby/bar area is itself a work of art and contains plenty of modern and comfortable seating, with plenty of newspapers and books for guests.

The rooms and bright and spotlessly clean and everything is controlled from a Samsung tablet, from the mood lighting to the entertainment centre, which includes free films as well as TV and radio. The bed is king size and extremely comfortable, and the shower area and toilet is brilliantly designed, with perhaps the best hotel towels I have used in a long time. Electronically controlled black-out curtains make for a very good night's sleep.

The hotel is conveniently located for both London Bridge and Southwark tube stations and is in what looks like a very newly developed part of Southwark, with some good bars and restaurants nearby.

In summary, I am very impressed indeed and I am looking forward to the rest of my stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NJI1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hi "NJI1970",

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you are enjoying your stay so far. Feel free to come down to the bar to say 'Hi!' There's a cold beer here waiting for you....

citizenMarc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,067 in London
1,515 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,018 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,405 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing