We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel for a London experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #98 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our third visit to Citizen M in London. The occasion this time was my husband's birthday. The staff even presented him with cake and lit candles for the occasion, much to our surprise! As previously, we enjoyed our time there very much, the staff were welcoming as ever, the ambiance just fantastic and the relaxed lounge area to have drinks or breakfast just beautiful. This hotel is good value for money and a wonderful place to come to. It is conveniently placed for Borough Market, Tate Modern and The Shard. We will definitely be returning, we just love it there! Thank you everyone for making our stay so wonderful again!

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same. We understand there are larger disabled rooms located near to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,623 - 1,629 of 3,583 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from London and first ever stay at CitizenM London Bankside. What to say - liked the moden concept very much - all these self-service check-ins-outs, room controlled by pad, canteen in the lobby, free movies and adult channels, wifi all aroung the hotel - all these are very nice and made me feel really comfortable and interesting.

Need to tell separately about the employees of the hotel - these guys are the friendliest, most helpful and professional persons I have ever seen in any hotel I have been to. They were all always there to help, smiling, asking if something is needed. I can't say enough about the great personel of the hotel - thank you so much for all the help and the great mood!

Well, as for the cons - there are basically only two - the size of the rooms which is something you can get used to if you are staying alone and the water sink which is right in the room and in my case did not work properly keeping the water in it for hours each time. Then, it was always a blurping noises at night and early mornings from inside of it which really was annoying but it seems that it was not possible to do something about it at all. Just because of these two issues I am putting 4 stars instead of 5.

Overall - definitely the hotel worths to try - you will like the modern concept of it and the staff for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riad104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our favourite place to stay in London.

Location: 5 minutes from Southwark Tube, close to the river. Tate Modern, Globe, National Theatre BFI, Royal Festival Hall, Hayward Gallery, St Pauls, Tower of London all within easy walking distance. Good choice of places to eat. Very convenient for picking up river bus. RV1 bus takes you straight to Covent Garden, so easy access to the West End as well.

Bedrooms: Fun design. Huge and very comfy bed that takes up the whole width of the room. Clean, practical and very well sound proofed with a great black out blind for a really good sleep. Powerful shower. Entertainment and lighting system all operated by a tablet. Quietest air con ever and great temperature in the room without having to fiddle with any controls.

Reception/Bar/Breakfast area: Quirky and fun with lots of different seating areas. A great place to work and to relax. Good chilled out atmosphere.

Breakfast: good value and good quality. Best of all you can order proper coffee that's included in the price and have as many cups as you want.

Check in/Check out: really speedy as all done with cards on terminals. Staff always there to help you out.

Service: excellent. Bright, young, engaged and friendly staff always happy to help.

Can't fault this place and would definitely stay in others hotels in the Citizen M chain. Good value for money for a central London hotel especially if you book in advance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much identical, so don't worry about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LongboroughLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wonderful ground floor open plan reception, bar, restaurant, and relaxation area. Friendly staff.
Pretty much everything in the small, but perfectly appointed room was operated by complimentary tablet in the room( no you can't take it home!)
Huge bed, TV with free movies, powerful shower.
Couldn't have asked for more really. 5 mins from Southwark tube. Sainsbury's Local just round the corner, as was a Barclays hire a bike point. Thought £1 an hour was a bargain in London.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nurfdupap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenmatt, General Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi Nurfdupap

good to read you comments on trip advisor, let us know what we need to do to make it 5 stars next time. It's through feedback such as yours that we are able to stay relevant to the mobile citizens of this world. I hope to see you again soon

safe travels

citizenMatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for business in London and was very impressed, rooms were fantastic with remote control everything, the shower was 1st class 8 the morning and has to have the best check in check out process of any hotel I have stayed at....

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenmatt, General Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi Jim M

thanks for the kind words. We aim to keep it simple, great bed, great shower, fluffy towels, quick check in and check out, free wifi and a team of ambassadors genuinely interested in making your stay. Why does it get so complicated?

I hope to see you again soon

citizenMatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed there for one night in June with my partner when we were going to see a play at the Globe, which is very close to walk to.

Fabulous, ultra trendy hotel full of unique extras. Room was very small, but the bed was one of the comfiest ever and shower was great.

The atmosphere in the hotel downstairs was really something special. The bar was superb, all food sumptuous and though pricey, it was well worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellablue49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A "double room" turned out to be a miniature room with one bed, in which two persones were supposed to sleep. To get to your sleeping place you had to crawl over the other person. The room was so crowded that the sink had to be separated from the toilet and shower.

The breakfast, at the cost of 12.5 Pound, consisted of coffee, a piece of bread, jam, juice, yougurt, fruit and that dreadaful English sausage.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hink-von-Hank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi Hink-von-Hank,

Thank you for posting your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to read that you felt we were overpriced.

Here at citizenM we do not hide from the fact that our rooms are on the small side. We've listened to our mobile citizens and key for them is the provision of a great bed and shower which we have not compromised on. We have comprimised a little on space as we all know that space is a premium in a city like London. We've done away with the bathtub, trouser press and sofa as these are features which no longer appeal to the new smart breed of traveller which we cater to. All this is reflected in some of the most competitive rates around. Our mantra here at citizenM is 'affordable luxury for the people' and we stick by this in all that we do here.

I hope this helps explain a little bit more about who we are so you are better informed when choosing where to stay next in London.

Safe travels,

citizenMarc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,076 in London
3,433 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £89 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing