We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #96 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel is in a great location, near the Tate Modern and pretty central for everything. Short walk to Southwark tube station. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Enjoyed the free drink on check-in. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit London!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

citizenPaddy,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts for other readers. It's great to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. The free drink is our little way of saying 'thanks for booking with us directly'.

As the saying goes: "There is nothing like a comfortable adventure to put people in good humour"- I hope we did this for you Paddy.

See you next time around,

citizenMarc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,533 - 1,539 of 3,509 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time. Such a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Location is perfect. Staff so helpful and cheery. We will definitely return soon! Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so lovely.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Roof R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hey "Roof R",

I'm delighted to read that we helped add that extra sparkle to make your stay with us a romantic one.

It's also great to read that you felt the Ambassadors were 'cheery'. We handpick our team here and bring in happy, smiling people who are naturals at engaging with others.

Many thanks for posting your thoughts.

Wishing you safe travels,

citizenMarc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Citizen M is amazing brilliant service staff and experience everything a 5 star ***** I can't wait to go back and it's in the middle of everything you must stay here if your going to London comfy relaxing cool and perfect you'd have to see it to believe it wish I went for longer CANT WAIT TO GO BACK SEE YOU SOON CITIZEN M !!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location is very convenient. The RV1 bus stops on the doorstep and Southwark tube is within an easy walk. The hotel is smart, modern, clean and functional. The staff were friendly and helpful and we weren't bothered by internal or external noise. The only real fly in the ointment was a fire alarm going off early on sunday morning because, we were told, someone used a hairdryer in a steamy room! Not sure that the ranking options are useful here as it was better than average but I wouldn't really say it was 'very' good other than in terms of VFM in London. Would use again because I don't always need "very" good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank deadyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel really is a hidden gem. As soon as you walk in the front door, it was completely relaxed with a lot of sofas and a huge bar with food and drinks 24/7. The staff were lovely and helpful, and although we had a slight mishap with overcharging, this was sorted out very quickly and with no hassle and many sincere apologies.
After reading reviews, I was expecting a tiny room with no space to move and although it was a bit on the small side, it didn't put me off at all!
My boyfriend is very techy and loved the tablet to control everything, including the lighting and colours of the lights around the shower pod. The bed was absolutely ginormous with very comfy pillows and it meant I didn't want to wake up!
The hotel helpfully (and freely) stored our luggage so we could go and explore London without taking our bags which is always a plus.
It is in a prime location with London bridge station just a short walk away and many sights such as Borough market, the Globe and the Shard close by too.
The only thing I didn't like was the lack of kettle in the room, but that is a personal preference, and tea and coffee was always available downstairs.
We did not try the breakfast here so cannot comment on that.

Would definitely stay again, and in other cities!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

As with citizenM Glasgow, the kids love the hotel. The only disappointment was the unfriendly and unhelpful staff at checkin (31July PM). He ignored our request for 2 city-view rooms next to each other for our family of four. It was only after the third time we asked him did he reluctantly made the changes for us. In my view, the people at the frontline are really the ones that make the first impression. Aside from this unhappy incident, everything else was cool. The hotel is within walking distance to Borough market. And there is a very nice and unique restaurant, Vapiano, just across the road. Parking though is a 5 min walk from the hotel. Highly recommended if you want to see the other side of London, across the river.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank cheroiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi Cheryl,

Thank you for posting your thoughts online. I'm happy to read that you and the kids found us cool. However, it's disappointing to read that your first impression was marred by the service you received here.

At citizenM we pride ourselves on the service that we provide- one which is relaxed, informal and professional. It's what we've become famous for since launching the concept in 2006; setting out to become game-changers in this service-industry.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back here soon where we're keen to show you that great service is the norm here and this was merely a 'wee' blip (as they say in our Glasgow hotel).

citizenMarc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a place designed to meet the needs of a modern, experienced traveller. Yes, the rooms are small but that doesn't matter. Key things are efficient checkin/out, huge comfy beds, everything works, place immaculately clean, great service and vibrant communal area where can work or relax. Decor modern and classy. Location great. Fully recommend and will stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

citizenMichael,

I can call you that as you are now a true mobile citizen of the world! You're absolutely right, everything we do here is with the modern traveller in mind. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for posting your review online,

citizenMarc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,078 in London
3,360 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: £98 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing